We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Meritage Resort and Spa(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$389
US$294
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SENZA Hotel(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napa Winery Inn(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$270
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vino Bello Resort(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$416
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Valley Lodge(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Napa(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$748
US$611
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$211
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Napa Valley(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
193
29
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
29
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastb bwine tastingquiet streetclose to downtowncelestekeys
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We initially were supposed to stay at the McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast for two nights last month (May 2012) when we visited Napa from Canada. We had such an amazing time there that we ended up booking an extra night. Celeste was incredibly welcoming and accommodating to us and we couldn't have asked for a better hostess. For the first two nights we stayed in the Firenze Suite which was really great. It had it's own balcony and was very roomy. For the third night we were in the Carducci Suite which was even more amazing and just simply gorgeous. The rooms were very clean, the breakfasts were delicious and all the little extra touches were definitely noticed and appreciated (especially the two for one wine tastings at various wineries and the complimentary wine in the evening). The location was so close to everything in downtown Napa that we walked everywhere from the B&B within minutes. We had a wonderful time and are planning on returning again to stay at the McClelland-Priest.

Room Tip: If you want a lot of space, choose the Carducci Suite. If you want a private balcony, choose the Firenze Suite.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Celeste greated us and gave us all sorts of tips on the valley. Her recommendation for dinner - Uva - was right on. Her house is beautiful and they had to work really hard to keep it so well. Our room (Tuscanny) was cool and quiet. We would go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Overall, this is a good choice for convenient and consistent accommodations within walking distance of the Uptown Theater. We stayed in the Verdi Room, which is at the top of a narrow and curved stairway, which I would not recommend for older visitors or anyone with balance issues toting a suitcase.

Other reviewers have remarked both positively or negatively about the envelopes at the front door. This is not a hotel. So, I can understand the owner(s) not sitting there waiting for early or late arrivals. But, it is interesting to arrive at an old ornate building with a creaky staircase and not see anyone. I was waiting for Barnabas Collins of the old Dark Shadows TV show to appear once the sun went down.

Our room was very clean and nicely decorated with antique furnishings and a very comfortable bed. Understandable for an old building, water pressure in the shower was not the best - a problem that could be made somewhat better by changing the shower head to a Speakman Anystream with the restrictor (old models) or internal O ring (newer models) removed.

The room even had its own Tommyknocker! That's what we call porcelain dolls, which used to freak out our daughter when she was very young. There are Tommyknockers downstairs in the living room as well.

While we didn't use it, there appears to be wireless web access. We didn't use our fireplace or the window mounted air conditioner either. The rooms have only a small clock radio and no TV (perhaps in keeping with the intended ambiance). There is also a coffee maker.

There's complimentary wine set out in the evening and breakfast is served at 9:15 AM. The coffee is very good. The quiche type dish served was unremarkable.

Because of the reasonable price, nice accommodations (especially the comfy bed) and location, we'll probably return.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank FlatbushFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

IF: You want to spend the end of your long day of wine tasting rocking and relaxing on the front porch, THIS is your Bed and Breakfast...
IF: You want to surround yourself with four-poster beds, antique chandeliers, exquisite coffered ceilings and old world charm, THIS is your Bed and Breakfast...
IF: You want to enjoy your breakfast courses at a "real" dining room table, THIS is your Bed and Breakfast...
IF: You want to feel like you are "part of the family" and not just a guest, THIS is your Bed and Breakfast...
Thank you Celeste and Bruce for your addition to a memorial birthday!
Jennifer, Punta Gorda Florida

Room Tip: The Carducci Room or the Verdi Room
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank jenniferalaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Well, needless to say our check-in experience at the McClelland-Priest was a first. No one was there to greet us. No one was around to show us the property. There was absolutely no one on the premises. What we found was an envelope outside the front door with communication from the owner, Celeste. Not real friendly if you ask me, and not exactly what we were expecting when we booked our room.

The wine service was located at the Innkeepers wine shop, Uncorked, a short walk away near the Oxbow Public Market. It would have been nice if they had a little something for us weary travelers at the hotel. (Forget about wine and cheese at the B&B. You're not getting anything.) Maybe some bottled water. How about a cookie for dessert? Nope, the only thing set out in the evening was a bowl of bite size Hershey's chocolates.

The main structure is beautiful. The converted carriage house that we rented looked like it was put together in the 70's updated in the 80's with a mauve faux finish paint job and a few new tapestries (made in China) added in the last decade. The headboard was beautiful, but the bed was very uncomfortable. The television didn't work and guess what - there was no one to call to find out how to fix it. (My husband is a huge sports fan and wanted to find out what was going on with basketball's March Madness results.)

The breakfast was okay, but nothing to brag about: a small helping of fruit/yogurt/cereal and a hash brown casserole with salsa. At breakfast some of the guests were complaining about the heat or lack of heat in their rooms in the main building. Others had to look for their own toiletries. (At least our room had toiletries.)

Would I go back? No. Unfortunately we have had better customer service at chain hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews