We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place”
Review of SENZA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENZA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great place”
Reviewed 25 April 2008

We just stayed at La Residence and it couldn't have been more perfect. We rented the cottage suites and they were large and very private. I had read reviews of noise, but the highway noise seemed to be very light if any at all. The only noise we encountered was the huge warming fans from the middle of the vineyard next to the property (they go on if the temperature drops in the middle of the night). But that shouldn't be a problem in the warmer months.
The entire staff couldn't have been lovelier and we would definitely return.

  • Liked — Private setting
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwimmingBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    149
    45
    20
    5
See reviews for
48
454
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We booked this inn based on the review and photos. We spent two nights in just a king room for our honeymoon (spending about 250 per night on a weekday), which were beyond our expectations. The bed was very comfortable with many pillows and a down comforter. Their continental breakfast is wonderful and yummie with a choice of 2 items, fruit, and pastries. They also have a wine and cheese hour which highlights their own wine. The staff was attentive and pleasant. Will return again for another trip to napa.

  • Liked — Continental breakfast, posh rooms, wireless internet in rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lollymissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

Following a rather hectic vacation, having spent time in Las Vegas and San Francisco, we finished off with two nights at La Residence. Following an easy 90min drive from San Francisco, we found the hotel easily on the north side of Napa.

On driving in to the property we were immediately impressed with the attention to detail given to the gardens and hotels buildings.

We were met at reception by Edric, who quickly carried out the required check-in formalities and arranged for us to be shown to our room.

Our room was situated on the upper level of the main building, accessible via stairs to the side of the property. There are a number of seating areas scattered around the property, allowing you to take in the gardens and the small number of vines growing in the grounds of the hotel.

Our room was pink. Now pink is not something we would normally find a pleasant environment, however it worked. The room was a good size, with an incredibly comfortable bed. The proportions of the bedroom and the bathroom were perfect. Not too big, and not too small.... Just right!

During our two night stay, we had the breakfast included each morning, and I have to say it was excellent. Scrambled Egg with pesto shrimp was just what the doctor ordered, and the next morning was just as nice, although I am struggling to remember exactly what was served. We also took full advantage of the evening wine tasting. This hotel is owned by Hall Wines, and each evening a selection of their wines are available for tasting, accompanied with a selection of hor'dourves. This is a great time to meet some of your fellow travelers, and share experiences of wineries visited in the Napa Valley.

Previous posts have mentioned the traffic noise. Yes, this property is located close to the highway, but to be honest it had no bearing on our thoroughly enjoyable stay at La Residence. As and when we have the opportunity to return to Napa, La Residence will be our hotel of choice.

  • Liked — The attention to detail in everything they did.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything that I would change
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank nathindubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

We stayed at La Residence in Napa Valley on a Sat/Sun night in late August 2007. We got super lucky - we booked the room only a few days in advance and got a king room (not a suite). Cost was $425/$325 per night respectively.
I would absolutely recommend this inn & plan to stay there again. The location is good, not in the middle of the craziness, but not too far away. Someone said that they were bothered by the road noise -- I didn't hear it at all. Honestly, it was not an issue in any way.
Breakfast was included in our rate & it was great both days; pancakes w/ bacon & eggs with shrimp (they were great about substitutions also). Plus it goes till 10 so you don't have to get up too early if you don't want to.
The room was clean & you got a free bottle of wine. Bed was comfy, towels & robes were fluffy. Felt like a B&B but since there are a few buildings it was more private (I think 40 rooms total). Parking was easy & it's not hard to get there from the road.
The hot tub was great - big, clean & not too hot or cold. The pool looked a tad dirty - this was my only problem & since I wasn't dying to go in, it was no biggie.
Best of all was their complimentary wine hour from 6-7 - good appetizers & great wine generously poured.
Very romantic & worth the price.

  • Liked — overall experience
  • Disliked — pool looked a little bit dirty
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank anners49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Stayed July 28-31, my wife and I just got back to the "real" world. Felt obligated to sit down and write the world to let them know what an excellent stay we had at La Residence in Napa - Edric and Alex were just awesome - very helpful and always looking to make your stay better. The morning breakfast was five star quality prepared fresh by world famous chef. The coffee was fresh grind every morning (how many resorts can attest to that) and the food was excellent. The newly owned resort (by Hall Family and Winery) appears to have been a huge plus and upgrade! The nightly wine hour was excellent serving of course Hall Wine with an assortment of fine cheeses, breads, olives, meats, and fresh fruit. The room was always very neat and well prepared. Ours had a distress pine desk and a poster bed with a large pine entertainment center with tons of storage. Nice wet bar with refrigerator also accompanied the room filled with cold waters and sodas. Huge bathroom. You really have the best of both worlds staying at the La Residence........you have the comforts, convenience and friendly personal service of a B&B style Inn but also have the luxury and upgrades of a 5 star hotel. Also, the refreshing pool and spa were very inviting and great to come home to after a full day of wine tasting - it was a good sobering experience if you know what I mean after a full day of tasting. Can't wait to go back. Great memories remain. Did not get a chance to tour Hall Wineries due to lack of time but definitely will next trip. Excellent location as well, 5 or 6 quality wineries all within a 5-6 minute drive of the resort.

  • Liked — small resort B&B feel with the luxury and amenities of a five star resort
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cabernet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in June. The property was chosen for us (as part of an auction item for a charity event we attended). Prior to booking we reviewed the inn's website and read reviews on tripadvisor.com.

The king suite we booked was spacious, clean, with fine linens and a lovely deck (not private) off the entrance to the room. Two comfortable chairs on the deck overlooking a few rows of grape vines and a soothing water feature. There are many "water features" on the cozy property. This is likely to obscure the noise from the nearby highway. It works.

The service was very attentive. We are not people who typically choose to stay in an inn. They are a bit too cozy for us. However, we would highly recommend it to people who like the atmosphere of an inn. It is in the town of Napa and not within walking distance of anything except the wonderful restaurant, Bistro Don Giovanni. We did take a walk in the neighborhood behind the inn. Not picturesque but got us some exercise so we were pleased. We sat by the pool one afternoon. It is very small but has about 10-12 chairs around it. Bottles of water were brought out to us without asking. Towels were already stacked nearby.

The concierge arranged a driver for us to hire so we could visit several wineries and restaurants. That was a big hit. The breakfasts were pleasant and tasty but not overly generous (rarely have I been served 1/2 a waffle, why not the whole thing?)

La Residence is a lovely place and was a great home base for our adventures in Napa Valley.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mlizBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

This Inn is fantastic. This was our 3rd trip to Napa & the Inn was the best place we stayed so far. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very nice (comfy beds!) but the best part about this Inn is that the staff makes you feel very welcome. Breakfast is very nice but the wine hour is great. We ate so much food at the wine hour that we didn't go to dinner. The Inn is owned by the Hall winery and you receive a free full bottle of wine in your room when you check in. The rooms are a bit more expensive than some hotels but once you factor in the free breakfast, wine & food in the evening and the free bottle of wine, you've recapped some of that cost. The hot tub is well landscaped and private, there are plenty of seating areas around the property and the patio furniture is top notch (think Pottery Barn). The pool temp is a bit cold the the pool area is small but we spent most of out time in the hot tub. The crowd did seem to be older (think 50's) and my wife and I are in our 30's but that was OK. Also, be sure to eat at the Italian place down the room. We had a great dinner (not too expensive) and brought our free bottle of Hall wine ($20 corkage fee), best of all, after drinking the bottle of wine, we only had to walk a block to be back at our hotel room. Trip advisor gives the Inn only 3 stars but this is at least a 4 star property. My only concern was why no AAA discount?

  • Liked — Location to wineries, evening wine and cheese, make us feel welcomed
  • Disliked — small flat screen tv, no AAA discount, pool could be warmer
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank markfromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
1.5 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENZA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENZA Hotel

Property: SENZA Hotel
Address: 4066 Howard Ln, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENZA Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Kathryn and Craig Hall purchased SENZA, formerly known as La Residence in 2006, they aspired to extend the wine experience beyond the tasting rooms of HALL and WALT wineries, and to give each guest a fuller slice of Napa living. Over the last decade, the Halls helped grow SENZA from a country bed and breakfast to a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TIG Global, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your SENZA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
SENZA Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing