We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying at a long-lost family member's house”
Review of Querencia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Querencia
Ranked #4 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like staying at a long-lost family member's house”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Mike and Mary Jo were so welcoming of us into their inn/home -- it was a truly unusual experience. The appetizers, cookies, and breakfasts were all delicious -- the conversation was interesting too. We were the only ones there that weekend, I felt a bit doted on, which was very nice. We definitely recommend the experience.

Room Tip: The Platinum room is more expensive, but the bathroom has a couple's jacuzzi tub and the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Each part of this long weekend at Querencia was Amazing. The architecture, the views, the attention to detail throughout the property. We've stayed at some outstanding B&B's but this was by far the best. MaryJo and Mike make you feel right at home immediately upon arrival, you are greeted with tasty treats and wine, a grand tour and truly friendly conversation. The rooms are luxurious and tasteful, super comfortable and the views from the private deck inspire. We spent our Saturday touring the area, Mercer Caverns is really close and was fun, but honestly we could have stayed at the inn the whole day and been happy. Take the time, go, enjoy!

Room Tip: Each room is grand but the Pomagranate and Platinum have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kats1man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Putting this truly exceptional experience at Querencia into words is difficult because of the lack of enough superlatives in the language to adequately communicate the totality of our stay.

Getting there...like all good things in life come with some challenge. The challenge is the 15 minutes of one-lane winding country road that made me wish I were driving a Carrera instead of our two-door coupe. In the end, we spotted a hilltop estate, like a glowing mirage, our goal for the day.

Mike the co-owner with his wife Mary Jo, immediately made us at home. We admired the 360 degree view at sunset from their mountaintop home. Afterward, we retired to the great room for fresh limeade. After that we were shown our luxurious accommodations. I have included a photo of the shower stall in our bathroom, a totally walk-in facility with multiple nozzles. The 10-year process that they went through to build this unique property is very evident. Our tour included a visit through a hidden door, behind a portion of a wall long bookshelf, to their wine cellar, grand piano included in this round secluded room.

Although they provide an excellent breakfast, cooked by Mike, in his commercial level kitchen, they offered us appetizers in the evening: butternut soup, light batter fried onion ring & artichokes and some warm baguette slices, that were unexpected but appreciated.

Mike likes to reverse engineer recipes of dishes he admires. He served us several of those recipes at breakfast the following morning. These included his famous cornmeal/applesauce pancakes and a Dutch baby pancake with fresh fruit. Both dishes were accompanied by a choice of bacon or sausage.

Mary Jo exuded warmth and graciousness in her hospitality. She comes across as the southern belle that comes from her Virginia roots.

If you are interested in a very unique, luxurious, quality experience, you need not look further.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank viarueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at this gorgeous inn for our anniversary last month. In our 22 years of marriage, we have stayed in some really nice inns and B&B's, but this is by far the best! The property, house, and decor are impeccable and the ambiance is relaxing and luxurious! Mike and Mary Jo are wonderful - they felt like old friends in no time and were so welcoming and warm! The food was fantastic. We loved it!!!

Room Tip: all are beautiful, can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Querencia is a gorgeous inn on top of a mountain with spectacular views. We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights and had such a restful time. Mike and Mary Jo are very nice and are informative about the area. They offer a very large 3 course breakfast everyday, with many choices to pick from off the menu. The homemade scones were so tasty. We also were served local wines with appetizers ever night. Mike is an excellent chef and knows his way around the 2 kitchens. The inn is very large and so are each of the beautiful rooms. There is many places that you can find to just chill and enjoy the picturesque scenery. We stayed in the pomegranate room with a king bed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. There are 2 king rooms on second floor and 2 queens rooms on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Platinum room during our March stay. The room, bath, and patio were fantastic! Breakfast was like eating at a five star restaurant. It is definitely worth the price. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobySFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012 via mobile

We just got engaged here this past weekend!!! Our second time staying at Querencia. Such a beautiful place. Pure luxury when it comes to this B&B. The rooms are beautiful, the view is incredible and the breakfast is to die for! Querencia will always have a special place in our hearts now. Can't wait to come back!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
2.7 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
9.3 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.9 mi away
CourtWood Inn
CourtWood Inn
#2 of 4 in Murphys
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.4 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Querencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Querencia

Property: Querencia
Address: 4183 Sheep Ranch Road, P. O. Box 945, Murphys, CA
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing