We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Fresh Fresh”

Hog Island Oyster Company
Ranked #1 of 286 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open Daily 11:30am - 8:00pm Happy Hours Tues+Wed: 5:00pm - 7:00pm. We will be closing early, 5 PM, on Dec. 24. Last seating at 3:30 PM. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Days.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh Fresh Fresh”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Brilliant fresh oysters with a great local sparkling was a great way to start of the night. Enjoyed both the natural from two districts plus a couple of different grilled versions.

Helpful?
Thank MCA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    185
    42
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good, eventually”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Once they arrived, the oysters were fine. Getting them and the rest of our lunch, however, proved to be an ordeal. We were there on a supposedly slow Monday. Servers were clearly busy but there just didn't seem to be enough of them, so it was 15 or 20 minutes between transactions. While the food was fresh and tasty, it was certainly not worth the wait and expense. Too bad.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kutskurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Slurp um up”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Love the oysters. They are pricey but worth every bit. Went there with my wife. Had a beer, appetizer, soup and 18 oysters. Every oyster is fresh and shuck in front of you

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I had a pleasant meal at the restaurant. We had oysters, chowder and the seafood broth. The oysters were fresh, tasty and quite good. The chowder wasn't that great but the clams in my chowder were EXCELLENT. Fresh and really tasty. My wife's seafood broth was pretty good.

Well worth a stop for lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good casual dining”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had really wanted to eat at Hog Island while in San Francisco, but the Ferry Building location was being remodeled and was closed. Being landlocked in Colorado we always pig out on seafood while at the coast. Much to our delight Hog Island has a second location in Napa! We sat at the bar and watched them shuck our dinner right in front of us. Delicious! Got to do a little star-watching too as Francis Ford Coppola and his wife were just a few seats down!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DurangoRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hog Island Oyster Company also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Hog Island Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing