We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poetry Inn Bliss”
Review of Poetry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poetry Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poetry Inn Bliss”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Poetry Inn right after the Christmas holidays. Our host for all 3 nights was "Bob," one of the most attentive, entertaining and wonderful innkeepers I've ever had the pleasure to meet. The first night we stayed in the Robert Frost room -- a sumptuous suite replete with an outdoor shower, hammock, heated bathroom floors, wood-burning fireplace, four-poster curtained bed, and an enormous outdoor deck. It was beautiful and roomy but I must say, I preferred the second room -- the Emily Dickinson room. It was a smaller version of the Frost room, but was much cozier and had a bit of a cozier lay-out. It also had an outdoor shower, but it was right behind the indoor one. So when one takes an indoor shower, the glass fogs up and it feels like a sauna. The bathroom floors were likewise heated and this room also had a wood-burning fireplace.

The Poetry Inn is a hidden gem. All breakfasts are included, as are all of the items in the mini-bar area. The first night, we tried several bottles of the Breggo Pinot noir (our friends were staying here as well, in the Walt Whitman room) and they were comped by Bob. He also brought us a cheese/cracker plate and entertained us with his witty repartee. I can't state more emphatically how wonderful Bob was!

We also enjoyed a private wine tour at Cliff Lede's amazing vineyard. That experience was lovely as well.

Overall, this place and its innkeeper may have provided us with one of the best little vacations we've ever had. We will most definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TayDi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
106
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just came home from a wonderful two nights in the Robert Frost room. This is an amazing facility with excellent service. Yes, it is expensive but we felt like it was worth it. In fact, we have already booked a return trip. I couldn't say enough nice things about this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tjwilson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

After an incredible private wine tour to Cliff Lede's fantastic vineyard, my husband surprised me with a once in a life time over night stay at the Poetry Inn. WOW what a breathtaking hotel with an experience of a life time. From the first welcome from Bob (what a fantastic host who made each moment so very special) to the private dinner on the amazing balcony, watching the sun set over the entire valley, you felt like one in a million! You felt as though you were the only ones there at this secluded hidden gem. We will always treasure that experience and the overwhelming hospitality and open outside rain shower that provided a view of both the sun set and sun rise.

Room Tip: Every room is incredible. We stayed in the Emily Dickinson room. Breathtaking!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ticder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

First of all Leona, Henrike, and Bob are all fantastic hosts. Best stay we have ever had in the valley. Service is second to none. Cliff you have wonderful people!
We spent 6 days here with a beautiful dinner prepared by Traci and served by Henrike over looking Stags Leap on the first night. The outdoor shower in the Emily Dickenson room was a fitting end to the evening. This is one of the smaller rooms but has fantastic views of the valley. I would definitely recommend this room. We had it one night and moved on to the EE Cummings Room for the rest of our stay. It was bigger but my heart was in the previous room.
The gourmet breakfast in the morning is out of this world. There are multiple choices to choose from with the bacon and eggs my favorite.
You will not find these views on the valley floor. The peace and serenity you get just taking in the view is worth every dollar spent.
The rooms offer everything one could want. A large bathroom consisting of an indoor and outdoor shower with fantastic water pressure. Each room has a nice secluded balcony with lounge chairs. It cools down at night enough that you can open up the room and not run the air conditioner.
They will ship anything accumulated during your trip so no worries there.
There is a wine cellar in house with a fantastic assortment of Cliff Lede wines. They always provide there customers with a nightcap which includes wine. I thought that was a great touch.
There are only five rooms so if you want a view second to none, service over an above, and the ability to unwind and be secluded, book early!
I will be back!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jefflantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in the Poetry Inn for four nights in July on the second leg of an anniversary trip around Northern California. There are lots of reviews here dishing out the superlatives, and we echo those sentiments whole heartedly. From arrival to departure everything just hit the right note. The inn is the right blend of comfort, luxury, friendliness and service and the entire experience (which is quite high end) somehow manages to be devoid of the pretention, flash and mild glitz that pervades other hotels/resorts/inns of a similar prestige/price point.

I suspect that this none-too-easy trick is the result of the personalities and talents of the innkeepers and staff. Bob, Leonna and Henrike are terrific inn-keepers who attend to every need with a joyful and professional enthusiaism without trying too hard or being the slightest bit intrusive or phony. I really can't say enough good things about them.

The property is impeccable and exteremely "liveable". If I had the means to build a home in the hills over-looking the Stags Leap district, to be designed by an architecht and designers of my choice, this would be it. It is a luxurious environment that you can just "chill" in. The beds are perfect, the bathrooms, outdoor showers and patios are perfect and the breakfasts are expertly prepared and delivered. The view, as many others have noted, is truly amazing, especially in the morning as the sun reflects off of the mountains and the fog and mist of the evening slowly dissipate. The pool area is impeccably landscaped and private and is the ideal place to sit with a glass of wine in the early evening before heading out to one of the many great area restaurants.

While some may fear that the experience sounds a little to "bed and breakfasty", that is, actually, not the case. Often bed and breakfasts make the guests feel like they are interlopers in someone else's house. This is more like being in your own, perfect house with a small staff. Imagine a great hotel in which you have stayed and shrink it down and get rid of the crowds and noise, gift shops and hopping bar and restaurant. Then add 3 great concierges who only have 5 rooms to which to attend. That is what it felt like for us.

In sum, PI was perfect for us and it may be for you too. If you want privacy, luxury, comfort, views and service in a laid back yet professional atmosphere, it may very well be. If you prefer a little more action, or a bigger place with a happening bar/restaurant and pool/common areas (and want to see and be seen) then the Auberge De Soleil, Bardessono or Calistoga Ranch may be more your speed.

If you are preparing to come here, a few notes which may be of help: 1) pay close attention when driving, the inn can be missed if you aren't paying attention, especially at night in the dark and occasional fog; and 2) we had lots of big plans for our Napa valley trip (restaurants, hikes, wine tastings, etc.)--in retrospect, we wouldn't have minded setting up a less ambitious schedule to spend more time on property re-charging our batteries.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Walt Whitman room, which was incredible. We also had the opportunity to look at ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London W.8.
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

. . . . after our run in with the 'poetic culinaria' (sic) of a ludicrously pretentious restaurant in San Francisco. So, with enormous relief, I can say that this Inn is wonderful. More of an extremely high end B&B, the five rooms named for the most well known of American poets, it is perched high above the Stag's Leap area of Napa. We arrived to a cordial greeting from Bob, one of the inn-keepers. It was such a relief to arrive and gaze on the view and see the raptors soar at eye-level on the afternoon thermals. Our room was perfect, the bathroom immaculately equipped with an enormous outdoor shower as well. We were booked in for two nights and knew that we wouldn't want to move so had ordered dinner beforehand. It was delicious, the freshest of ingredients delivered in an uncomplicated but well executed fashion. We sat gawping at the view, sipping wines from the Cliff Lede vineyards and thinking how very lucky we were.

Others have written with an abundance of superlatives so it probably isn't worth repeating it all at length. Breakfasts are great, the massages excellent, all the staff delightful. The place is very nearly perfect. Through no fault of it's own, there is just one thing of which you should be aware. The Silverado Trail lies at the foot of the hill way below the Inn and, of course, noise rises. Just be aware but don't let it put you off.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shellfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had the best 3 honeymoon here. Wonderful friends made and when we still go back just to say hello they always let us sit on the deck to take in the breathtaking views and have complimentary cheese and wine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyplaceReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
693 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
728 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poetry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poetry Inn

Property: Poetry Inn
Address: 6380 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94558-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched above the vineyards of the Napa Valley's Stags Leap District, this luxurious and exclusive inn offers the discerning traveler all the sensory pleasures of the wine country. Spread over forty acres of pristine hillsides and world-class vineyards, Poetry Inn is a world apart. Guests, those fortunate few, enjoy unparalleled service aimed at creating an atmosphere of rural calm and seductive seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Poetry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poetry Hotel Napa
Poetry Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing