We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Napa Winery Shuttle
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We thought the shuttle would be a great idea for hopping from winery to winery but it just wasn't that great. We requested Laurence as our tour guide, who was very nice but seemed like any average Joe. Here are some of the pros and cons:

Pros:
- We did not have to drink and drive (although we would hardly say we got close to being drunk)
- We visited 6 different wineries
- We met a couple of cool people on our tour
- The grocery/deli stop on the tour was nice

Cons:
- If you have folks in your tour that have very specific tastes or requests, then you may not get to do some of the tours you prefer. We wanted to do wineries that special in white wine, but that idea was shot down by a couple on our tour, so it did not end up happening.
- We expected a lot more information about the area and wineries from our guide but he didn't tell us anything you couldn't read off the company's websites. I guess the tour can be considered information if you go to Napa without doing ANY prior research.
- The tour is a bit expensive at $75 per person especially since you will most likely end up with 2-4 other people.
- Since you are with a group, the driver has to call and make appointments for certain places whereas if you went alone most places would take you without an appointment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    8
    0
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Educational, fun and efficient.”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our guide Laurence was top-notch - really shaping the tour on-the-fly as we wanted and needed.. We hit seven wineries in 7 hrs, with very timely an natural transitions to each. Our group of 10 bonded pretty quickly (am sure the wine helped) making the whole tour more sociable. Laurence gave us just enough info leading up to each winery to feel at ease, but not so much to take away some of our exploration. A great day for our first time to Napa.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great tour with a great guide!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I loved having a tour that originated right in the Napa area. Our guide gave us excellent background and very good area information. They keep the tours on the small size which works best for moving from winery to winery....and it gives the tour a "private tour" feel. We had a great time with the other folks on the tour. We learned a lot. And....as part of the tour, we had "2 for 1" tasting coupons at each stop!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Napa Winery Shuttle”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I just went to Napa for a few days for the first time, so we chose to use Napa Winery Shuttle one day to show us around to some of the wineries. Our tour guide, Laurence, was very friendly and very knowledgeable about wine and wineries. We ended up with a private tour, so we got to see, and taste, a lot. Laurence had some great suggestions for us, and also made sure we saw the wineries in the area that we wanted to see. I would definitely recommend Laurence, and use him again if we are lucky enough to get to Napa again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jenguerriero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome day!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We finally made it to Napa but we only had a few days. We wanted to see as many wineries as possible but we certainly didn't want to drive ourselves. We hired the Napa Winery Shuttle, and it was the best way to get around the area! We even ended up with a "private" tour; only my wife and I. First of all, if you are visiting Napa, you definitely want Laurence as your tour guide. He was our driver, guide, teacher and mentor, all in one. When we first began our tour, he asked us what types of wines we wanted to try and then organized a customized tour specifically to our liking. He made calls to make sure we could get in to each winery we wanted to see and offered suggestions for each one as well. All throughout the day he gave us insight and information about Napa, the different wines and manufacturers, and even the vines themselves. We can't wait to get back to Napa, and when we do we are making sure we get Laurence as our guide again. Thanks to the Napa Winery Shuttle and Laurence for giving us a great day at such an affordable price!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Napa Winery Shuttle also viewed

 

Been to Napa Winery Shuttle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing