We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Murphys Historic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Reviewed 17 June 2010

So, after a lot of apprehension about staying at this hotel we decided to go ahead and give it a try. We were spending a lot on hotels during this vacation, so the price of $100/night was appealing. We stayed in the "renovated" wing.The rooms are defiantly in need of up-dating. The walls were paneled, the bedspread was worn and pilly. The room woudn't win any awards but it was clean. The bed was firm and comfortable. Bring your own pillow theirs are lumpy.The bathroom was small and clean, although the shower liner/wall was beginning to peel up in one corner. Even with that, there wasn't anything disgusting.
We ate dinner at the restaurant on the patio. It was really lovely. We had a chicken stuffed with artichoke that was ok, but not great. It was a little over cooked. The service was very good. We enjoyed the patio so much we went back for breakfast. The breakfast was much better, the hash browned potatoes were really good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyinhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2010

This little hotel is located in the heart of Murphys a town that was once the place to be if you were a gold miner near the Sierra Nevadas. The town now is touristy and for the most part unremarkable. The hotel has been reported as haunted but that is just the old part; I stayed in the newer building which is very boring and thrives simply for it's location.
The rooms are are walled in wood panel and have merde art for decoration. There's a small TV with cable, AC, a shower in the bathroom and a bed that wobbles.
The hotel's restaurant is good and I mean it is totally trustworthy in the quality of food.
The wine list is good and the service is friendly and understands what it takes to make sure everyone enjoys their meal.
The saloon in the old part of the hotel is raucous! If you want to experience what a saloon should be stop by for a few drinks and enjoy the crowd.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crash89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

The hotel is quaint and it's location near the winery tasting rooms, especially Ironstone is wonderful. However, we were in the new and improved updated rooms and it was very uncomfortable. They were updated 4 decades ago! The restaurant was excellent and the bar was fun too. It's the bed and the room accomodations inwhich were terrible. I couldn't wait for morning to come so that I could get off the plywood bed they were disquising as a hotel bed. I'm so glad that the sweet little gal in the registry office didn't ask me about my stay. I no doubt would have let her have it. Thank goodness for the good wines!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottandraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The rooms are nice and there are almost too many wineries with short walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twojps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Just got home and we are already wishing we had stayed another night!! New Years Eve was sooooo much fun. EVERYTHING about Murphy's Hotel is awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mssuzallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

I found it very clean and cozy. I would deffenitly enjoy my stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlin209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Yes, yes, I probably agree with most of the previous reviews... Murphys Historic Hotel is a bit rough... Still, it has a down-to-earth quality that young adults in our family enjoy.... The staff is friendly, the bar and restaurant are nice, and it's a great town if you like Mark Twain stories.... My mother-in-law is in her 80s and she chose a comfortable room at a motel. It was the guys and gals in their 20s who liked Murphys Historic Hotel.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank CelticRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.5 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
214 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
13 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
417 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murphys Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murphys Historic Hotel

Address: 457 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9628
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murphys Historic Hotel is the longest continually operated hotel in California. The Hotel was built in 1856 and we try to keep our nine historic rooms as close to that time period as possible. If you are to stay within the Historic Hotel you are without T.V., Phone, A/C, and of course a bathroom... but how often do you get to share a shower down the hall? You may bump into a ghost while enjoying a little piece of history. We also have twenty modern hotel rooms that have been improved more recently with new T.V.'s, Beds, A/C's, and Windows. We do have plans to remodel all bathrooms but Rome wasn't built in a day. We also have a full service restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch, & dinner 365 days a year along with a full service saloon. The Murphys Historic Hotel is also within walking distance to over 20 different wine tasting rooms and our community park. While you are here please let me know how we are doing. We hope to see you soon!Sincerely, Brian ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Murphys Historic Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing