We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Murphys Historic Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Wow! I was immediately struck by the lovely façade of the building. I could tell it would set the tone for our whole Murphy’s adventure. The lobby and saloon area are decorated in keeping with the era of the building, very cute. Also I noticed an ATM tucked in the corner of the lobby. That came in very handy over the weekend. The outside eating area is surrounded with wonderful roses and gardens that are so sweet and romantic at meal times. The saloon and it's staff were also wonderful. We even met some of the locals in the saloon. They were great and very friendly. The tasting rooms, shopping and wineries in the area were all REALLY FANTASTIC. I love how this hotel is located right on the main street, very easy walk to at least 15 of the tasting rooms, restaurants and wonderful shops. Oh and down behind the hotel is a fantastic little stream and public park, very quaint. This weekend was to celebrate my turning 40 and it was definitely the best birthday weekend I have ever had. We will definitely be back to Murphy’s soon.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank netnet67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    27
    21
    17
See reviews for
20
49
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

The Hotel is interesting and of historic value, but not a good place to spend the night.

We had one of the "newer" rooms away from the main hotel, but the noise from the bar (even after closing as the crowd just moves outside) was still loud enough to keep us awake. The carpet, bed spreads and curtains were all dirty and worn, the mattresses hard, the a/c noisy and the walkway outside filthy. And to top it off the front desk clerk was very rude.

On the bright side, our dinner at the restaurant was much better. The food was well prepared and plentiful and our waiter was polite and efficient. The bar is also a lively (to put it mildly) place to hang out, lots of fun.

I'll visit the restaurant and bar again, but look elsewhere for a bed.

  • Liked — Convenient downtown location.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank randomNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Murphys hotels

Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2007

Our room was above the bar and it was real loud. We had to keep the window open to have some fresh air because the room was real stuffy. When the bar closed at 2am everyone hung out on the street for a good half hour before they went home. The faucet in the room would not shut off all the way so we also had a dripping problem. Dinner at the hotel was overpriced the food was average the service was below average. We canceled our 2nd night stay and drove to Lake Tahoe and had a beautiful 2 days there.

Redwood City, Ca

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaLosthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2007

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel. Room #305, what a terrible joke! The room was dark and you could not open the curtains because anyone walking by could just look-in. The dark carpet (it seemed filthy), was very old and should never touch someones bare feet. The tenat that stayed before us vomitted on the floor (admitted by the front desk cleck) and the stench was horrible. They promise to clean it the second day; but, they did a very poor job.

The bed was suppose to be queen, but we think it was more of a double, and it had a terrible mattress. Sheets were clean, and that's one of the very few positves . The bathroom was sad, the shower stall is very very tiny and the floor was in need of repair.

Be fore warned that the walls are paper thin and you hear road noise, driveway noise, next room noise and two rooms over noise. You hear everything.

Bar was OK; but, the food from the dining room was fair at best.

  • Liked — Location, right in town...
  • Disliked — Room smelled of vomit!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SanJoseTravelinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Our room was in the newer (early 1980's) part of the hotel across from the parking lot. Room #101 is called the Vineyard Suite, what a terrible joke! It was large and that's it. If you are thinking suite in a normal hotel, there might be a few extra ammenties - think again!! The room was dark and you could not open the curtains becasue of the closeness to the street anyone walking by could look-in. The dark carpet (you know it was dirty), was very old and should never touch bare feet.. Then there was the most nastiest, ugly, smelly couch I have ever seen. It was probably a sofa bed, but we never got near it. It was an old dingy fabric that was undescribable, (you could'nt help but think that creepy things were going to pop out). As a matter of fact if I sat on any of the chairs or bedspread I would put a towel underneath me. The bed was suppose to be queen, but we think it was more of a double, and it felt like 2 box springs rather than a mattress. Sheets were clean, and we used our own blanket. The bathroom was not bad, although the shower stall is very very tiny and there was no shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc. Nor was the shower cleaned after the first day. We ordered 2 appetizers in the bar on the 1st night and it took 45 minutes. The bartender said the restaurant was very busy. We looked, and not all the tables were full. Only due to convenience we ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant the next moring and it was a disaster. Come on, a rubbery waffle, and they forgot the eggs on my boyfriend's plate. I was done eating by the time they fixed his plate. If it were not that the entire town was booked up we would have checked out in a flash, but we will never ever stay or eat at this place again.

  • Liked — Close to shopping
  • Disliked — Everything but being close to shopping
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ACALIFNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Germain, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2006

We ran away from our own place, midweek and hoped to get a room in the historic section of the Murphys Hotel, not the newer motel section and we were not disappointed. We were walk-in guests on a Tuesday in the middle of October and got one of the two large rooms with access to the balcony with a rate of $69. The bath is a shared bath down the hall, but we were the only guests in the Historic section and had the place to our selves.

After walking the town and reading the menus posted in all the restaurants we chose to dine at the Murphys Hotel, another winning choice. After diner we enjoyed the balcony and a bottle of wine purchased locally under the stars watching the evening slide by.

The town of murphys is a wine mecca for the Sierra Nevada and Calaveras County. Good food lots of offerings. We like Ironstone Vineyards for the pomp/museum/setting and adore Hatcher for their Zinfandel.

While the no-Televisions, shared bath lodging is not for everyone, we get a kick out of staying in the circa 1800s properties and daydreaming about what the gold rush might have been like if we were there. The service was pleasant, room clean, priced right...and we will go back.

Regarding noise comments of earlier reviews, we experienced no noise problems, but note that we were there on a Tuesday. The bar was open when we went upstairs, but we did not notice any noise to our room.

  • Liked — The setting, history and value
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy the wine tasting, do Ironstone first so you don't have to drive afterwards
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cedaroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 December 2005

My husband and I and our college-age son had booked two nights in the original Murphy's over Thanksgiving weekend. Our room was charming, but directly over the bar downstairs, and the noise from the bar kept us awake until after midnight the first night. We requested a room change to their "modern" section which is across the parking lot from the old hotel for our second night's stay, but it was fully booked. When we returned to the hotel late that night, we found the sidewalk out front, the hallways downstairs, and the bar packed with 20-somethings. The music and noise were so loud, we knew we wouldn't be able to get any rest---and the bar doesn't close 'til 2 am--- so we packed up and left at 11:30 pm to go sleep on the floor at the home of relatives in Angel's Camp. If you are into the noisy, crowded bar scene, and don't need to sleep until the wee hours of the morning, maybe this is for you, but we were seriously disapppointed in our hoped-for weekend retreat in a quaint historic hotel.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.5 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
11.2 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
11.7 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murphys Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murphys Historic Hotel

Property: The Murphys Historic Hotel
Address: 457 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9628
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murphys Historic Hotel is the longest continually operated hotel in California. The Hotel was built in 1856 and we try to keep our nine historic rooms as close to that time period as possible. If you are to stay within the Historic Hotel you are without T.V., Phone, A/C, and of course a bathroom... but how often do you get to share a shower down the hall? You may bump into a ghost while enjoying a little piece of history. We also have twenty modern hotel rooms that have been improved more recently with new T.V.'s, Beds, A/C's, and Windows. We do have plans to remodel all bathrooms but Rome wasn't built in a day. We also have a full service restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch, & dinner 365 days a year along with a full service saloon. The Murphys Historic Hotel is also within walking distance to over 20 different wine tasting rooms and our community park. While you are here please let me know how we are doing. We hope to see you soon!Sincerely, Brian ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Murphys Historic Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing