We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house - good breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #19 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Celeste greated us and gave us all sorts of tips on the valley. Her recommendation for dinner - Uva - was right on. Her house is beautiful and they had to work really hard to keep it so well. Our room (Tuscanny) was cool and quiet. We would go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Overall, this is a good choice for convenient and consistent accommodations within walking distance of the Uptown Theater. We stayed in the Verdi Room, which is at the top of a narrow and curved stairway, which I would not recommend for older visitors or anyone with balance issues toting a suitcase.

Other reviewers have remarked both positively or negatively about the envelopes at the front door. This is not a hotel. So, I can understand the owner(s) not sitting there waiting for early or late arrivals. But, it is interesting to arrive at an old ornate building with a creaky staircase and not see anyone. I was waiting for Barnabas Collins of the old Dark Shadows TV show to appear once the sun went down.

Our room was very clean and nicely decorated with antique furnishings and a very comfortable bed. Understandable for an old building, water pressure in the shower was not the best - a problem that could be made somewhat better by changing the shower head to a Speakman Anystream with the restrictor (old models) or internal O ring (newer models) removed.

The room even had its own Tommyknocker! That's what we call porcelain dolls, which used to freak out our daughter when she was very young. There are Tommyknockers downstairs in the living room as well.

While we didn't use it, there appears to be wireless web access. We didn't use our fireplace or the window mounted air conditioner either. The rooms have only a small clock radio and no TV (perhaps in keeping with the intended ambiance). There is also a coffee maker.

There's complimentary wine set out in the evening and breakfast is served at 9:15 AM. The coffee is very good. The quiche type dish served was unremarkable.

Because of the reasonable price, nice accommodations (especially the comfy bed) and location, we'll probably return.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank FlatbushFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

IF: You want to spend the end of your long day of wine tasting rocking and relaxing on the front porch, THIS is your Bed and Breakfast...
IF: You want to surround yourself with four-poster beds, antique chandeliers, exquisite coffered ceilings and old world charm, THIS is your Bed and Breakfast...
IF: You want to enjoy your breakfast courses at a "real" dining room table, THIS is your Bed and Breakfast...
IF: You want to feel like you are "part of the family" and not just a guest, THIS is your Bed and Breakfast...
Thank you Celeste and Bruce for your addition to a memorial birthday!
Jennifer, Punta Gorda Florida

Room Tip: The Carducci Room or the Verdi Room
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank jenniferalaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Well, needless to say our check-in experience at the McClelland-Priest was a first. No one was there to greet us. No one was around to show us the property. There was absolutely no one on the premises. What we found was an envelope outside the front door with communication from the owner, Celeste. Not real friendly if you ask me, and not exactly what we were expecting when we booked our room.

The wine service was located at the Innkeepers wine shop, Uncorked, a short walk away near the Oxbow Public Market. It would have been nice if they had a little something for us weary travelers at the hotel. (Forget about wine and cheese at the B&B. You're not getting anything.) Maybe some bottled water. How about a cookie for dessert? Nope, the only thing set out in the evening was a bowl of bite size Hershey's chocolates.

The main structure is beautiful. The converted carriage house that we rented looked like it was put together in the 70's updated in the 80's with a mauve faux finish paint job and a few new tapestries (made in China) added in the last decade. The headboard was beautiful, but the bed was very uncomfortable. The television didn't work and guess what - there was no one to call to find out how to fix it. (My husband is a huge sports fan and wanted to find out what was going on with basketball's March Madness results.)

The breakfast was okay, but nothing to brag about: a small helping of fruit/yogurt/cereal and a hash brown casserole with salsa. At breakfast some of the guests were complaining about the heat or lack of heat in their rooms in the main building. Others had to look for their own toiletries. (At least our room had toiletries.)

Would I go back? No. Unfortunately we have had better customer service at chain hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I have stayed there twice. Our first visit was in 2009 in April. We had never been to Napa before. It was a great location. We could walk to downtown Napa. Celeste had our map and keys ready for us when we arrived. Each morning after a delicious breakfast, she would suggest wineries for us to stop by. This was really helpful because there are so many wineries and we had no idea where to start.

When we went back in July of 2011, we know we would stay there again. By this time, she and her husband had their tasting room opened. It was a great experience. We love The McClelland-Priest because of the hospitality, location and price. Overall, it is a wonderful experience and we will stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Puccini Suite the first time. We stayed in The Firenze Suite in July. The Firenze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Celeste and Bruce are extremely knowledgable and connected in the valley. As others have mentioned, we arrived before official check-in time but an envelope was on the porch with tons of information including a map of Napa Valley with wineries circled indicating that Celeste had worked out either comp tastings or 2 for 1 tastings.
Breakfast was delicious and a great way to start a day of tasting. I had never eaten yogurt before but ate it every day here!
we stayed for 3 nights. 1 night in the Puccini Suite and 2 nights in the Carducci Suite. The Carducci suite was great! nice, comfy king size bed, high
ceilings.
The inn has a Victorian look and feel, similar to the decor you would expect to see at a Newport, RI mansion. We highly recommend McClelland-Priest!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDRedSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Celeste had our keys waiting for us with a portfolio of maps, tour books, and coupons to various wineries even before our check-in time! The house is very elegant and comfortable. We stayed in the Firenze which had its own outside patio with chairs and table. Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were freshly prepared by Celeste and her husband Bruce. After eating each morning, they would help all of the guests build an itinerary taylored to their own likes. They were a wealth of knowledge and all of the wineries they recommended were not only good, but all offered a deal to guests of the B&B! Also, after a day of tasting, we were able to leave the car at the inn and walk into town to any of the restaurants and tasting rooms in Napa. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to staying again. This was such a gem!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msjj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.7 mi away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Napa Inn
The Napa Inn
#13 of 22 in Napa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cedar Gables Inn
Cedar Gables Inn
#18 of 22 in Napa
363 reviews
3.9 mi away
Silverado Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
La Belle Epoque
La Belle Epoque
#14 of 22 in Napa
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 569 Randolph St, Napa, CA 94559-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: £118 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mcclelland-Priest Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Mcclelland-Priest Hotel Napa
The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing