We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We All Need a Little Napa After Visiting San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #19 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We All Need a Little Napa After Visiting San Francisco”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

August 2013 - Our family stayed for two nights and we have stayed there three times prior. Why? The operation is first class and their prices are reasonable. The owners, Celeste & Bruce, are well-connected for wine-tastings and can recommend great restaurants. Their breakfasts are always delicious and in the afternoon/evening, they provide a selected local wine for tasting with chocolates.

Location-wise, they are in the City of Napa and very close to many activities without the need to get into your car. After a day of tasting, it is very handy not to drive anywhere else.

Bottom-line, I would highly recommend staying at the McClelland-Priest. Visit the winery and outer restaurants during the day and enjoy the City of Napa during the evening. Oh yes, don't forget to visit their wine bar UnCorked - many times they have a band playing while everyone is drinking wine. It's wonderful.

Room Tip: If you have more than two people in one room, they can only accommodate up to four people; two in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    29
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
137
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for two nights on a recent trip to NAPA. We called ahead and spoke with Celeste, the proprietor. We were arriving early, so she told us she would leave a packet for us on the front porch. We got a parking place directly in front and found the packet. It contained keys to the front door and to our room It also had a note from Celeste, map of the area, and reviews of local attractions, with her personal recommendations. We followed the map down to the waterfront, a few blocks away, and found a great restaurant for lunch, Fish Story. After lunch we walked to the Oxbow District, and shopped in the Oxbow Public Marketplace. We then walked across the street to Uncorked, a home with a wine tasting parlor. This is owned by Celeste and her husband. Wine tasting is complimentary to the B&B guests, and were were given a free bottle of wine to take home. The breakfasts at the B&B were prepared by Celeste and her staff, and were very good. We highly recommend this place and intend to return on our next trip to Napa.

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay. A short walk to the Wine Train and the Oxbow District.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Used it on a business trip so not really as intended. I was in the Puccini suite, which, like the rest of the place, is lavishly decorated in a way that some will like, others find over-the-top. Breakfast isn't till 9:15, so not really useful for the business traveler. Two problems:
- Going upstairs after dark it’s HARD to get into your room, no light switches seem to work either in the hall or inside the door of the room, eventually I found a table lamp by the light of my phone.
- The big high bed with stairs to climb up to it was shaky and squeaky, not the thing I think if you had romance in mind.
Decent price for Napa.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. Like other posters said, we were greeted not by a person but by an envelope at the front door with a key to the room, a list of wineries that we could get discounts to, and a map of the valley. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. It had a nice charm to it. We could easily walk to downtown Napa. You receive a pass to their wine-tasting room along with a free bottle. We used it several days later (we stayed with relatives) and they still honored it. We also brought our in-laws and the gentleman working comped their tasting too. I was very pleased with their service. The breakfast was good but only served at one time slot. Celeste was extremely friendly and spoke with each couple for a while. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The package is a great value proposition as a hearty breakfast, premium reserve tastings (can be hit-or-miss) and a complimentary bottle from Oxbow are included with stay. The beautiful historic building is well situated to the vibrant downtown Napa and is a great place to recharge after a day of tastings. Highly recommended.

Celeste also resolved a booking mishap as a consummate professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ds1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed in the Firenze room. We arrived during the 3 - 6 pm check-in window indicated on our Expedia reservation and were greeted by a welcome envelope containing our room key and a wealth of maps and information about the Napa area. The room was clean and comfortable but there was no way to ventilate other than opening the door to the generously furnished patio. There is a window air conditioner but I am scent sensitive and needed to keep the door open whenever we were in the room due to the fragrance from air fresheners, candles and cleaning products. The breakfast was plentiful and good. I would recommend the owners install a night light for some illumination of the short flight of stairs to the Firenze suite. Not being familiar with the home, we did not know where the light switches were located and this area was completed dark after sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouBell64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A really nice B&B in a beautiful Victorian mansion. Lovely rooms. Breakfast was very good. Just a short walk from the restaurants and shops in Napa, so the location is perfect. The welcome packet includes great maps and recommendations for restaurants and wineries in the area. The owner has good contacts throughout the valley - we were able to get several tasting fees waived by presenting her card.

Room Tip: The Verdi room was great - really big and beautiful. The bathroom is a little small though. Also, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleC1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#3 of 22 in Napa
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 569 Randolph St, Napa, CA 94559-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mcclelland-Priest Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Mcclelland-Priest Hotel Napa
The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing