We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quick meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Firewood Cafe

Firewood Cafe
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great, quick meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Like an upscale Chipotle that serves pizza, Firewood Cafe is a great place to get a quick and tasty meal. We didn't try the pizza, but the burritos were very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    70
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
354 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Delicious Food at Fast Food Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

A local recommended the Firewood Cafe and said the fish tacos were especially good. The place filled up quickly at lunch time. We were amazed at the very reasonable prices. Our group tried the fish taco meal (fish taco with beans and rice), roasted vegetable tacos, a carnitas taco, and a tamale, The fish tacos were as good as promised. The roasted vegetable tacos were spicy and full of flavor, and the carnitas taco quickly disappeared. The tamale was a little bland, but salsa from the condiment bar soon fixed that. The cashier and woman working the floor were very nice and friendly, but we had to ask for two items of our order. The food was filling, but one person in our group, observing the fries that other patrons were eating, ordered french fries to go - and ended up with a lunch bag-sized bag full of fries. We're still enjoying them. We appreciated that a restaurant on the main street offered delicious food at very good prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pagesixtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lite eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Cold beer, Mexican food, very relaed atmosphere. Chicken tacos and whole beans, Firestone on tap...just what the dr. Ordered!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antioch_CaTraveldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“family place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a little above fast food. We had a group that included kids so this was a good choice for that The food was ok but not great, about what I expected for a serve yourself restaurant

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rom10_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokelumne Hill, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very good food .it had poor service because the place is always swamped. You get your money's worth of food and quality

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firewood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Firewood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing