We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clemente's

Clemente's
Ranked #104 of 283 Restaurants in Napa
Cuisines: Italian, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: I don't know whether you would list this place. It is a take-away (but very useful when we wanted to save cash on holiday and eat in our hotel). The people there could not be more helpful. They re-opened just to serve us, so we wanted to return the favour and get them better known. Delightful Italian owner who has been there since 1961.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Best darn food in Napa in my opinion! Tiny place, but alot of heart and soul went into the food. We tried the Mulfatti and wanted to go back for more, but it was closed. It's tucked away in a liquor store but we grabbed our food and sat outside a local winery. It was like no other italian food I had ever had. The pasta just melted in your mouth and tasted so fresh.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seema P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The tradition continues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Don't be turned off by the hole-in-the-wall setting. Clemente has brought the true spirit and flavor of the food he cooked at The Depot along with him. Nothing has changed. So if you want true Napa inspired "Ravs and Malfs" grab a pot and lid and head over to his new digs. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElZid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa valley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Ravioli and Malfatti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our family has been coming to this place since it was located at the Depot Hotel. We were so sad when he couldn't make it for a couple years. It certainly is delicious food for the right price. Perfect to order for parties!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ditling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama Province, Panama
Level Contributor
241 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Italian food picked up inside a liquor store!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

How great is this! After a long and tedious day of wine tasting, we knew we had to try the Italian family dinner from Clemente's. We were told about this establishment by the concierge at our resort (Riverpointe Wine Cottages). We tried visiting on a Monday to bring food back to our cottage, but it is closed. We made sure to take a menu, ask what malfati's are (a "mistake"-rolled balls of fried dough in sauce) and make plans to order take out a few nights later. We ordered the family dinner and for $40, it fed the four of us the first night, and we had leftovers another night. It consists of malfatti, spaghetti and ravioli along with bread and minestrone soup. We had it all put in one dish (but bring you own if you can to save money). Excellent with the red wines we had bought and a definite must do to eat where the locals are eating (or taking out from). Next time, when in Napa, I will try things separately to really savor the individual flavors, but even combined, it was all excellent!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlliTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfection since the early 60's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

No where else in the world can one get malfatti and the other marvelous Italian dishes served up by Clemente & family. This is not a sit-down restaurant any longer but rather a "take-out" window located inside Val's liquor store, a long time Napa establishment. Either take your own pots to fill up or have Clemente's provide covered containers. Either way, it will make your car smell wonderful on the way home or to your hotel room - which is what we do every time we are in the Napa area.

Recommend reading the history and menu on their website: http://www.clementesatvals.com/

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avohill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clemente's also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Clemente's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing