We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottages at La Honda Park
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely in every way”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Jeanne is a model for anyone in the hospitality industry, naturally gracious. Gorgeous setting , with all kinds of old-timey extras: barn filled with fun games, many places to sit and admire Angel's Creek, bocce ball, horseshoes. Old miner's cabin on site. We stayed in both the Poolroom and Ripplewood cottages. Both immaculate and delightfully furnished, but we preferred Ripplewood by far.

We were worried about the heat, being used to Bay Area weather, but lucked out this trip. However, the lack of air-conditioning would make us reluctant to go in the summer. Of course, you can always cool off in the lovely pool or creek itself. The Ripplewood cottage needs new shades. The window shade facing the creek doesn't go all the way down. These are merely quibbles with paradise! We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Poolroom and Grandma's room are sort-of attached to each other. Ripplewood is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were so pleased by our first visit to The Cottages at La Honda Park, we are certain to return. The property is absolutely beautiful, and only 5 minutes outside of Murphys. The cottages are spread out on the property, so there is lots of privacy. The cottage has everything you need, but if you want more, there is also a full-sized communal kitchen and a barn with more communal socializing opportunities (pool table, foosball table, etc.) Jenny and Barr are very hospitable and helpful. It's especially nice that the cars are left in a lot at the edge of the property, so no "car noise" outside your windows!

Room Tip: Grandma's cottage is spacious and comfortable with a very comfy bed, seating areas both inside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We have stayed a number of times here. This is the the best place to relax and get away from it all. Your only a mile from main street Murphys. The owners Barr and Jenny welcome you with open arms. Angels creek that runs through the property is so soothing. We always stay in the Ripplewood cottage. I highly recommend this place on your next visit to Murphys.
:)))))))

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaLosthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, ca
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

this is a location on a creek, with five cottages....very beautiful, with a waterfall, a pool, full kitchen, and a rec center in the 'barn'. Resident cat is friendly, and the greeter. SOO beautiful, with grass and great landscaping....try the Ripplewood...

close in to Murphys, but very secluded....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank alcojunkyarddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I have stayed at La Honda Park near Murphys several times in the summer and love it. This time a group of friends decided to go for New Years weekend. After playing all day at the local wineries, we came back to the delightful barn/game room and played pool, darts, foos ball and even a game of bingo until midnight, then watched the big screen. What a blast!! Next day a hike through the snow in Big Trees state park among the magnificant sequoia. Saturday a hike around New Melones lake. Then hurry back to play bocce ball next to the roaring creek. As always, very tough to leave and the owners, Jenny and Barr are a delight!
Oh, and check out the pottery store and kiln at Brice Station Winery(and the wine).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonoma707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We ventured out from San Fransisco with friends for a weekend of adventure at Moaning Caverns ziplining, rappelling, and caving. Friends of ours found the Cottages at La Honda Park via word of mouth through the Murphy’s visitor center. The first two places recommended were booked so we were further referred to the cottages. We weren’t sure what to expect so we kept our expectations very low. We prepared ourselves for rustic accommodations. We ended up being very pleasantly surprised.

What we found were luxury cottages in a picturesque setting with marvelous hosts. The grounds are beautifully manicured. The cottages are expertly decorated and immaculately clean. This includes the “bar” that is complete with pool table, darts, foosball and stereo system. They have wine on site that you can buy if you forgot to bring some.

The pool is very nice, clean and stocked with poolside towels, pool floats and toys. They also have outdoor speakers so you can listen to your favorite tunes while you soak up the sun. The hosts, Bar and Jenny, anticipate your needs and work hard to meet. In passing we had mentioned wanting to make s’mores. That night when we returned from dinner, they had set up 4 chairs around the fire pit (which is right next to the creek that runs through the property), stocked it with firewood and kindling and even gave us sticks to roast the marshmallows. It was a perfect evening by the fire, under the stars, with not a care in the world. Our stay was wonderful! We highly recommend a weekend here.

For dinner or something extra to do, the quaint little town of Murphy’s has several wineries. You can walk around the town and stop in for tastings. They also have several very nice restaurant choices where the food is top notch!
Moaning caverns is a great place for an adventure packed day.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
2.3 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
11.6 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at La Honda Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at La Honda Park

Property: The Cottages at La Honda Park
Address: 2455 Murphys Grade Road, between Angels Camp and Murphys in Calaveras County, Murphys, CA 95247
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Murphys
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at La Honda Park offer luxurious accommodations in a natural park setting. Enjoy six acres of lush lawns, ancient oaks, a beautiful pool and the sounds and views of picturesque Angels Creek winding through the park. The Cottages are located just two miles from downtown Murphys and 4 miles from downtown Angels Camp. This stunning natural haven offers 5 beautifully furnished cottages each with a private porch, bathroom, kitchenette, bbqs and picnic areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottages At La Honda Park Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing