We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel with 5 Star restaurant on premises.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Verasa Napa
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Brand new hotel with Heavenly Beds in a reviving Napa downtown area. Like another reviewer wrote, we stayed at this hotel when it was newly opened after a week. The staff were all sweet and tried hard but definitely could used some training. I suspect with some experience under their belt, it will be fine. Other than the wait staff, this is a wonderful hotel and location for a romantic weekend. There's so much to do besides just wine tasting, like shopping, walking around the Copia, Bocci Ball. It's right next to the Wine Train and Oxbow Market. I love the prixe fixed lunches at Julia Child's restaurant or for a less expensive lunch, try Taylor's the hamburger joint. If you're a food junkie, like I am, the restaurant at the hotel is soooooooo delicious. I think it's probably pricey (we didn't pay) but it's worth it I was amazed because we were part of a very large group and everything was sooooo good. I forgot to mention that breakfast there was also terrific. Not your regular pancakes and bacon. There is too much to do for the short time we were there so we're definitely having to plan another trip soon.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank apickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Hello Apickytraveler,

Thank you so much for providing a little bit about your stay back in October of 2008 and I know our team loved all the feedback about your experience. We appreciated all the information we received at that time and we would love to hear about any updates on more recent stays you may have had.

If you have any future plans to visit the area please let us know about them and we hope to see you back again soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,363 - 1,369 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2008

We recently stayed there too and really enjoyed it. The location offers a convenient base to explore Napa Valley, but also many fun places to walk to (Oxbow Market, Copia, many wine tasting rooms, shops, restaurants in downtown Napa). Being right on the Napa River is quite unique. The property is really nice (Westin style and amenities) and relaxing. We also got upgraded to a 1-bedroom suite overlooking the pool courtyard, which was wonderful (there are some rooms overlooking the road that would not be as nice). La Toque is one of the best restaurants in Napa (Michelin star). As a brand new hotel, I can see how some things are not fully ironed out, but we were treated very well by the staff. Westin Verasa is our new favorite place to splurge on in Napa!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank stanfordprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Hello Stanfordprof,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us a review of your stay with us back in October of 2008 and we truly appreciate all the great feedback you provided at that time. It meant a lot to the team after opening the hotel to get all the information they could on what was going well, what needed improvement and we appreciate your insight.

I know it's been 7.5 years but we would love to hear your thoughts if you find yourself back in our area again.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Tried to book a last minute stay in Napa during Crush & our favorite (Carneros Inn) was booked along with all other nicer hotels. Decided to to give this new hotel a shot & were glad we did! After reading last review I just had to post as our experience was completely different! Arrived 10/3/08 & departed 10/9/08. Staff was so polite, pleasant, and accomdating at all times! They truly went out of their way to say hello & offer to help. We arrived early & were upgraded to 1 bdrm suite. Room had free basket of snacks, great view of pool, and was never stayed in before! There was a stocked kitchenette with fridge which was great for our wine & cheese we bought as it had knives, wine opener etc.
Napa has nice sun but a bit chilly for me to swim, though we did enjoy the HUGE hot tub by the pool which was in fact very hot.
One of our favorite restaurants, La Toque moved to the premises & we had a fabulous meal there. We ate there on Wed nite which was slower, although everyone else was eating inside, they still offered us dinner on the covered patio and sat us right by the fireplace which they started up just for us along with the heaters. Both the dinner and the atmosphere were absolutely fabulous! A must do even if you stay elsewhere!
The hotel was only 2 weeks old so of course there were a few minor & rapidly fixed gaffs--one day our room wasn't made up even though we were out early & not back til 4:30. When I reported & told them we wanted to rest before dinner, they offered to do at my convenience when we left for dinner. They forgot extra toilet paper 1x which again was easily fixed with an apology & a smile, etc, etc.
Hotel was so conveniently located--within walking distance (they do have a car too) to many Napa restaurants & the Oxbow market & a great burger place are just a few steps away.
We truly enjoyed our stay & will be back! Was it 5 star, no & not supposed to be but I'd give it 4 & think they are doing a great job for a new hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eastcoastgal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Hello Eastcoastgal01,

Thank you for such an amazing review and it sounds like you had a great trip back in 2008. La Toque is still one of the top restaurants in the Napa Valley and is the only Michelin starred restaurant in the town of Napa.

I know it's been a few years since your review just after we opened and we would love to hear about all aspects of a future visit.

Thank you again and we'll look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

My wife and I didn't have time for a honeymoon after our wedding in the Napa Valley, but we did want to take a couple of days to relax before heading back home. As a happy SPG member, I opted to spend 10,000 points per night for a couple nights at this brand new hotel, and it was certainly worth it. The only real problem we had was with the check-in process, and that was extremely frustrating. Other than that, there are some teething problems, without question, but they'll get them worked out and this place will be a steal if you're using points.

Before we arrived, I called the hotel to see if we could use more points to reserve a suite. The agent was very nice and said that since it was our mini-honeymoon and I was SPG Gold, they'd give us a guaranteed upgrade to a suite without an extra charge. Great start.

We arrived at about 2p exhausted from our wedding weekend and gave our car to the valet (it's complimentary). We walked in to find ourselves in a line about 15 people deep. Apparently a group of people have arrived just before us. Now since I was SPG Gold, I tried to find a dedicated check-in line to use, but I was told that everyone in front of me was also SPG. Yeah, right.

During this time, Brett the bellhop did his best to keep us happy, and he deserves a lot of credit (as I saw in another review here). In fact, the bell staff was excellent in general. But we were barely moving toward the desk, and it appeared that none of the people in front of us were in rooms that were ready. So, I'm not sure what took so long. I also noticed as we got closer that very few of the people were SPG members, because the person at the desk kept trying to sign people up for it. That made me very angry, and I was not happy when I finally made it to the front of the line maybe 20+ minutes after we got there.

We were checked in by the manager on duty and she did not apologize once. She also said our room wasn't ready and there was no other room available for us to have instead. This was despite the fact that the bell staff had mentioned that they weren't expecting to be that full on this Sunday night. We were told to come back in an hour and a half, a good 45 minutes past the check-in time.

After this experience, our stay only got better. When we returned to see if our room was ready, there must have been a shift change, and the new person at the desk apologized profusely for our room not being ready. That's what the manager should have done in the first place. The bell staff delivered our bags promptly to our room.

The room itself was very nice and of course, brand new. It was a one bedroom suite with very high ceilings, a kitchen, and flat screen TVs in both rooms. The master bath had a separate shower and tub and there was also another bathroom in the entry way. At this point, all we wanted to do was lay down, watch a movie, and sleep.

Of course, as mentioned before, there is no on-demand system for movies here despite the fact that the TV remote has buttons for it. That was annoying, so we called the desk and asked about dinner. The concierge was very helpful and suggested a couple options of places we could order from. We decided to go to the concierge to see the menus, and she offered to have the hotel car take us to pick it up. We asked about movies, and she apologized while telling us where the Hollywood Video was if we wanted to rent. (There's an XBOX 360 in the room on which you can play DVDs.) So, we went out, grabbed a couple movies and some food and slept well.

The next day, the TVs started to pixelate on the HD channels and those channels were effectively unwatchable. That never ended up getting fixed, but we didn't bother trying. We did use the free wi-fi which was nice, but it was extremely slow to the point where we gave up. Oddly, a bellboy came to the room with a card and bottle of champagne saying it was from the hotel when in fact it was from my parents. Kind of strange, but I suppose it's easy enough for him to have been confused.

We didn't use the fitness center, but we did use the pool. As noted, the surprisingly large jacuzzi was warm at best but not worth staying for very long. My wife forgot a rubber band for her hair, so I called to see if they had one. Instead of offering to find one, they just said they didn't. Then a bellboy arrived with some very thick standard rubber bands saying that it was the best they could find. That was a nice effort, and since this isn't exactly a Ritz or Four Seasons, I wouldn't have expected more.

When we checked out, everyone was again very nice, and the bell staff we had seen originally were very careful to congratulate us, including the concierge who went out of her way to say goodbye.

Overall, it was a very good stay despite some of the teething problems. My only true complaint was the way check-in was handled, but without that, this would have been a much better experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crankyflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Hello Crankyflier,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us and all of our Trip Advisor readers such detailed feedback about your honeymoon stay back in 2008. Your reviews detail was exactly the type of information that we needed to get some of the kinks worked out and over the past 7.5 years I think we are almost there.

If you find yourself traveling back to the area we would love an update on a future experience and hope that you're able to make a trip sooner than later.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Short Version:
Room: Not clean at check-in
Pool: Freezing
Hot Tub: Warm at best
Room: Nice to have a kitchenette
Tv: Not functional, even after a maintenance visit
Service: Staff needs more training

We booked a night at the Westin Verasa to enjoy swimming in the hot Napa sun, order room service, and watch an On Demand movie. We almost struck out on all 3 accounts.

The pool was extremely cold and the hot tub was was probably 75-80 degrees at the most. The flat screen television in our room was broken; it kept freezing in mid-program. A maintenance worker came and replaced a computer chip in the tv. We asked him to activate the On Demand system and he instead instructed us on the proper use of the remote control. We asked him to check to make sure it was working. Once he confirmed that there was no On Demand service, he made a call and then informed us that the On Demand system was not working hotel-wide. We returned from dinner, switched on our "fixed" tv, and found that it was still not funcional.

We were moved to a new room at 8:15PM. En route to the new room, another bell hop asked why we were moving. After we told him the tv didn't work, he said "That sucks". We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite. It was a good thing the new room was a suite, because only 1 of the 2 televisions was working. The tv in the bedroom was totally dead... so much for watching tv from the comfort of a Heavenly Bed.

After we were finally settled for the night I called room service and ordered 2 desserts from the dessert menu from the hotel bar. The woman that answered the room service line took the order without hesitation. About 5 minutes later she called our room confused and asked where I had seen mention of the desserts I'd ordered. After correcting my pronunciation of the hotel restaurant, the woman confirmed my order. There were at least 2 other instances of the staff's lack of training. In both of the other cases the staff guessed at the responses to our questions rather than checking with someone to make sure they were correct. This may be pretty typical stuff for a new hotel, but we figured that the Westin would have offered pretty intensive training and brought in some well trained staff from other hotels.

We were disappointed. Next time we'll probably stay at the River Terrace Inn. It is less expensive, has similar decor and some better amenities (including spa tubs), less pretense, and far better service.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blazingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Hello Blazingal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share a little bit about your stay with us shortly after we opened back in 2008 and I would also like to apologize for all the issues you encountered. We were clearly a little less polished than we would have hoped and although mistakes can happen it's never good when our services is lacking in so many areas.

Napa, our hotel and our services have made some huge improvements over the past 7.5 years and we would love for you to come back and give us another chance if you find yourself back in our area.

Once again our apologies and we'll look forward to having you back again sooner than later.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We booked our stay through expedia.com which apparently gave us a great rate -- as we were told by the hotel staff. The hotel itself is impressive -- beautiful lobby and swimming area (although we did not have time to use it). They have just opened their doors and they are really making the extra effort to get the kinks out and to accommodate your every need. I would definitely encourage you to ask for a free upgrade to see if they have anything. Also, be careful which room you get. Our room faced the generator and the constant humming was bit annoying. Also, in the middle of the night we heard the a few trucks collecting trash and things.

We were put in upgrade becaue the bell hop brought us to the wrong room, so we decided to stay in the room because it was a suite. The bathtub was great, as was the shower. The room had a nice fridge and a kitchenettte, which seemed nice to have -- we atleast used the fridge. The bed is a bit firm for my taste, but maybe it is because it is so new. They have flat screen tvs and iclock that you can plug your ipod into. The speakers aren't that, but I thought it was not a nice touch. The rooms also come with free wireless acess and free limosine service (but of course you have to tip the guy).

I have never stayed at another hotel in napa, but I thing staying here for two days was quite nice and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cubalibre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinNapa_CA, Manager at The Westin Verasa Napa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Hello Cubalibre3,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us a review when we opened back in 2008 and I wanted to tell you that we really do appreciate all your feedback.

I know over the past few years things have changed quite a bit around the town but if you find yourself back in the area we would love to have you give us another visit and share a little bit about your experience.

Thank you again and we'll look forward to a future visit.

Be well,
Nathan Baslaw
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,132 reviews
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
2 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Verasa Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Verasa Napa

Address: 1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Green Hotel in Napa
#7 Family Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#11 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £179 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Verasa Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Verasa Napa is located downtown near the heart of Wine Country. Just steps from the famous Wine Train, our hotel has 5-star dining and 3,200+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Verasa Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Verasa, Napa Hotel Napa
Westin Hotel Verasa
Westin Hotel Napa
The Westin Verasa Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing