We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Perfect Setup in Murphys”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Treetop House

Living Space and Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Space and Kitchen
Front of the House One of the bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
9 reviews
Living Space and Kitchen
Front of the House
One of the bedrooms
Second Bedroom
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
Large deck for entertaining
Bar at the kitchen for additional seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Murphys, California

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MaxCroweP...
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Setup in Murphys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

As advertised, this charming cabin is a hop-skip-and-a-jump from Main Street. One emerges right at the Historic Murphys Hotel, with it's great bar filled with friendly locals and folks from nearby towns in Central Cali. The bedrooms are comfortable, the place was clean when we got there, everything works, and someone must have come by while we were up snowboarding in Bear Valley (1 hour north on CA-4), because the gas fireplace/stove in the LR was lit and things tidied when we got back in the evening. The deck is a great place to hang and wind down in the evening, located as it is on high ground with pines all around. We did a winter BBQ with some great tri-tip we got at the local market, plus spinach salad, sausage and local wines from Calaveras. Watched TV in the LR with the fire going... we got so comfortable, we had to force ourselves to get up and out to enjoy Murphys, which is just a wonderful, quaint, friendly town, pop. 2000+. I not only recommend the Tree House, but the four of us (wife, daughter 14, son 22) agreed that we would like to return as soon as possible. When we finally had to leave for the SF part of our holiday, we went reluctantly, and like the bunch of silly kids that we are, actually waved bye-bye to the house wearing melancholy faces as we drove off.
Oh, one last thing. We stayed at a hotel for the one night the property was not yet available to us. It is SO much better to rent your own place like this.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The deck, and the location.
Liked least: ... only staying four days.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INTANDEMB...
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit to Murphys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This was my first visit to Murphys. The Little Yellow Cottage is in a wonderful location , just a short walk from main street. The yard and cottage are very cute and it looks like a storybook cottage. It has two bedrooms and 2 baths but one bath has a tub and no shower. We had two couples sharing the home and only one shower but made it work. The home is nicely equipped with everything needed to cook your own meals. It even had both a gas and charcoal BBQ. We were happy to discover air- conditioning but the house is well shaded by trees. It is next to a park with a stream which was delightful. A short stroll away were wine tasting rooms, shops and terrific restaurants. We can't wait to come back and stay here again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and cuteness factor
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Californi...
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This cottage is within a short walk to downtown main st with all the winery tasting rooms and restaurants. The cottage is clean and the kitchen has everything for cooking. The backyard patio is very quiet and a great place to eat breakfast and dinner like we did the 2 days we were their. We will be back next summer.
:))

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Breakfast and dinner on the patio
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoeed
Nv.
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cindylou
CA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
51Rebecca
Fresno,Ca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Feels like the charming country home you wish you owned !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

This warm and inviting cottage has everything you could ever want or need. From the moment you open the front door, you know you just stumbled on to something special. The furnishings are quaint, but comfortable. There is a feeling of, "Let's just hang out here," rather than exploring the charming town on Murphys. I would've been perfectly happy just hanging out in my little cottage away from home. It's located near the community park, complete with a stream, bridges, and a gazebo.

The kitchen is well appointed with fine dishes and stemware. The baths are spacious and clean. The bedrooms (located on opposite ends of the cottage) are decorated and encourage sleeping in !!! We also enjoyed the backyard, with a raised wooden patio area.

I want to return and soon !!!

Try skipping the chic wine bars for "The Nugget" one night. It's the local watering hole, complete with dogs trotting around and very friendly folks !!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The charm of the entire experience
Liked least: There is nothing to note
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing