We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of Murphys Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphys Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Hollister, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We enjoyed our time in Murphy, and Brittany and Tanya took great care of us. It's a nice place to stay while you are here!

Close to everything in the area so you can walk. This makes it much easier than driving when you are sampling many wines! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirkDMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review we are pleased you had a nice time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    107
    26
    3
    10
See reviews for
58
106
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have been coming to the Frog Jumps for over 30 years but started booking our rooms at Murphys Inn in 2005. We were unable to make it in 2014, but Tanya was very helpful with the cancellation and rebooking for 2015. Thanks Tanya!!!

We love this Motel. Rooms are very nice and the property is well kept. We ride with a large group of friends and were pleased to find that they even provide laundered towels and rags for cleaning your bike! We would recommend Murphys Inn year round!

Sally & Steve

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
AWESOME we'll see you next year! Third weekend in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My daughter, daughter-in-law and friends have all stayed at this motel for the last 3 years and have found it to be the perfect location in Murphys. It is located at the end of town, or should I say the beginning of town? Either way, it's great as you can start from one end of town, walk up one side of it and down the other and end up back at your room. You never need to use a car to browse through shops, eat at restaurants or wine taste to your heart's content. Everything is right in town, which is small and charming and quaint. We come here every year for a WWWW (Wild Women & Wine Weekend) and will keep coming back!

The staff are friendly, the rooms clean and large enough to spread out in... and there are Oreos available on the check in counter, 24/7. Great for that moment when you experience a 'sweet tooth' moment and have nothing with you to munch on.

Just a note: The rooms are not high-end, fancy. So if that is what you're looking for, you may not be impressed. But it certainly works for us. Comfortable, moderately priced, and the perfect location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
So pleased to hear that the WWWW will be returning every year. We enjoy having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MODESTO CA
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It was very busy that day, we got there early and tanya was very helpful getting us registered as soon as possible. We were able to park in the lot early until check-in , that was great as there was no place to park any where in town! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVLOVERSModestoCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Glad to hear you got a spot. We try to keep our lot for customers only on Irish Day, but sometimes it is difficult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I went to Murphys on business without a hotel reservation. I'm so happy I found Murphys Inn. They are clean, friendly, very accommodating. It's one block from the downtown Main Street, across the street from 2 restaurants, next door to the market. It's perfect!

It's the best deal in town, but also really nice. It's not fancy, no room service, etc. Who cares? There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and it's more fun to go out anyway.

Thank you Tanya, for making my stay really nice.

-Cathy from Santa Cruz

Room Tip: I'd stay downstairs to avoid stairs….all rooms are big and have the same amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathySantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Pleased to hear you were happy with what we offer here at Murphys Inn Motel. We strive to make every guests experience a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodeo, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed for three nights in one of the handicapped rooms. Had plently of room for my husbands wheelchair, especialy in the bathroom. Great location to get to local business. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back for a stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Great to hear that our handicap accessible rooms met the needs of you and your husband. We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I just wanted to mention that Tanya at Murphys Inn was great always had helpful knowledge of the town and always bubbly! This foothill town was great for laid back days and great wine tasting! I definitely suggest getting out of the city and up to the hills.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed your wine tasting trip. We look forward to your return to the hills with your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.2 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
209 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
11.5 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
400 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Inn Motel

Property: Murphys Inn Motel
Address: 76 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Murphys Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Murphys Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing