We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SENZA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENZA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A great experience”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

I only stayed for a night but it was a great experience. The staff was very helpful and went above and beyond to help me. I arranged rose pedals for my room and the way they set up everything for my room was incredible. They made my reservation for don giovani's and lit my fireplace. Thank you for making my trip memorable with my girlfriend. We will be back and all the pictures we have will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbecerra5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear bbecerra5,

Thank you for sharing the pictures of your recent romantic visit with us.

Memories last a lifetime and we are happy to see that you will have some to cherish of your time here with us.

When you next think of the Napa Valley and a possible return, we look forward to helping you create new memories to look back fondly on.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    135
    41
    18
    5
See reviews for
44
422
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

As part of our week long celebration of our 30th anniversary we spent 2 nights at La Residence in Napa. It was easy to find and provided easy access to the main freeway between the Napa Valley cities. Upon check in we asked for a recommendation for dinner and was happy to try the wonderful italian restaurant at the end of the street, Bistro Don Giovanni. The grounds of the hotel were spacious and were a joy to walk around and get lost in the tranquility of Napa. The grape vines provided the right feel for the area and prepped us for a few days of enjoying the wonderful wines of Napa. The breakfast provided in the morning was a great start to the day and was much more than a continental breakfast. We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tambo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear tambo57,

Our gardens here at La Residence are forever changing with the seasons. We are glad that you got to enjoy them as the blooms of Spring have really brightened our landscape.

Thank you for visiting us and enjoying all that we have to offer. We look forward to the time when you can return and relax some more with us here in wine country.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed three nights while we toured the Napa Valley. The inn was very quiet and relaxing. The grounds are lovely. Great "continental" breakfast each day - basically a cold buffet - cereals, pastries, juices, yogurt, cheese and meat platter, quiches, toast and bagels. The daily wine and cheese is a nice touch. Our room was lovely, only comment was the fireplace had recently been used and left a smoky aroma in the room. Get a reservation for dinner at Bistro Don Giovanni next door to La Residence - fantastic meal there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear sb254,

Thank for your recent stay with us and also taking the time to offer feedback regarding your experience.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future when your travels brings you this way once more.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband surprised me with a few days in the Napa Valley to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We had driven by La Residence many times on our way to Clear Lake, but never needed a room. I had no idea it was so lovely!
The grounds are beautiful. Vineyards, flowers, redwoods, all very lush. The staff greeted us warmly and showed us to our room right away. There are 3 different buildings that you can stay in depending on what you want (i.e. queen or king bed, fireplace, suite, cottage). We stayed in the mansion that was built in 1870. Our room was great! It was very spacious with a king sized bed, (that was very comfortable), large armoire, table and chairs, flat screen tv, refrigerator (with complementary bottled water) and wood burning fireplace. The bathroom was spacious as well. There was even a couple of umbrellas in the armoire which was nice since it rained while we were there. Oh...and the bathrobes, there were two bathrobes in the armorie too. They didn't look special but when you put them on it was heaven! The staff also left two slices of cheesecake and an anniversary card for us as well! Very nice!
La Residence offers a complementary wine and cheese hour in the evenings but we did not attend as we had other plans both nights we were there. We did eat the complementary breakfast on our first morning which was nice. Coffee, tea, juices, pastries, breads, fresh fruit, meats, cheese, yogurt, and hot and cold cereal made up the selection. It was just right to start off the day of wine tasting and eating through out the Napa Valley.
There was a nice pool and hot tub, but it was raining so we didn't use either. They also offer spa services at reasonable rates as well.
The only negative that I can think of is that it is a little close to the road. My husband and I were not bothered at all by the slight car noise. During the night there is hardly any traffic but during the day the road can be busy, especially in the spring and summer. But why would you be in your room for anything other than to sleep if you're visiting the Napa Valley?
I would highly recommend La Residence and we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: If minimal road noise bothers you, ask for a room in the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73Lulu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear 73Lulu79,

Anniversaries are very special and we want to thank you both for spending your special occasion with us here at La Residence.

Our historic "Harry C. Parker" Mansion has benefited from new furniture and accent items in recent months, so we are glad to see you enjoyed your time spent in the room.

We hope that when you are next passing through that you may consider spending more time with us here. Please do not hesitate to reach out if we can assist in the future.

Best regards and happy belated anniversary from us all here at La Residence.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here as our first stop on our honeymoon and it was so relaxing. It was like a nice little personal apartment room. They have wine tasting every night and they also know where to direct you to get the best food and wine in nearby cities/areas. We wanted a fire that night and called down to ask for some wood and a bottle of wine. They were at our door within 5 minutes with everything we requested and they even started the fire for us too! Wonderful service and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikalg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear erikalg86,

Congratulations on recently getting married. A honeymoon is a very special time and we want to thank you for visiting the Napa Valley and making La Residence the first stop along the way.

Should you celebrate a future anniversary with a return trip to wine country, we hope that you will return to La Residence to mark the occasion and relax some more with us.

Congratulations once more from all of us here at La Residence.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This is such a nice little place. Clean, friendly, tucked away from so much of the commercial parts of Napa that are popping up. And, unlike nearly every other place in the Valley, they offer 1-night stays when they can. The wine hour and the breakfast also add value, and while they have downgraded the gourmet quality of their food this year, it is still worth what you pay. All in all, I keep going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyG415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear NancyG415,

Thank you for your return visit to us in February, we appreciate you visiting us once more.

You are right in pointing out that we are fortunate to have somewhat of a secluded location to call home while visiting wine country, which is also perfectly situated to immediately explore the beautiful Napa Valley.

We appreciate the feedback regarding breakfast as we are constantly reviewing our product and service. We recently added new product to our line up as part of our continual effort to offer a wide selection of options to start your day.

We look forward to welcoming you back once more when your schedule allows.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We booked 2 Cottage Kings in early March. The Cottage Kings were spacious and quiet. The breakfast compared nicely to our other favorite Napa retreat, the Harvest Inn as breakfast consisted of a choice of meets, cheeses, fruits, pastries and cereal. However, what made our stay truly wonderful were the exceptional staff. They even served one of ourfavorite Hallwines, the Napa cabernet for the wine and cheese event the night before we left. Now that is service!

We hope to go back to La Residence this fall.

Room Tip: The Cottage Kings are quiet and feel like little cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphinium123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceNapa, General Manager at SENZA Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Delphinium123,

It was a pleasure to meet you and spend time with you during your recent stay with us. Thank you for your glowing feedback and comparison to our very good friends up the road, The Harvest Inn.

We are delighted to read that you felt at home and enjoyed your stay with us.

Once you determine your dates for your return visit in the fall, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I look forward to seeing you once more and making sure your next visit will be as good as the first.

Best regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,891 reviews
3.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,022 reviews
5.1 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENZA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENZA Hotel

Property: SENZA Hotel
Address: 4066 Howard Lane, Napa, CA 94558-1324 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENZA Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TIG Global, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENZA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
SENZA Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing