We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dinner, Lousy New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silverado Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Dinner, Lousy New Year's Eve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I made reservations about 3 1/2 weeks ago for dinner and the NY Eve Party. It's my husband's 75th birthday. I called and left about 5 messages asking what type of music there would be at their NY Eve Party. It was an additional cost beyond the dinner. (The dinner was very good and the service was excellent.) My call was never returned but I finally got a hold of the person in charge of events. I explained that it was my husband's 75th birthday, we weren't kids and didn't want a party with loud rock music. I said we'd be fine with swing, country or even oldies, and explained that by oldies I meant nothing beyond the 60's. I was very explicit and told him what I didn't want to end up hearing. He said it was a Great Gatsby party. So I said that the Great Gatsby was music of the 20's and that would be fine. I even asked if the DJ had music from that era, as most don't, and he said he was sure that the DJ would play music from the era of the Great Gatsby. So I kept the reservations and came for New Year's Eve. Well, it was nothing but loud rock music. There was a guy with an electric guitar in another room who was also loud. It was terrible!!! It cost us an arm and a leg, ruined our New Year's Eve and my husband's birthday, as the guy completely lied to me. They got their money from us, but I certainly will never return and will probably not even return to Napa Valley. This has left a real bad taste in my mouth. I'm very upset and really despise people who just lie to you to make money and don't care if you enjoy yourself or not. As I said, dinner was very good, expensive, but good, but from the time we walked into the party the rest of the evening was absolutely miserable!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Bonnie,

We would like to first start off by apologizing that your stay was not what you were hoping for, especially during such a special occassion as the 75th birthday you were celebrating. I can completely understand your feelings. For the New Year's Eve celebration we tried to make it an event that all would enjoy, I am sorry if it was not communicated to you in the right way and I will look into finding out how that happened.

I do sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future because I am confident your visit would be much more pleasant. Thank you for sharing your experience and we will continue working to make Silverado Resort and Spa the best it can be.

Warm Regards,

John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    957
    538
    273
    135
See reviews for
592
1,215
39
811
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Everything from reservations, check in, lodging room, golf, dinners were exceptional during our golfers dream package stay. Our room was well equiped with every convience we could asked for the jr suite. The bedding was superb in comfort and style..pillows were excellent.Bathroom was large with walk in shower, vanity was large, lighting in our bathroom was a too dim but we manged. Dresser was small in that the big flat scree tv took the top up. Need some bench seating in the room. Overall we have stayed at Sliverado 5 times in the past 10 years have never been disappointed in any of the facilities, golf is exceptional as is the lodging. The grill menu could use some updating with more chicken, pork, fish on the menu.

Room Tip: high floors less ac noise, rooms closer to grill & pro sho are easy walking no car needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear M R,

I am delighted to read you had a fantastic stay with us over the Christmas holiday! It's great to hear you took advantage of our Golfer's Dream stay - one of our most popular. I will take your feedback with regard to our menu and see what we can do. I appreciate the comments and will look forward to seeing you back at the Resort again soon.

Warm Regards,

John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We live in SF and frequently come to wine country as a last minute escape. While the property needs some updating, it is always comfortable and clean. We happily return for the friendly service at Silverado. Mark was particularly helpful in getting us settled, staff like him is why we return time and again!

Room Tip: The one bedrooms with kitchenettes are nice for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Laurenmichelle,

Thank you very much for your review. I was glad to read you had another enjoyable stay with us. You need to come back again and stay in one of our newly renovated rooms, I am sure you will be very pleased with the new accommodations! I will make sure to let Mark know that you appreciated his service. I am sure he will be thrilled to hear you mentioned him.

Thank you for staying with us and please come back again soon!

Warm Regards,

John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have been coming to Silverado on and off for at least 20 years. On many occasions with a group of friends organized by one of our group who is a Condo owner. In the past our rooms were clustered in the same area of the property so that we could spend time together catching up and socializing. This was an important part of coming together from all over and convening in a cluster on the property. This past September 26 to 29, 2013 thirty men including our sons and sons-in-law had confirmed reservation for 3 bedroom units clustered.
I was in particular looking forward to sharing a unit with my son and son in law especially since September 28 was my birthday.
The day before were to arrive, the lead person who made the reservation was informed that Silverado could not accommodate us reserved. We were to scattered around the property and that some would be spilt up into 2 bedroom units and single bedrooms.
I was placed in a single bedroom with no amenities and my son and son in law in a 2 bedroom unit about a 5 minute walk away. We were not near any of the others of our group. In the past we would congregate in on unit before dinner and at the end of the day. That unit was so far that it required a shuttle to get from our area. We could only do this once and arrived too late because using the Silverado map we underestimated how long it would take to walk.
Needless to say this placed an ice cold wet towel on our anticipated weekend.
I believe they were were aware f their error and a bottle of wine showed up in the room with no explanation and on checkout there were some credits given on the credit card that were subsequently removed.
I sent two emails to Lori Black who is listed on her card as the "Guest Experience Manager" shortly after the trip and as of today have not heard from Silverado.
Needless to say, I will not return with a group again and will certainly not recommend other groups to come.
It is a shame because it is a wonderful facility. I can only surmise that it is under a different management with a culture not based upon hospitality and commitment to guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennethhbrookler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Room is decent. Its a 2 bed SUite - second bed is an attached room.
On day one wifi didnt work but when contacted the tech support the issue is fixed right away.
Went to The Grill for Happy hour but the bill had regular prices which was a disappointment.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kewl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallahassee, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I travel to the Bay Area about 5 times a year is often try to arrive a few days early for some relaxation and this past trip brought my wife and 16 year old daughter, we arrived about 1 pm on a Sunday, a room was ready but the helpful front desk staff recommended we wait an hour or so and a much better room would be available , we'll worth the wait, a close in condo very comfortable with a fireplace, we had booked a golf package but the temperature was very cold, my family did not want yo play, the desk clerk kindly gave a spa credit to my wife and daughter in place of golf, nice extra touch, I was allowed on the course early and played the north and south course , they were both in excellent condition I thoroughly enjoyed my rounds, only comment I might add is on the south course there was neither a snack shack or drink cart, refreshments were only available at the turn, we ate at the grill restaurant breakfast and dinner, the menu was a little limited but what we had was excellent, we asked for extra coffee and fire logs, they were promptly brought, all in all our stay was excellent and we will return often.

Room Tip: Get close to mansion or be prepared to hike
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear John,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad you had the kind of quality visit that Silverado Resort and Spa has come to be known for. It was our sincere pleasure to have you and your family with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks again for your comments.

Warm Regards,

John Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have been at the Silverado many times. This past visit over Thanksgiving was in some ways the best ever. Only one complaint. The check in and check out process was really inefficient. Only one young lady at the desk as a line was gathering. Took over 20 minutes to check in with just one person in front of us and almost 30 minutes to check out with just one person in front of us. That was only remedied by the fact that the person in front of us had a rather complex bill and finally some come out to help to the desk clerk.
Now for all of the wonderful reasons you should stay here. The housekeeping services is among the best we have ever had. Please do not forget to leave a tip because they do service over and above. The space is delightful. We always get a 1 bedroom golf course unit on the lower level. The grounds are beautiful. The spa is fantastic. Go for the Holidays. We have been there for Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter.. always great. We do miss that they are no longer have a Campaign Buffets.. but pound for pound they are still a good value. Go just because. Free wifi, a log for your fire place and in my opinion one of the most romantic spots to stay and play. How can you not love that. Yes the beds are confie and the coffee makers have good coffee too!

Room Tip: Get a room on Cottage drive overlooking the golf course. We have never had a problem with upstairs n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mylanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Silverado Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Mylanb,

Thanks so much for your review. I am glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you had such great things to say about our Housekeeping staff. We couldn't agree more!

I do apologize that your check in and check out was difficult and I will reviewing your comments with my Front Office managers to make sure we are properly staffed for all occassions. I do appreciate you letting us know about your experience.

Thank you for staying with us again and please come back soon!

Warm Regards,
John Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.3 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.8 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.8 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
6.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Resort and Spa

Property: Silverado Resort and Spa
Address: 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, CA 94558-1425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado Resort and Spa is a luxury resort in the heart of the world-famous Napa Valley Wine Country. Whether you come to the Northern California area for relaxation, adventure or business, find it here. Located just an hour north of San Francisco, Silverado is tucked away from the city while still being close to the Bay Area action. The soothing, full-service spa sets the stage for relaxing comfort, offering massages, facials, manicures, pedicures and more. But there's more to Silverado Resort and Spa than just soothing stays. Two PGA championship golf courses, which are overseen by World Golf Hall of Fame member, lead golf analyst for NBC Sports, and resort co-owner Johnny Miller, 13 lighted tennis courts, and biking and hiking trails on-site ensure excitement at every corner. And thanks to its Napa Valley Wine Country location, it's all close to more than 400 wineries. The fine and casual dining within the resort's restaurants pair nicely with local wines. The elegant styling and picturesque Northern California views makes it one of the most sought after wedding venue destinations as well. Or you can simply take it all in from the patio of the newly opened Market and Bakery, strategically situated at the front of our historical Mansion, while you enjoy a coffee and pastry in the morning or a glass of Napa Valley wine while sitting at the edge of our fire pit in the evening. It's all designed to ensure the authentic Napa Valley Wine Country stay for any and all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silverado Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Napa
Silverado Resort Napa
Silverado Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing