We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find in Napa Valley”
Review of SENZA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENZA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find in Napa Valley”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This was our second stay at La Residence, and we cannot wait to go back. The rooms are fabulous, large, nicely decorated, super clean. The property is gorgeous, grapevines right out side our room, with lovely chairs and a table, you can view the stars at night and enjoy a glass of wine.....

Very quiet...........very cozy.........

The evening wine and appetizers are a great way to start off the evening on the main patio. Breakfast was equally tasty, and a great way to start the day..........

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLDSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    149
    45
    20
    5
See reviews for
48
454
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We're from Dallas and my wife's hair stylist recommended La Residence. So you never know where a good recommendation might come from! Located one block off Hwy. 29, where many of the more popular winery tasting rooms and tours are located. Most of the rest are probably within a 20-minute drive. It's lovely and quaint, but not as frilly and "frew frew" (is that a word?) as some of the B&Bs. The main building is like a large home, with outside access to the rooms. Plus a few smaller "homes" on the property. We stayed in Suite 13, which has a bedroom, sitting room and two bathrooms. Very nice. Our adult son slept on the pull-out sofa and it was pretty darn uncomfortable. But everything else was wonderful. Big, poofy bed with nice linens. Very modern bath area. The largest, fluffiest towels I've ever seen in a hotel were an unexpected amenity. The office has a friendly, helpful staff. (Got us a discount on a hot-air balloon ride...which, if you've never done before is absolutely worth getting picked-up at 5:15 a.m. to experience.) Continental breakfast included omelets. I believe the property is now owned by the Hall winery, so they have tastings every evening in the large dining room. Large, outside deck with comfy seating for relaxing and chatting with guests in the evening. Very nice Italian restaurant within walking distance that Robert Mondavi used to visit. We would definitely stay here again. (If you're visiting several vinyards, try Robert Mondavi for an excellent tour and explanation of the winemaking process, but include Viader (pronounced Via-dare) part-way up a mountain for the most spectacular view in the valley as you taste several varietals on their lovely patio (by appointment).

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bmeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here on 5-13/5-14-10. The hotel is really a large B&B and not your typical hotel. It was nice to stay someplace different and unique. Our room wasn't in the main building...but instead on the 3rd floor of the Historic Mansion overlooking the pool. Our room was spacious and the bed/linens/pillows were outstanding (and we are picky). VERY high quality! The a/c worked perfect and bathroom was normal size. Room and bathroom very clean with excellent soaps/lotion/shampoo/conditioner. The only downside of the room was the hot water. It took 10 minutes for sink water to heat up and 10-15 for shower water. After 5 minutes in shower, my husband lost all hot water. His shower wasn't immediately after mine.....it had been about 30 minutes. The pool looked nice, but it wasn't heated and mid-May isn't that warm in Napa...so no swimming for us. I was going to go in the spa....but it felt only about 90-95 degrees and this was at 6pm. I felt it again about 9pm after I mentioned to hotel staff, but it hadn't changed. Such as shame, as spa is beautiful...as is area around it....too bad they can't heat it a little hotter so guests will want to use and enjoy. The breakfast area is nice and we loved coffee, fruit, pastries and service. We were confused about menu - there were just two items (a berry French Toast and a hash/egg/potatoe plate). We didn't realize you didn't have to pick these and could order what you want. It didn't say this clearly. The French Toast wasn't tasty (sort of a strange combo of wheat bread, cinnamon and berry syrup....wasn't good) and the hash patty deal was way too done, eggs not prepared as ordered...but potatoes were excellent.
I probably would not recommend this hotel if you have any physical limitations. The Historic Mansion we stayed at has no elevator and carrying stuff up 2 flights of stairs wasn't a good time. The front desk clerk made no mention of a bellman....but later that night we saw a bellman or front desk staff guy carrying someone else's bags from their car and up the stairs. Wish he was around or that front desk staff person mentioned we could ask for assistance, when we checked in at 4pm. We are in our 40's and could handle it, but if you are older or have a physical limitation...might not want to choose this hotel. Even if you stayed on bottom floor of main or another building, grounds of entire hotel area would not be walker or wheelchair friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Spent three nights in paradise. The pre-arrival assistance offered by Tiffany was great and most helpful. The inn was a wonderful oasis after each full day of wine tasting and exploring. Great location just outside the "urban sprawl" of Napa, yet easy drive for dinners in Napa and Yountville. Beautiful grounds and exceptionally well maintained rooms. The evening wine hour and the bountiful breakfast were very nice treats.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I would come back again. I was to go to the Hilton but we found that this place had more character and was more romating (I have nothing against the Hilton). People are friendly, the wine tasting was free and served with nice appetizers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesratings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I am certainly glad we found La Residence. We were looking for a place to have a business meeting and vacation for a small group of 15-20 upper management professionals and clients. After calling around Napa to several of the high end resorts a friend suggested La Residence. I must admit… I was a little hesitant to book a boutique hotel with our clients so I checked with the visitors bureau in Napa and it came highly recommended.

The hotel is hidden away just off Hwy 29 in Napa Valley and it is absolutely one of Napa’s undiscovered gems. The surroundings are quaint country home with a touch of decadence. The photo’s on their website just don’t do it justice, it is very nice.

They offer a full breakfast each morning with fresh coffee, orange juice, an array of fresh fruits and a wonderful three course breakfast. When we finished breakfast we found our meeting room properly setup and ready to go. The hotel provides free wifi throughout the property and it works well so you’re always close enough to the office if you need to be. There is a very nice pool and large hot tub on property for cooling off and relaxing and they are clean and well taken care of. The grounds are well kept and picturesque. The rooms are well maintained and the beds are very comfortable. I slept better at the La Residence than I do in my own bed.

After our meetings and a full day out and about in Napa we returned to find our rooms clean and tidy. At 6:00pm we met for their daily complementary wine and cheese hour and found an exquisite selection of cheeses as well as different hot delicacies each day. It was a very relaxing way to wind up the day before heading out to Napa for dinner.

Our week long experience there was nothing less than exceptional. From the moment we checked in we felt relaxed and at home. They have a very nice meeting space and they provided us with the technology we needed to hold our meeting as well as food and beverage services. The food and esthetic presentation were first rate.

I was very impressed by this unique boutique hotel; we couldn’t have asked for more. Everyone at the hotel was absolutely delightful and accommodating to our every need. They provided us with the personal service and a level of professionalism you don’t find in your garden variety hotel chain or even in many high end hotels. We found it to be an exceptional value for the quality of room and service you get.

Thanks La Residence, we’ll be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Mr. & Mrs. Hall have a winner here. The service staff is excellent. Clean and comfortable rooms, great bed, convenient location, and the hot breakfast as well as the evening wine & cheese event are a great bonus. The staff is excellent and Alana Willson in Sales went the extra mile for everyone. The location, albeit nesteled just off Hwy 29 gives the feel of a country estate. I enjoyed the complimentary wine and bottled water placed in the room. Thanks all for a great place, a great value, and making everyone feel "at home."

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CATravelWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
1.5 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENZA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENZA Hotel

Property: SENZA Hotel
Address: 4066 Howard Ln, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly La Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SENZA Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Kathryn and Craig Hall purchased SENZA, formerly known as La Residence in 2006, they aspired to extend the wine experience beyond the tasting rooms of HALL and WALT wineries, and to give each guest a fuller slice of Napa living. Over the last decade, the Halls helped grow SENZA from a country bed and breakfast to a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENZA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel Napa
La Residence Napa
SENZA Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing