We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the heart of Gold Rush country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Murphys Historic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Murphys Historic Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Gold Rush country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

We were on our way from from Tahoe to Yosemitee and found there was an old gold rush town that was still alive with a vibrant main street and historic inn recommended in Lonely Planet book, we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Daniel Webster room (historic rooms are named after famous people that stayed there) which has a iron balcony overlooking the side street, old iron shutters. The room was very clean, staff was great. The historic beds are a little small, if you're over 6'2" you may be a little cramped, but these are period beds.

There is paranormal activity reported in room journals, we did not witness any of that, but also avoided the Thomas Lipton room, which has the most reports and has apparently been studied.

Bar downstairs had good apps and decent drink selection in what seems to be the original saloon with subtle neon and HDTVs to bring it up to date. Price was sub 100 (89) on a wednesday night, which is the same price as the new section, so if you can live with sharing a bathroom/shower with the folks on your floor and not having a TV in the room, you're sure to enjoy the stay here.

Good food options in town, we ate at Grounds across the street and had a great meal, both for the vegetarian, carnivore and everything in between.

This Inn may not have all the amenities, but is a great stay, if we ever pass though again, we're sure to look it up.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    27
    27
    21
    17
See reviews for
19
49
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
virgina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

So, after a lot of apprehension about staying at this hotel we decided to go ahead and give it a try. We were spending a lot on hotels during this vacation, so the price of $100/night was appealing. We stayed in the "renovated" wing.The rooms are defiantly in need of up-dating. The walls were paneled, the bedspread was worn and pilly. The room woudn't win any awards but it was clean. The bed was firm and comfortable. Bring your own pillow theirs are lumpy.The bathroom was small and clean, although the shower liner/wall was beginning to peel up in one corner. Even with that, there wasn't anything disgusting.
We ate dinner at the restaurant on the patio. It was really lovely. We had a chicken stuffed with artichoke that was ok, but not great. It was a little over cooked. The service was very good. We enjoyed the patio so much we went back for breakfast. The breakfast was much better, the hash browned potatoes were really good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

This little hotel is located in the heart of Murphys a town that was once the place to be if you were a gold miner near the Sierra Nevadas. The town now is touristy and for the most part unremarkable. The hotel has been reported as haunted but that is just the old part; I stayed in the newer building which is very boring and thrives simply for it's location.
The rooms are are walled in wood panel and have merde art for decoration. There's a small TV with cable, AC, a shower in the bathroom and a bed that wobbles.
The hotel's restaurant is good and I mean it is totally trustworthy in the quality of food.
The wine list is good and the service is friendly and understands what it takes to make sure everyone enjoys their meal.
The saloon in the old part of the hotel is raucous! If you want to experience what a saloon should be stop by for a few drinks and enjoy the crowd.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crash89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Murphys hotels

Leona Valley, CA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

The hotel is quaint and it's location near the winery tasting rooms, especially Ironstone is wonderful. However, we were in the new and improved updated rooms and it was very uncomfortable. They were updated 4 decades ago! The restaurant was excellent and the bar was fun too. It's the bed and the room accomodations inwhich were terrible. I couldn't wait for morning to come so that I could get off the plywood bed they were disquising as a hotel bed. I'm so glad that the sweet little gal in the registry office didn't ask me about my stay. I no doubt would have let her have it. Thank goodness for the good wines!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottandraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

The rooms are nice and there are almost too many wineries with short walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twojps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

Just got home and we are already wishing we had stayed another night!! New Years Eve was sooooo much fun. EVERYTHING about Murphy's Hotel is awesome.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mssuzallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

I found it very clean and cozy. I would deffenitly enjoy my stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlin209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.5 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
11.2 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murphys Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murphys Historic Hotel

Property: The Murphys Historic Hotel
Address: 457 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9628
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murphys Historic Hotel is the longest continually operated hotel in California. The Hotel was built in 1856 and we try to keep our nine historic rooms as close to that time period as possible. If you are to stay within the Historic Hotel you are without T.V., Phone, A/C, and of course a bathroom... but how often do you get to share a shower down the hall? You may bump into a ghost while enjoying a little piece of history. We also have twenty modern hotel rooms that have been improved more recently with new T.V.'s, Beds, A/C's, and Windows. We do have plans to remodel all bathrooms but Rome wasn't built in a day. We also have a full service restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch, & dinner 365 days a year along with a full service saloon. The Murphys Historic Hotel is also within walking distance to over 20 different wine tasting rooms and our community park. While you are here please let me know how we are doing. We hope to see you soon!Sincerely, Brian ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Murphys Historic Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing