We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise in Murphys”
Review of Murphys Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphys Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I recently had a weekend in Murphys with my mother and sister. We chose this hotel because of the availability of 3 separate beds (2 queens and a pull out sofabed). We enjoyed a 2 room suite that was a great size for the three of us. We had a small refrigerator, a microwave and a coffeemaker in our room. The room was clean, just a tiny bit dated. But, I was able to forgive that because of some amenities. There was a small pool available as well as a hot tub. At breakfast time we were brought our choice of donuts to the room with some orange juice. The hotel backs to a convenient market for necessary purchases. Service was ok. There were times when the desk wasn't manned. But our wait was never more than 5-10 minutes. The hotel is a short distance from main street. Driving is probably the preferred way to head to main because of the highway that it is located beside. We had a room alongside the highway and never felt, saw, or heard the effects of it. I would recommend the hotel and have plans of returning myself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljjecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have stayed here a few times with family and friends. This hotel is a great place to stay while you enjoy what the Calaveras Mountains have to offer. Highly recommended for anyone looking for value and excellent lodging. This is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FunTravelsinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for the recommendation! There are many indoor and outdoor activities to experience in Calaveras County and the Sierra Nevada Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very clean and well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful.Very close to downtown. Their cappuccino coffee was fantastic. The rooms are large and their beds were comfortable. I would definitely visit again and tell my family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedomCV1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Overall a very good experience. Nice, clean grounds. Well maintained. Rooms are large. Good location. A little far for walking to downtown, but it is a short drive. The donuts that were served for breakfast left a little to be desired, but overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turlock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is about 1/2 mile to the start of "town" and them town is about 1 1/12 mile long it takes all day to enjoy it in entirety. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Murphys Suites is a wonderful place to stay. We have been there on business 3 or 4
years now and so enjoy the stay. It is very clean - the staff is very helpful - and it is very quiet.
We have recommended this place to several different ones. And, we look forward to
our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HelenSanRamon_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My Mom, my brother and I stayed here last Thanksgiving and we enjoyed this place alot. We had a nice "senior" room to accommodate my Mom and we had plenty of room to spread out. Murphys Suites was clean and comfortable and the front office staff was friendly with welcoming smiles. We love the cookies and coffee too! We especially also loved this place because it was still close to downtown but far enough to get a quiet night's rest. We will definitely come back to Murphys Suites. Love this Place, and thanks.

Yolanda, Hortensia and Greg G.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YoVRodBikerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Annually, a group of 20 reserves 10 rooms for a week of sharing a mutual "addiction", (quilting) and I have found the staff at the Suites to be enthusiastic, helpful and pleasant to work with. The suites are large and well-equipped, except for the fact that there is only one sink, which is in the kitchen area. Our downstairs room, near the lobby area, is even quiet. Nice having coffee available throughout the day. The hotel is easily accessible from the Highway and near town (walking distance) and many good restaurants, although they are not all open every day. Many of the shops are closed on different weekdays and most don't open until noon, then close at 5:00 so if you are planning other activities in the area they are not available to visit when wandering the town before leaving for the day or after dinner. From peering in the windows of the many boutiques and shops, I would say that is a cost-saving bonus to the traveler (sadly) as there are many interesting places for the daytime visitor/shopper to explore if you can get in!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doni137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
7 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
12.7 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
139 reviews
12.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Suites

Address: 134 E Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247-9531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range: £75 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphys Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Murphys Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing