We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine!”

Trefethen Family Vineyards
Ranked #20 of 190 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Napa’s classic wine estates, Trefethen is still a hidden gem. Easy to find, but only if you’re looking. Our entry is on Oak Knoll Avenue, tucked away from the crowds of Highway 29. The driveway John Trefethen used to land his plane on runs through the middle of our vineyard, over the ground we have tended since 1968. On August 24, 2014, a 6.0 earthquake rocked Napa Valley and Trefethen to the core and left our cherished historic winery leaning 4 feet to the west. We have spent 2½ years working on a full restoration, including a modern seismic retrofit. Originally constructed in 1886, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the building is ready to stand sentinel over Napa Valley once again. Please come visit soon! Reservations are not required but are suggested Reservations are required for all groups of 6 or more. At this time we are unable to accommodate anyone under the age of 21, including infants and children.
North Jerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Wine!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Beautiful winery that is not too large, good wine and reasonably priced.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pjpberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    47
    15
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Spending time with John Trefethen himself made our afternoon. Great location and very good wine. We will go back.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1percentkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to post a review. We will make sure John Trefethen sees the message. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love This Winery!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We went there to check out the wines and boy were we impressed. We ended up buying about 6 bottles! If you're doing wine tasting in Napa, please check out this winery. Not far from the freeway.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
It is always great to hear that others love our wines as much as we do! Thanks for the visit and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
“The best wine”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Those people have the best wines and exellent homie service

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thanks Nathan B for the kind words about our tasting room and the wines. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Napa Par Excellence”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The history of Trefethen and their role in developing Napa as a wine mecca since the 70s something that few are aware of. The historic winery is home to one of the old wineries in Napa an they consisitenly produce some of the best Cabernet in the Oak Knoll District.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank PVGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimi G, Manager at Trefethen Family Vineyards, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thanks for the great recommendation. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and the Cabernet. We love sharing our part of Napa Valley history. Your comments made our day. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trefethen Family Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Trefethen Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing