We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Querincia is more than a B&B it is a little bit of paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Querencia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Querencia
Ranked #4 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Querincia is more than a B&B it is a little bit of paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We could not have been more impressed with this fabulous B&B/ Small Inn. The MacFarlane's are the most amazing hosts from their gourmet breakfasts, to the rooms that offer truly complete privacy as well as every amenity that could be thought of for your comfort. The property is on a ridge top and offers a rare glimse into the local wildlife from the many window vistas. We will return and recommend this highly to any traveler. Next time we will take advantage of the intimate dinners that this gourment couple have available each night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jannajacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

This place is beautiful. It is a destination in itself, but also close to Murphys, Calvaras Big Trees park, and lots of other local attractions.

Mary Jo and Mike are excellent hosts - and excellent cooks. If you are on a diet, be warned! They will accommodate any dietary restrictions, but good luck resisting the fresh cookies and other goodies they offer up. Breakfast was fresher than fresh, courtesy of their chickens and on-site garden. Although I did not sample any, I suspect their wine selection is quite good, as well.

Querencia sits on top of a hill and has 360-degree views. There are lots of indoor & outdoor areas to sit and relax. The house is quirky and interesting in the design and decor; the rooms are more traditional, with ultra-luxurious beds. All in all, an excellent place to relax, take in the views, and enjoy excellent hospitality from two hosts who know how to do it right.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuba city ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

What a great place! Unique! Relaxing! Private! Beautiful Location! Understated elegance, not pretentious! Great Food & hosts! I can't wait to go back! At first I thought it was a little pricey, but I think it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrpeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

Querencia is a stunning upmarket bed and breakfast but with so much more. Set in 40 acres on the top of a mountain, every window offers stunning views of more mountains and valleys. It is hard to believe that the house is surrounded by vineyards...but it is..set in the heart of the Calaveras wine region about 2 hours from Sacramento. The gracious hosts are Mary Jo and Mike Mcfarlane. The gourmet breakfasts served up by Mike are a gastronomic delight served on the terrace with hummingbirds for company. Sleeping is no problem when you are lying on one of the softest beds I have ever slept on. It is not cheap but with this level of quality you would not expect cheap. If you really want to push the boat out for your partner this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

Querencia translates to “where you stand to view the world” and this incredible B and B is surely the summit. This is one of the most spectacular places we have ever stayed. The home sits high above the Sierras over the charming and wine-friendly town of Murphys. The hosts, MaryJo and Mike Macfarlane, treat you like honored friends in their home. This place is immaculate, stunning, artistic, unique…not enough adjectives to describe. We stayed in the Chocolate Room. There are only 4 rooms to choose from so you never feel as if you are one of the throngs of guests. The room has the most amazing shower! And the food is worthy of 3 Michelin stars. Each morning MaryJo arrives with fresh baked scones (I didn’t know these pastries could be so light and yummy) and coffee to your room. At a time of your choosing, you arrive for breakfast and Mike prepares a sumptuous feast designed around your personal choices. This husband and wife team are amazing chefs; you won’t believe the quality and variety of the food they prepare. Oh yes and around 6 o’ clock they bring out freshly prepared snacks and wine. Some of the appetizers were lightly fried zucchini fresh from their garden, fried olives (unbelievable!), corn fritters, and asparagus with a light lemon zest. Another evening we had shrimp with a homemade cocktail sauce, fresh made pita from the brick oven out back and hummus and tahini.
I give this property the highest possible rating. I only hope they can accommodate us when we return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
2.7 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
9.3 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.9 mi away
CourtWood Inn
CourtWood Inn
#2 of 4 in Murphys
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Querencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Querencia

Property: Querencia
Address: 4183 Sheep Ranch Road, P. O. Box 945, Murphys, CA
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing