We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphys Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Murphys Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a delightful couple of nights at the Murphys Suites. It was hot in August and we loved cooling off in the pool. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and you are within walking distance of down. The rooms come equipped with a microwave, coffee maker and fridge. It was just the two of us but these rooms would easily accommodate a family. The staff at reception were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Busylizzie840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
It is excellent to hear that you enjoyed so much of our staff and facility. Please come visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    75
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
51
53
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were greeted by a sweet and helpful desk clerk who offered us Oreo cookies along with their homemade miniature doughnuts for the following morning during the quiet mid-week. We spent a couple nights along with several fellow friends touring and shopping the local town of Murphys and the area's many vineyards, wineries and tasting rooms. The inn is easy to locate as you enter town, right on hi-way 4. The only real downside to the motel is that it is located just a bit too far on the edge of town to make walking into town difficult, especially if one is inclined to purchase a few bottles of the local wines and carry them back to your room. However, we experienced no difficulty in finding downtown parking, especially during the mid-week.
We found our room ample, clean, well appointed, and nicely maintained. The only quirk was no towel bar near the wash basin. A convenient elevator made it easy for bringing our luggage and other items up to our second floor room.
If your travels include a stay in Murphys, we would recommend choosing this comfortable motel.

Room Tip: Use your AARP or AAA card for additioanl room discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
The quiet of the mid-week can be so pleasant in our little town. I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip. Please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Dazzling Divas had a great time at the Suites. The staff allowed us to check into a couple of rooms early so we could make the 1:30 tour at Ironstone. We loved having a " game" room to play cards and games in the evening. We had 4 rooms with 4 in each and there was plenty of space for luggage and purchases. The Suites is conveniently located...we went to Tea at Columbia Kates Tea House in Columbia...delicious. Enjoyed breakfasts at Grounds...and loved the consighnment stores and shops! The staff at the Suites gave wonderful suggestions and directions. We were totally spoiled by the lattes in the morning along with fresh donuts. Thanks for a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
It is great to hear that the Dazzling Divas had such a good time in Murphys and with us. If you belong to a group that would like to get-a-way we provide services fro groups large and small. Please call to discuss the needs of your party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Enjoyed our week-end stay. 2-room suite was very clean, pleasantly enough furnished and spacious with 2 comfortable queen beds and adjoined sitting room, with TV in both rooms. Friendly staff. Donuts & Juice delivered to our door each morning was a nice convenience. Suite also has frig, microwave, hair dryer and coffee maker with supplies. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the layout of our rooms as well as our amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We come to Murphys from the East Bay usually 2-3 times a year for a winery event and have always stayed at another property. This time, they were booked full, but, lucky for us Murphys Suites was not. We got a room a kind of the last minute, got an AARP discount and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We took advantage of the pool (no one else was there) and will definitely remember the sauna next trip. Very friendly employees, extremely clean room with a fridge for our drinks. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I would ask for an odd numbered room, away from the highway. However, we were on the highway side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judiirich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoy our area wineries and return often. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Clean room. Very friendly folks. Very quiet. It was well appointed, but not fancy. Breakfast was included. Close to downtown and restaurants. Several wineries in the area. On the Ebbetts Pass scenic park way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miclee, Owner at Murphys Suites, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for the review. Ebbetts Pass is a wonderful drive with many scenic views and vistas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danville ca
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I wish there were a way to give two ratings for this hotel because they excelled in some areas and were a bit short in others. The manager, Mike, was so helpful in arranging their theatre under the stars package. The package includes discounted room, tickets to an outdoor show and pizzas to go from a local restaurant. He even had folding chairs for us to use for the evening if we didn't bring our own. The show was fantastic and the setting wonderful. An experience not to be missed.

The suite was clean and spacious, the pool was small but nice and the beach towels provided were not those oversize napkins you get at most places. The front desk was very helpful and pleasant and donuts were delivered to our room in the morning as promised. The housekeeping staff however did not make up our room which we discovered after a long day out, the room key had to be reset as it was only set for one night instead of two, and the donuts did not appear the second day. A bit of fine tuning on the details and this would be a perfect score. Murphys is a great weekend getaway and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
11.1 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
6.9 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
13.2 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Suites

Property: Murphys Suites
Address: 134 Highway 4, One block West of Main Street and Highway 4, Murphys, CA 95247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphys Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Murphys Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing