We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, questionable customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Verasa Napa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great property, questionable customer service”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

The Westin Verasa Resort in Napa is a beautiful property in a very convenient location. The property is very elegant and is typical of most Westin properties. However as a Starwood member I was very dissappointed with the service I received. First, I was ignored at the front desk even though there were several employees available. After I made my presence completely obvious, they made excuses for ignoring us. Not a big deal, but combined with the rest of the problems it was typical of my experience.

I paid extra for a one-bedroom suite with a balcony, and the room was great. However, when I went out on the balcony, my view was of two massive air conditioning units that were blowing full blast my whole stay. Since I informed them that this was a special occasion I thought it was totally inconsiderate.

Also, eating in the restaurant was a mixed bag. The food was great, but they were out of several items on the menu and it took over 10 minutes to get a waiter to come over to our table.

One more thing. Room service stops at 11PM. If you are a night owl like me, you better plan ahead.

In my opinion, this is a beautiful property but the customer service side needs much improvement. If you can deal with that you will be fine.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    443
    119
    55
    47
See reviews for
246
664
24
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Flew in from Minneapolis to San Fran-stayed at the Clift where the noise of the streets and the less than perfect staff live up to their names. Down to the Wharf for crab, and then on our way to Napa to the Westin where I would spend the next 24 hours with severe food poisoning. Missed all of Saturday, wine tour and picnic with my friends to celebrate my 40th b-day. As ill as I was, and I was quite sick...I am SO THANKFUL to have been at the Westin!!! Truly a wonderful, peaceful, relaxing, enjoyable and rejuvenating experience. A TRULY SUPERB staff!!! A special thanks to Eugene for the chicken soup! The atmosphere is warm, inviting, & comfortable. Thank you for helping me make the best of it all!!!! Dibs on a redo, less the crabby cakes. XO Elisa :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We recently stayed for 2 days at the Westin in Napa, Ca. Our stay was perfect in every way!! The hotel is very new and is a beautiful property located near downtown Napa, along the river(to the back of the property) and across from the wine train station. It was easy to walk down the block to restaurants, The Oxbow Market, and even to the downtown Main St. area where all the restaurants and many wine tasting rooms are.
I booked our stay through Hotels.com and got the best value ($189-midweek) for the Deluxe King Room with a kitchenette. The Traditional Room doesn't have the kitchenette. We saw the 1 bedroom with a FULL kitchen and it was very spacious!!
Room:
We had a pool view room on the 3rd floor. It was very plush, clean, and beautifully decorated in earth tones. The heavenly bed was so comfortable. The room had a small sofa, coffee table, small table with 2 chairs, 4 drawer dresser with flat screen TV (movies were pricey- $15.99), I- Rise clock radio- I-Pod player, in room safe (complimentary use), closet (robes to use). The bathroom had black granite countertops and slate wall in the shower. All the bathroom amenities- hair dryer, hair products, make up mirror, large mirror on the wall. The best feature was the kitchenette. It had a small fridge, 2 burner cooktop, small dishwasher, and the cabinets were stocked with everything to cook with- utensils, toaster, pans, blender etc. There was a one cup drip coffee maker with Starbucks coffee that was complimentary. The fridge had 6 sodas and there were goodies/snacks on the dresser, however, those were all for purchase. The counter tops were also black granite.
Pool:
The pool area was very nice!! The hot tub was large. There were about 8 cabanas with soft padded loungers and other lounge chairs around with pool towels on each. There was drink service out at the pool.
Lobby and Service:
The entrance and lobby are beautifully decorated. The restaurant/bar is there and the doors are all glass and open up to the pool area. It makes the lobby open-air style like I've seen in Hawaii. I didn't eat at the restaurant, nor did I eat at La Toque Restaurant that resides at the Westin now. It is one of the finer restaurants in town and very pricey, but highly rated!! You can have 2-5 course dinners there with wine pairings. Outside near the pool were sitting areas with a beautiful water feature/fire pit. The service was great and all staff very accommodating and friendly from everyone we encountered!!
Other Amenities:
There is a business center with use of the computer internet and copy machine, and also free wireless in the rooms. The small fitness center had free weights and plenty of machines. There is a workout walking path the hotel has established with cards that show you the route.
Close by:
Soscol is the main street running in front of the hotel. To the right on Soscol you will find Walmart and a Safeway, Ross, Trader Joes etc -turn left on Trencas Ave.-5 minutes by car. To the left on Soscol, there is a Super Target, Dennys, I-Hop, Banks and assorted other stores- 5 minutes by car. Also it is an easy jount up Hwy 29, the main wine road or over to the Silverado Trail. Also golf is nearby at Napa Kennedy Park and not too much further to Chardonnay Club or Eagle Vines Golf Clubs.
We were so very pleased with our accommodations and experience that we would stay there again and highly recommend this property!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I have to express my shock and dismay that travelers are not giving the Westin Napa a five star average across the board.

My wife and I do quite a lot of traveling for business and also during our free time as we enjoy adventuring.

From start to finish the Westin Napa was very enjoyable. It is an awesome location and super close to all the the city has to offer. You can walk to the Oxbow public market which has everything from a tasty bakery and oyster bar to a kiosk where you can rent bikes and kayaks. Historic downtown Napa with all of it's boutiques, delicious restaurants, bars and shopping is only a few short blocks walking distance from these spectacular digs.

The facility itself is organic, modern and classy but very comfortable and in no way pretentious. We did not eat at Ken Frank's world famous La Toque (recently relocated to the hotel) this time around but have in the past. The new La Toque is gorgeous and we would highly recommend it. When the wife and I dined there a year or so ago, we found it to be one of the top culinary experiences of our lifetime and we are quite the foodies. Though we did not swim in the beautiful pool or take a leisurely nap in the resort style cabanas, or play a game of bocce ball, or in anyway take advantage of the many outdoor spaces the Westin has to offer, we were very impressed at the thoughtful layout as we walked the grounds.

Our light, bright and spacious studio room was very well appointed. We were on the South (???) side of the hotel closest to the bend in the river and the Ox Bow Public Market. We sipped fresh cups of Starbucks coffee (available in your room) from our balcony on multiple mornings while we soaked up the tranquil river and mountain views. The beds are indeed Heavenly as are the shower heads, plush towels and robes. We had no need for the in room safe, but thought it was a great idea for those that have that need. We loved the large LCD television (super picture) and used the in room X-box to watch a few episodes of Entourage. It was great that the Westin had a fully stocked kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, utensils, plates, stove, fridge, etc.) and we used it to reheat some yummy leftovers and create a few wine oriented appetizers and prepare some fixings for our picnic.

The Westin concierge was wonderful and made delightful recommendations for dinner and shared with us some of her favorite wineries and experiences around the area. We felt like she really listened to us and got a good feel for who we are and what we were looking to enjoy, as we thoroughly enjoyed all her suggestions. The other Westin staff team were also equally attentive and knowledgeable about the local area and more importantly the hotel itself. I called the front desk on at least three occasions with questions about the TV, dvd player, room service and check out procedures. Each time I spoke to the front desk they were fast, friendly, polite and I honestly felt trying to make our experience memorable.

You will find the Westin Napa Verasa to be gorgeous, convenient, well appointed, wonderfully staffed and a great value for your money. We have highly recommended this hotel to our friends, family and fellow TripAdvisors.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karma1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philaldelphia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

The only place to stay in Napa that offers beautiful, spacious, well appointed rooms coupled with courteous very friendly staff. Walking distance to downtown Napa and very easy drice to all the Napa action!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brudad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I was here this past weekend for a bachelorette party and I must say that the staff was amazing at dealing with us. When we were making too much noise in our suite, they moved us into the lobby to continue our bachelorette party without bothering other guests (they also offered us an alternate room, with a cleaning fee- which we declined). The suite was large and beautiful and had the most amazing shower ever. My bed was so comfy that I didn't even mind sharing. The hotel was amazing about getting us anything we needed from champagne glsases to extra towels. They have a huge and very nice hot tub. Even though our room was very expensive, I think it was really worth it for the outsize service and beautiful room. If I could afford it, I would stay here whenever I'm in napa!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykatherine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2009

The room and grounds of this hotel are very beautiful. Though i was annoyed with the mandatory $20 a day fee for "activities". This includes vallet parking which was more annoying than anything else when there is ample street parking. I would rather get my own car than wait for it. The bacce ball courts were also a discrace since the balls were all broken and several were missing. If you are going to charge the fee, keep up with it. But the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were big. Plus the double headed showers were a nice surprise.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikefuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Verasa Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Verasa Napa

Property: The Westin Verasa Napa
Address: 1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Green Hotel in Napa
#8 Family Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#11 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Verasa Napa 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Verasa Napa is located downtown near the heart of Wine Country. Just steps from the famous Wine Train, our hotel has 5-star dining and 3,200+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Verasa Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Verasa, Napa Hotel Napa
Westin Hotel Verasa
Westin Hotel Napa
The Westin Verasa Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing