We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personalized service”
Review of SENZA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SENZA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our family stayed at La Residence for my mom's 70th birthday. The three rooms we had were welcoming and quiet. The beds are SO comfortable. The evening happy hour with great cheeses and wines was outstanding while sitting on the lovely deck and enjoying the fragrance of the grape vines on the property. The manager, Graham, was very friendly and talked with us on the deck our first evening there. He provided great information and history on Napa and some of the establishments. But the crowning definition of great service came when we discovered upon our arrival home that my mother did not have one of her gifts. I called back that night and the lady who answered was most helpful. It had not been located in the room by housekeeping so one of the staff members went to search in the dumpster and lo and behold, it was found among the discarded gift wrapping. Now that is what i call going above and beyond great service and it was all done with a genuinely helpful and friendly attitude. We love Napa and will definitely be staying at La Residence again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Kim B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the stay you had with your family at La Residence recently.

I truly appreciate your comments regarding the staff and the lengths they went to to recover your mothers watch. I remember this incident vividly as the staff were equally happy as I imagine your mother was when they recovered the watch.

As with many of our reviews, it is the staff here that always go above and beyond and we are truly lucky to have each and everyone of them.

If your schedule allows, we would love to be able to welcome you all back for your mother's 71st birthday.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel three times and it has been fabulous every time. We love to stay in room 31. It is like staying in a private condo, it is a building all to itself. Their is a hot tub within close proximity to this room that is a real nice treat in the evening after a long day of touring wineries. The grounds at the hotel are very inviting and the outdoor patio off the dining room is especially nice. The hotel provides a very generous continential breakfast in a great dining room, as well as a wonderful happy hour each evening where you can try many different wines which are paired with great hors d'oeuvres. They also serve Hall wine, which is extremely good! The staff is amazing at this great boutique hotel. They always go above and beyond to make your stay the best it can be! You simply cannot go wrong with a stay at La Residence!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Tammy N,

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your stay in October. It seems as though you got to enjoy all aspects of what La Residence has to offer during your visit.

I will be sure to pass your comments along to the staff as we pride ourselves on making everyone feel at home when they take the time to stay with us.

I hope we get the chance to take care of you once more when your schedule allows another visit to Wine Country!!

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Had a great one night stay. High standards of cleanliness and high quality linens and towels. Loved the property and different buildings. Staff great - helped get us a reservation at Don Giovanni. A nice 5-minute walk after a day of driving. Had room 39 on a top floor. If you have large luggage make sure you can carry it up! Recommend a room with a balcony or terrace if you are staying many nights. They are great for evenings savoring the local wines gathered during the day and enjoying the relaxed ambiance. Nice evening wine tasting and a good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_V_travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

R_V_travel_11,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback about your experience.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our nightly wine hour, which is the perfect end to the day after exploring wine country, along with the ideal start to your evening before heading out for dinner.

We hope that when your travels bring you back to the west coast that you may consider us as your home away from home once more.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My sister and I spent 3 fablous days at this quaint and beautiful establishment. We never wanted to leave. Everything about this gorgeous property was top of the line. Beautiful rooms surrounded by a most pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. The staff just could not do enough to enhance your stay. David a, most pleasant young man, was exceedingly helpful to all our needs. Judy was so friendly and welcoming to us. Alana took time out of her very busy schedule to provide some history and a tour of the property. La Residence is a MUST for your next visit to Napa!

Jeri Watts

Room Tip: The "Cottages", 16, 17, or 18 are a fablous choice for couples. Spacious and very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wattsjeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear wattsjeri,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that it was everything you were looking for in a relaxing getaway to wine country.

As you have experienced, we are very fortunate to have such great staff here that truly thrive on helping our guests. I will be sure to pass along your comments to them.

I want to let you know that our staff will remember you both very fondly and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

What a great stay. Beautiful grounds, quiet property. Breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful. Room was clean and spacious. I appreciated being able to do a one night stay. Being able to walk to Bistro Don Giovanni was a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear boymom2 ,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at La Residence.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to welcome you back once more when your travels bring you this way again.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I had avery nice 3-night stay here. We got the larger King room, which I recommend, as it has a table and chairs out on a porch overlooking a little on-property vineyard (like 12 rows of vines). It is well located, at the northern most tip or Napa town, which feels more secluded (even though right on hwy 29). It's only 10 mins into Yountville, and about 20 to St Helena.

La Residence is owner by Hall Winery.They do very nice wine tasting each night from 6-7PM, and they'll pour as long as you want to drink. They have a nice assortment of cheeses, and it is a really well done. Breakfast is cereals, breads/pastries, fruit, yogurt and oatmeal. the woman who servicesthe breakfast buffet is very sweet and attentive. a guest asked her to re-heat her tea, and the woman said "can I just make you a fresh cup of tea?"

Room Tip: Rooms not facing hwy 29 - th elarger King bedded rooms with porch access (rooms 16-18).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff_Los_Altos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Geoff_Los_Altos_CA,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at La Residence.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed both the wine hour and the breakfast during your stay, as these are always highlights of the days here.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Napa Valley and thank you again for taking the time to offer feedback.

Best regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have checked into room 20 at La Residence. Great little place to stay, great large room with a very large bathroom. Room 20 is upstairs from the main building, right at the stairs landing. We have enjoyed the room and the area. Our stay is Monday to Wednesday and it is not full at all, it feels very cozy. Breakfast is included, pastries, coffee and a variety of juices.
They do not have a restaurant, but there is a great Italian restaurant within walking distance, Bistro San Giovani, excellent!
This is a great place to stay when you want to drive around Napa. We really have enjoyed our stay, and the staff is very good and friendly. Great stay at La Residence. Clean and well taken care off grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SdR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear SdR08,

I am happy to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us at La Residence and want to thank you for taking the time to offer the feedback.

If you find the time to visit the valley once again in the future, we hope that you may consider as your place to call home when you visit. I will have room 20 ready for your return.

Best reagrds,
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,084 reviews
3.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
1.5 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENZA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENZA Hotel

Address: 4066 Howard Ln, Napa, CA 94558-1324 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £177 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENZA Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Kathryn and Craig Hall purchased SENZA, formerly known as La Residence in 2006, they aspired to extend the wine experience beyond the tasting rooms of HALL and WALT wineries, and to give each guest a fuller slice of Napa living. Over the last decade, the Halls helped grow SENZA from a country bed and breakfast to a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SENZA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
SENZA Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing