We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little inn with charm!”
Review of White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White House
Ranked #16 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint little inn with charm!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just finished our stay at The White House Inn and loved it! It was very cute and the personal touches from Deborah and Lee (the managers) were great! Food was fantastic - not your standard continental breakfast! Fresh fruit, and home made breakfast goodies - warm and chilled. Rooms are beautiful. Only downfall was that the pool and hot tub looked in need of some major face lifts. Definitely will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at White House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. We are pleased that you had such a great stay at our downtown Napa boutique hotel and hope you'll return again soon. Your kind words about our breakfasts and goodies, and the personal service of our onsite team mean a lot. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    43
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
226
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very lovely place and friendly people. Clean facility. Close proximity to town. this Inn to any and all travelers. There were couples as well as families in this Inn when we were there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at White House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation. It means a lot. We hope you'll visit us in Napa again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This property was amazing!!!!! The architecture has a blend of modern touches that only accentuate the original beauty of the old. Having a swimming pool and hot tub in a beautiful back yard was a treat. Being within walking distance to downtown Napa made it perfect. You are also within walking distance to the Wine Train that I highly recommend. The breakfast was truly delightful and having the happy hour in the evening was great as well. The beds were VERY comfortable, rooms were very charming and cozy. B&B's are not our usual preference for accommodations, but this was one we would stay at again and again. The only negative thing I would have to mention is they are in the process of minor renovations to painting but it did not effect our stay what so ever. We happen to be there for a business retreat with 9 other couples, but when we wanted privacy, there were plenty of options to escape if we would have wanted to. Massage and other spa services just tied the bow on a perfect romantic Napa experience.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are more cozy with lower ceilings and cool architecture. first floor rooms were hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at White House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review and detailed description of all that a guest receives during a stay at our downtown Napa inn. You did a great job of outlining why we say you can "have it all" at the White House Inn & Spa! We are so pleased that your visit was so lovely and hope you come back again the next time you travel to wine country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa,FL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Loved everything about this place! The inn in very quaint and in a perfect location! I was referred by a friend who stayed many years ago, and of course the reviews were great, however I was still a bit hesitant knowing the inn keepers changed hands recently with limited reviews since, but it was just as great!! The cookies when you come in are delish, breakfast were good, room was much bigger than expected and very clean and plenty of parking. One review felt as though the inn was in a "bad" neighborhood, however my husband and I walked to downtown at night and felt very comfortable, not bad at all! Only thing that bothered us was there was construction going on to repair the porches (no biggie) but what was a big deal is no one told us, and we were unexpectedly woken up at 8am by hammering and men at our window (curtains were open as I wasn't expecting visitors on the second floor so they got a show I'm sure) again, understand works needs to be done, but would have liked to expect it and also it seemed as though they could have started at 9 instead of 8...it was vacation after all! But overall would def be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at White House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your detailed review and thoughts. We are so pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed our fresh-baked cookies and the service of our terrific innkeepers. We are glad you commented on our very convenient and storied location in downtown Napa, as we always hope guests will take advantage of walking to everything in the heart of town. We apologize for the construction noise during your stay. Please return after our upcoming winter renovation and things should be quiet for quite awhile! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent experience, great Breakfast, Friendly Innkeepers.
Very clean.
Room met all of my expectations, clean. Room with a view. Beautiful Magnolia trees, and nice sitting area outdoors.
Breakfast Buffet was a nice presentation with yogurt, fresh fruit,
Breads and Egg Benedict for Breakfast, and juice as well as coffee.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grandee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at White House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are so happy that you had a great time at our boutique Napa hotel and that you took advantage of our lovely outdoor spaces as well as our clean and comfy guest rooms. We appreciate your kind words about our breakfasts and friendly innkeepers. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Beyond our expectations we found the accommodations, service, and meals to be excellent.
Host and hostess greeted us in a professional manner, warm and friendly. Breakfast buffet offered a variety of options. Serving portions generous.

Happy hour was a delight with a nice assortment of crackers, delicious homemade cheese ball

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lovinglife2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at White House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It is always great to hear that we exceeded our guests expectations! Thank you for your review of our Napa boutique hotel. We appreciate your kind words and hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent two nights here whilst visiting Napa for wine tasting tour. Lovely inn with spacious rooms. Attractive house with relaxed, southern feel to it.
Pool in the garden - perfect to relax in whilst having wine and cheese, provided each evening.
Really good breakfast - different cooked option each day.
Only 5+ minutes walk to downtown Napa and yet feels very quiet and secluded.

Room Tip: Might be good to ask for a first floor room as the person above us got up early to do her exercises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at White House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Your thoughts truly encapsulate what we mean when we say we "have it all" in downtown Napa. We're so pleased that you made the most of our pool, wine and cheese hour and spacious, comfy rooms. Please visit our Napa inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#12 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Property: White House
Address: 443 Brown St, Napa, CA 94559-3349 (Formerly White House - Napa Valley Inn)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — White House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2016, White House offers the chance to have it all during your Napa Valley vacation. White House is a unique blend of downtown Napa inn and refreshingly modern wine country boutique hotel. We feature a relaxing, resort-style feel with lovely grounds, pool, and hot tub... but also offer walkable access to Napa's best restaurants, shops, tasting rooms, and night life. With a new, modern look and an old-style welcome, it truly is the best of both worlds. Our historic, 17-room boutique hotel features contemporary decor and stylish details - perfect for a Napa Valley getaway, downtown Napa vacation, anniversary or simply to get away. We know that life moves quickly -- as our guest, we invite you to slow down and drink it all in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Inn And Spa
White House Hotel Napa
White House Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing