We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality In The Sun”
Review of SENZA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENZA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quality In The Sun”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Sunshine and first class service in Napa, and only an hour and a bit north of San Francisco. This quaint little gem lies just off CA29 - a boutique guest house of the finest kind. All the properties are timber built, with one particularly fine statehouse and balcony: they're all beautifully restored and represent a bit of "old" America. Trees surround the free parking area standing alongside grapes on their vines, and hens cluck their way around the gardens. A warm welcome awaits you on arrival in this little house on the prairie and the rooms are just perfect ... lovely beds, lovely bathrooms, lovely toiletries, although for some reason, there's no safe in the room. Cheese and wine are served every evening with a wide choice of Napa grape and some interesting flavours. Sit outside on the verandah and watch the sun set over Napa, total relaxed. Breakfasts too are superb - beautiful freshly squeezed juices, coffee, jams and and sweetbreads. And something hot from the griddle if you want it. In the middle of the grounds is the [outside] pool but don't believe the tale that it's heated, because the water's so cold, it might have been pumped in from the Baltic. Some might find this refreshing, others will simply freeze! At the far end of the entrance drive is one of the best Italian Restaurants in California - the Bistro Don Giovanni ... make sure that you dine there because it's excellent food and excellent value. And be sure to get there early because it's always busy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    146
    44
    19
    5
See reviews for
46
447
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Village
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I was expecting a much more upscale room. The bed and pillows were comfortable but the room was a little dowdy and the bathroom was in need of help. The shower was so small you couldn't turn around and it wouldn't drain. I definely would choose another location next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor. There is no elevator, no bellman, and the stairs are very long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Despite the reviews, we were frankly disappointed by La Residence, and would not stay here again. We stayed in room 31, which is a very private room with its own entrance nearby the hot tub. The room showed fairly well, but here are the key problems:
1) The bed was a small queen and extremely uncomfortable, soft and unsupportive, and the frame creaked with every toss and turn;
2) The spot behind the head of the bed was very dirty, it was hard to reach but visible, as the bed was oddly angled. That was a bit of a turnoff;
3) the thermostat was a programmable one, but very hard to understand and use, and we could never get the temperature in the room quite right, and ended up waking up to a rather cold room.

The room had a fireplace, but no logs to burn, and thus a bit of a waste.

Finally, a continental breakfast was included, but it was of average selection and quality, and nothing to write home about. In all, not a horrible stay, but not one that justified the price either.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurizio_and_Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is the first review we have ever written for a hotel or inn....or even a travel website of any kind but we could not resist telling everyone about the terrific long weekend we had last weekend at the La Residence Country Inn in the wine country.
First....we noticed the grounds were absolutely beautiful.....the check in was simply deligthful and our room was just wonderful. We had a large, beautifully appointed room on the ground floor with french doors overlooking one of the many outdoor seating areas intertwined with the lush landscape with our own small patio. The beds were super comfortable with great linens and feather comforters and our own fireplace. (We did not try to use it as the weather was not that cold.) Every morning we had a scrumptious breakfast in the morning lit breafast room which featured various fruits, cereals and breads.
If you are planning a trip to the wine country, you must seriously consider choosing the La Residence Country Inn. It's simply a wonderful nothern California experience and close to all the spectacular wineries as well!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Great room with huge bath and walk in shower. Lovely grounds with pool. We stayed two nights and hated to leave. Wish the breakfasts had some variance, but the buffet was ok. Lovely to eat outside in the morning and liked that you could eat early or late. The staff was helpful and professional. It was quiet even with the busy highway nearby. Great location to get to all the wineries. Intimacy of a B&B with the service and privacy of a good inn.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsDeb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The grounds were beautiful and relaxing. The room was clean, linens were soft and we didn't hear any noise from the highway. The wine and cheese reception was a nice touch. We were a little disappointed with the breakfast. We when booked the room, it stated "gourmet breakfast" which is one of the reasons we chose to stay at the property. We very surprised when we showed up to bagels and cereral. When we asked about the gourment food, we were told they switched to continential style a few months ago. We felt "taken" a little since the advertising had not been updated. ,

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gonewiththewind7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Our trip to Napa was enhanced by having chosen La Residence as the base for our explorations. Convenient to everything and far enough away from the 'maddening crowd'. We stayed in one of the cottages just so we could spread out and had our own private sitting area overlooking the vineyard. Very pleasant. Wine and cheese each night at the main building and excellent continental breakfasts each morning. Everything was well-appointed in the cottage and it was an easy walk to the main building for breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese.
Staff was very helpful with planning the days for tastings and nights for restaurants. Highly recommended if you are heading to Napa.

Room Tip: Cottages afford privacy and more space to spread out. Great if one is an early riser while the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mentor189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,990 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1.5 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENZA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENZA Hotel

Property: SENZA Hotel
Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558-1324 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENZA Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENZA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
SENZA Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing