We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with responsive management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Verasa Napa
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with responsive management”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and my in-laws stayed here Dec 23-Dec 26 2013. The restaurants, La Toque and the Bank, feature delicious food and very attentive staff. The property itself is very nice. The gym was under construction so a makeshift gym was set up in a conference room. For noise sensitive people dogs and the road could be a small issue, but they didn't bother us much.

There were a few issues but hotel management handled them well. SPG Platinum members are supposed to be upgraded to best available on check-in and we weren't. But when I submitted a complaint that evening to Starwood, a manager Levi called me to offer the upgrade and an apology. He handled it very well. At check-out the same woman who checked us in promised to give us 500 SPG points because my in-laws misunderstood and didn't use the breakfast vouchers the first day, but she never gave us the points. Again after I submitted feedback to Starwood, another manager Nathan emailed me to apologize and offer some points as goodwill.

In summary, a few small issues, but management handled them well. Beautiful hotel and fantastic food. Will definitely stay there next time we're in Napa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDas_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Front Office Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
BDas_13:

Thank you for the great review and feedback for all of our future guests and TripAdvisor readers. I know it was far from a perfect trip but it’s always great to hear that the final outcome was a positive experience. We have spoken with our team to provide your thoughts and some of the details that were missed during your stay should now be addressed.

I’m glad to hear that you’ll be back sometime in 2014, and we’ll look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    448
    123
    56
    47
See reviews for
251
672
24
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our first stay at the Westin Verasa and I cannot wait to come back! My job requires week;ly travel, so I have stayed in a lot of Starwood/Westin properties and this is by far one of my top favorite. Not only was the check-in staff helpful, but the valet staff was very accommodating as well as the 'house car' and the drive who gave us a coupon for a free appetizer for the restaurant we had reservations at! Due to our stay being over New Years and a big party going on downstairs, you would think it would be hectic/loud,...however the staff did a great job as not disturbing the guests! Our room was beautiful with a nice bathroom, kitchenette, and large balcony, there is nothing bad I can say about this place! The location was perfect walking distance to downtown Napa and a great location for driving up and down wine country.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Front Office Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hello RMH88:

Thank you for the great review and I’m glad you were able to come and enjoy bringing in the new year with us here in Napa. It sounds like you had a great trip around the valley and its probably one of my favorite times to be here in Napa.

I love to hear that we are on the top of your favorites list of Westin/Starwood properties, and we’ll hope to see you back sooner than later.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our first stay at the Westin Verasa Napa and we were very satisfied with our stay. We arrived early and while our room was not ready yet, Bri from the front desk called us to let us know when it was. She was extremely friendly and welcoming. We had a two bedroom room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The beds, linens and pillows were all excellent. The bathrooms were large and well laid out. The towels and amenities, water pressure and temperature were excellent. The kitchen had everything needed. It was a short walk to Oxbow Market and downtown Napa. We will definitely stay here again if ever in Napa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Front Office Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hello Eve G:

Thank you for the great review and awesome feedback for us and our TripAdvisor readers. It sounds like a great stay and a perfect way to enjoy the Napa Valley.

I know it’s a long trip over the Pacific to come to Napa but we’ll hope to see you back sooner than later.

Have a great 2014!

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Loved this Westin. We stayed here with another couple for easy access to both Napa and Sonoma. What a great place. The hotel was very clean with modern lobby and rooms. Valet parking was easy and returned your car quickly. Hotel has a pool which we didn't get to use, but seemed active. Restaurant and lounge were perfect for a small snack or quick lunch. They even did a small wine tasting in the afternoon each day.

Location was key. Not only is close for your wine adventures, its also walking distance to the Napa Wine train and Oxbow market. If you stay here, take a walk to Model Bakery for breakfast (outside of Oxbow market on McKinstry and 1st). All I'm going to say is a English Muffins....amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomMcKennaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Front Office Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
TomMcKennaNY:

Thank you for the great review and good feedback for us and our TripAdvisor readers. You give some great details and suggestions for all of our future guests and I 100% agree that one of our best amenities is our location. An easy walk to the Oxbow market, all of Downtown Napa and quick drive to access to the hundreds of vineyards of the Napa Valley.

Have a great 2014 and we’ll hope to see you back soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. I really like the fact that for a small fee, the valet parking, internet access, and bottled water is included with the stay. The valet was very efficient in bringing out our vehicle when we called. The front office staffs were all very friendly and courteous. We booked a two bedroom/two bath hotel room. It was spacious and very well equipped (full kitchen, X-box for the kids, microwave oven, dishwasher, etc). We really loved the luxurious amenities in the room. The bed was super comfortable. If I had to quibble, it would be the lack of a good spa/work-out area. I think the hotel was undergoing some renovation when we were there, so these amenities were lacking. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The location a couple of blocks away from "downtown Napa" was ideal. It was within easy walking distance to some of the prime dining spots in Napa (if you don't want to walk, the hotel does offer a free car service which we did not utilize on this trip). Its also pet friendly.

Room Tip: If traveling with a family, go for the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit. They are very spacious, comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Front Office Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Ppts:

Thank you for the review and sharing your experience with us and our TripAdvisor readers. It sounds like you had a good trip and the two bedroom suites are a great way to enjoy the property.

Also thank you for the feedback about the Westin Workout Fitness Studio and you were correct, we did just complete a full renovation of that space. We have all new equipment, new floors and we have completed refinishing half of the pool/spa areas. There is still a little bit more work to do but we are almost complete.

We look forward to having you back again soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We typically spend Christmas in Carmel by the Sea, but when our favorite cottage at the Lincoln Green Inn was booked, we decided to try Christmas in Napa, and we are very glad we did! We wanted a pet friendly property with a spacious enough room to be truly comfortable for a four night stay. We also wanted a kitchenette so that we didn't have to rely on restaurants for every meal. And we wanted a bit of elegance and holiday decor, too. The Westin Verasa and its fine staff delivered on our wish list quite nicely. Special commendation goes to Brittany at the front desk, who listened to my concerns about the location of the first room we were assigned. She identified an alternative room that would better meet our needs (direct exterior access for our special needs senior pooch), personally took me to see it, and then secured management's approval for the re-assignment. Her actions made all the difference for us, turning what could have been a frustrating, unhappy stay into a truly relaxing, enjoyable holiday break.

Room Tip: This is a large multi-level property with a variety of possible views. There can be a long walk from...
See more room tips
Green Features: We appreciate and endorse Westin's corporate wide initiatives related to wellness for the guest and the environment (especially their use of non-toxic pest control).
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie_RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Front Office Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello Laurie_RL:

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us and all of our TripAdvisor readers and it sounds like you had a great trip. From reading your list of requirements it seems our location checked all the necessary boxes and it worked out to be a very relaxing vacation.

I will be thanking Brittany for a job well done and we’ll hope that your able to make another visit to come stay with us sooner than later.

Have a great 2014!

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

SPG Gold Member and used points for a three night leisure stay. Arrived at noon on Saturday and room was ready for check in. Clerk was courteous and very informative as were the bell/valet attendants out front. Having called the hotel before our stay, I was aware of the room type used for points. (hotel website lacks this information but that is common for SPG) Room 1022 on the main floor was a short walk from the lobby and faced a very quiet courtyard. A tad on the small side but vaulted ceilings gave it a roomier feel. It was clean and well appointed to the Westin standards. Bathroom was a bit lacking in counter space but the dual head walk in shower was a pleasure to use. Typical king bed layout with a dresser, table and 2 chairs. Certainly sufficed for a place to sleep as intended for our busy trip.

Sat for a drink around 12:45 pm and the bar at The Bank in the lobby was deserted. What appeared to be a manager came over to serve us but struggled with finding the ingredients and was using a menu to mix the drinks. This took nearly 10 minutes as she left twice to find things she thought they were out of. Finally got our drinks and they were just okay. This set the tone for our expectations so it was our only interaction for food and drink in the hotel.

Valet only parking comes with in and out privileges and is included in the $20 per night resort fee. (As is WIFI) The valet/bell attendants were very efficient and friendly at every interaction. We give this group an A+. Mineral pool out back is heated but we did not use.

Location of the hotel is in great proximity to downtown Napa. We planned dinner each night in downtown and walked both ways all three nights. (roughly 15 minutes each way) It was nice not to worry about driving and parking and the streets all seemed very safe. The hotel does offer a complimentary car ride to and from downtown based on availability but we did not take advantage.

Reception in the lobby each night from 5-7 featured a local wine(s) and lite appetizer. This was a great way to mingle and enjoy the lobby. (which is beautifully done)

Overall a very nice stay and on par with the Westin experience. For location in the downtown area, wine train, Oxbow Market, etc. it cannot be beat. If you are looking for the more remote off the path, winery close Napa hotels, this may not suit your needs.

Aside from our bar experience, the only other thing we found challenging was the noise of the climate control. Even sleeping with white noise on in the room, we were woken by the heat turning on and off several times per night. This was a first for us for with a central air system but we would use earplugs upon return.

Would easily recommend and would return without question.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Front Office Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello Joski69:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us and our TripAdvisor readers such a detailed and great review about your recent visit to our property. We really appreciate both the positive feedback and the ideas for improvement.

It sounds like you had a great trip and I think you touched on the various highlights and touch points for all of our future guests.

We’ll hope to see you again on your next trip up from southern California, and have a great 2014.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Verasa Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Verasa Napa

Property: The Westin Verasa Napa
Address: 1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Green Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#8 Family Hotel in Napa
#11 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Verasa Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Verasa Napa is located downtown near the heart of Wine Country. Just steps from the famous Wine Train, our hotel has 5-star dining and 3,200+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Verasa Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Verasa, Napa Hotel Napa
Westin Hotel Verasa
Westin Hotel Napa
The Westin Verasa Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing