We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Murphys Historic Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location was great.”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Location was excellent.

People walking down the hall were trying to open the door to our room. Weird.

The Ulysses S. Grant room sits right above the bar/dance club and the music is played loud enough so that you can identify the music right through closing time. When I went downstairs (there are no phones) there was sign at the front desk reception to see the bartender in lieu of a manager. I asked if the volume could be lowered I was told there is nothing they could do. The bartender told me that we signed a waiver. What was he talking about? There was no bathroom in room. It was up the hall. Toilets and showers separate and not clean. They call this room their best!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SFhotelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    29
    28
    21
    17
See reviews for
20
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We left the Strawberry area due to the electricity going out and just happned upon Murphys. We didn't really know where to stay and therefore just picked this place by chance. Because we had a 3 year old with us we wanted to have our own bathroom and therefore stayed in the "newer" section of the hotel. The room was older and definately has a MOTEL feel but all in all it was okay. However, Jeanne, at the reception desk was great. We ate dinner in the bar/restaraunt which was very good and the fella behind the bar who also acted as the waiter was very nice. We had a WONDERFUL breakfast at Grounds. It was by far the best breakfast we have ever had. We will go back to Murphys because it was such a cute town. We will probably stay at another locaiton but in a pinch this Hotel did just fine.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristyCristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

the food isn't very good in the restaurant. The rooms haven't been updated in 50 years. Some of the staff are unprofessional.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheryl6800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Murphys hotels

Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2011

There is peace and quite, crisp cool fresh mountain AIR that is "CLEAN". The Reataurant at the this hotel is excellent (the Chef does a great job), the special dinners are supreb. If you like WINE you cannot throw a rock without hitting a tasting room on the main street.( too many to count).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nachef1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

The Celebration was not worth $80.00 per person. The music while nice to listen to at dinner was really lame to dance. The bar had a better band but, no room to dance. The upstairs room was freezing. asked them to turn up the heat it was still so cold we had to wear jackets to eat. By 930pm we had enough of the cold and asked for our food to go. When we got home the food was not even what we ordered and paid a fortune for. All I can say is stay away from Murhpys unless you just want to get drunk then go for it!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueRn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortuna, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Brian is the nicest guy I have ever met the best waiter/ bar tender. He is the best manger I know with the best beer that has odd cans from Germany with an nitrogen ball inside. Every one in town knows where he is

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIng3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

great location, comfortable beds, clean rooms. Only downside are the shared bathrooms & showers. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakelley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.5 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
196 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
13.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
11.7 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murphys Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murphys Historic Hotel

Property: The Murphys Historic Hotel
Address: 457 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9628
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murphys Historic Hotel is the longest continually operated hotel in California. The Hotel was built in 1856 and we try to keep our nine historic rooms as close to that time period as possible. If you are to stay within the Historic Hotel you are without T.V., Phone, A/C, and of course a bathroom... but how often do you get to share a shower down the hall? You may bump into a ghost while enjoying a little piece of history. We also have twenty modern hotel rooms that have been improved more recently with new T.V.'s, Beds, A/C's, and Windows. We do have plans to remodel all bathrooms but Rome wasn't built in a day. We also have a full service restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch, & dinner 365 days a year along with a full service saloon. The Murphys Historic Hotel is also within walking distance to over 20 different wine tasting rooms and our community park. While you are here please let me know how we are doing. We hope to see you soon!Sincerely, Brian ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Murphys Historic Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing