We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and Relaxed”
Review of Dunbar House, 1880

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunbar House, 1880
Ranked #3 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed a couple of quiet, relaxing days at Dunbar House in early May. The home is very welcoming, and our bedroom (The Sequoia) was spacious and comfortable. We were pleased (and amazed) at the array of goodies provided! Fresh-baked cookies. Homemade fudge. Delicious, and beautifully presented, breakfast. And then -- a bottle of wine and appetizers every day! Wow. That's a first. We appreciated our host, Arline, taking the time to sit with us at breakfast and provide some insight into the history of the house and the surrounding area. We would recommend a visit to Dunbar House. I'm thinking we should plan a visit in the late fall or winter so we can lounge in front of the fire in the sweet and comfy living room / parlor.

Our activities included: hike at Big Trees; a visit to Ironstone vineyard; a walk about the town of Murphys; an open house event at PAWS (Performing Animal Welfare Society) which was educational and inspiring.

We enjoyed dinners at Grounds and Alchemy. Both were good, but portions are quite large. Entrees are good candidates for sharing if you don't have a big appetite. Aria Bakery is a great little place for pastries or lunch. Yummy!

Room Tip: Check out photos on the Dunbar House website and pick the room that's right for you. We enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calif_Rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Been long time fans of the Dunbar House in past years. Gave gift certificate to family members who couldn't stay entire weekend, so decided to enjoy it ourselves! This unexpected opportunity to revisit exceeded our expectations! The best ever fudge and cookies and did I mention the horsd'oeuvre and wine in the fridge upon arrival! It doesn't get better than sitting on the porch sipping wine and watching the world go by! E- books in the room, DVDs if you want...Breakfast was an epicurean delight; awesome souffle, grilled avacado, fruit soaked in sangria - A Cinco de Mayo delight! Can say enough about what a what a memorable experience it was!

Room Tip: Sequoia Room has private porch area facing the beautiful gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaM852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

32nd Anniversary

Enjoyed our first visit to Dunbar House 1880 and Murphy’s. With the exception of the shower/tub arrangement, our stay in the Blue Oaks room was lovely. This spacious attic apartment was so nice. A little disappointed that there were no other guests to share our delicious breakfast and dining experience with, but owner Arline took some time to sit and chat with us, which was nice. So many nice touches and thoughtful planning throughout the house and property by the owners puts this B & B very high on our list. In our 3 days and two nights in Murphy’s, we found plenty to do, even during one full day of rain. We toured the town ourselves and later with a very informative guided walking tour; visited two caves (Mercer and Moaning); visited Ironstone; went to Big Trees; lunched at Grounds and had dinners at Alchemy and also Loruccio’s (all great food).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice B&B. Hostess very pleasant and Best Breakfast at a B&B in a long time or maybe ever. Fun walking around Murphys and tasting the wines. Did the Sat. morning walking tour and got some history of the area but had enough and broke off from the tour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I flew in and drove to this beautiful area. We had planned our PAWS seeing the elephants trip for several years, and it was amazing. This is a great option. It is a 20 minute drive to PAWS, but the drive is beautiful and worth. We loved our stay and the old world charm. The food was amazing, and the fudge was world class. Our only complaint was the pillows. But overall, well worth it... enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We really enjoyed the Dunbar house for out stay in the spring. They made our stay in the Gold country just perfect. From the well tended and equipped room, to the beautiful breakfasts, there was nothing else we needed. It's a lovely home, comfortable and situated close to all the restaurants, and the Main Street. We will surely stay there again when we visit the Gold country.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our room with its own private little deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at the Dunbar house for two nights while visiting the PAWS sanctuary in San Andreas. The house is charming and comfortable with all the conveniences we needed. We were on the first floor in a room with a comfortable king sized bed and double jacuzzi. The property is immaculate, inside and out. Complimentary home baked cookies, fudge, a bottle of wine and delicious appetizer were found in the room each afternoon. Such a nice and special touch! There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room as well as in the dining room. The living room, with the fireplace always blazing, was a warm and inviting area to gather in. There were books to read, dvds to borrow, and pictures and interesting paraphernalia dressing the walls and shelves from the gold rush era. The house is conveniently located to many delicious restaurants, wine tasting rooms and shops. The two breakfasts we had were made by Dawn and were absolutely delicious. They each were truly a work of art! She is quite talented and has an eye for presentation. We enjoyed dinner at Grounds and The Alchemy, both recommended by Arlene. We will definitely be highly recommending this warm and friendly B and B to our friends and family. Thank you Arlene, Rich and Dawn for welcoming us into your home!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.4 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
6.9 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbar House, 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbar House, 1880

Address: 271 Jones St, Murphys, CA 95247
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price Range: £151 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 4 diamond B&B has 5 cozy Victorian King or Queen guest rooms with private bath/showers. Cedar & Sequoia each have a 2 person Jacuzzi, and in-room or private patio dining. Each room has a Norwegian gas burning stove, Direct TV, flat screen TV with an available DVD collection, personal amenities, and a private refrigerator provisioned with bottled water & beer, appetizer plate and a complimentary bottle of local wine. Fresh baked cookies daily. Enjoy our full country breakfast in our charming dining room or in our beautiful gardens. Plan your romantic getaway today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Dunbar House, 1880 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing