We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Show place”
Review of The Uptown Theatre

The Uptown Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$316.00*
and up
Northern California Winery Tours
Ranked #30 of 190 things to do in Napa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Uptown Theatre is Northern California's Premiere Live Music and Entertainment Theater! Nestled in the heart of downtown Napa, this stunningly restored art deco masterpiece from 1937 showcases only the finest acts in music and comedy. A historic landmark, the Uptown offers a phenomenal, intimate live show experience with world class sound and site lines. Distance from the last row to the stage is only 90 feet making every seat truly a great seat! Visit our website for a virtual tour of the stunning interior. This is a must-see hot spot for anyone visiting the Napa Valley and a full schedule of entertainment can be found on our website. New shows are continually added so check back often when planning your trip to Napa! Upcoming Shows Include: Charlie Musselwhite 2/19, Indigo Girls 2/20, The Charlie Daniels Band 2/26, Dana Carvey 3/4, John Hiatt 3/12, Peter Frampton 3/19, David Crosby 3/20, Jackie Greene 3/26, Patty Griffin 3/31, Crystal Bowersox 4/29, David Sedaris 5/5, Los Lonely Boys 5/20
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Fairfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Show place”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have been to the Uptown 3 times(Glen Campbell and Bozz Scaggs included) and each time the experience was well worth the price. Almost all seats give a great view (some in the far back are a bit distant), but the sound is great from all locations. Near downtown restaurants and wine bars. Food, full bar with great wines sold before and during breaks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyfrench13, Public Relations Manager at The Uptown Theatre, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking to time to comment on your experience at The Uptown Theatre in Napa. Happy to hear you have noticed the state of the art sound system and appreciate the overall Uptown Experience! Cheers to the New Year and hope you get to enjoy more shows in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    31
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great shows in an art deco environment”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Every seat in the Uptown Theatre is good. The acoustics are wonderful and the art deco atmosphere the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyfrench13, Public Relations Manager at The Uptown Theatre, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for your comments Judy. Glad you appreciated the detailed restoration and effort to create the finest entertainment experience in Napa! See you again soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A great place to see and hear music.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A wonderful restored theater. It's true there is not a bad seat in the house. Friendly staff. The only knock is a less than adequate lobby (too small). I've seen about 8 shows there and enjoyed the experience every time. See my show reviews by visiting www.psychologicalreviewofthearts.com

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 77jaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyfrench13, Public Relations Manager at The Uptown Theatre, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your Uptown Experience! 8 shows already! Wow, THANKYOU for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Seat in The House”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We saw John Hiatt the other night and he was great as always.

Uptown has excellent sight lines, a quality sound system and reasonable lighting. Bar and bathroom access are better than average and good is served in the courtyard.

Uptown has become a regional draw for all of the above and because it is booking good acts. We love having this great addition to the growing Napa scene

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank winetraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“See a show here!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We finally made it to the Uptown for the John Hiatt concert. What a great venue! It's been beautifully restored and is just a great space in which to enjoy a concert. We had a great view of the stage which I believe most everyone did as it is not a huge theater. The sound quality was also superior. We thought the drinks were a bit expensive but were told it was not out of line for the area. On the other hand, there is plenty of free parking. It's a bit of a drive for us, but we will be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Uptown Theatre also viewed

Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to The Uptown Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing