We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok...not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's ok...not great”
Reviewed 11 October 2008

An ok place to stay. I booked a room with a jacuzzi but the jacuzzi did not work. at first they said they would move us to a new room and were on their way to drop of the keys but then called and said that room was already rented so we were stuck. they did reduce our rate to the same as a room without a jacuzzi.
the hot breakfast was better than I had expected; eggs, potatoes, bacon, coffee, cereal, fruit, muffins, juice.
the room was clean, no frills. much cheaper than some of the other places in Napa. If I had to do it again, I would probably consider John Muir.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank toddkddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    327
    192
    55
    42
See reviews for
194
375
33
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Your average budget accommodations. I don't particularly like staying at hotels where the entrance to the rooms is on the outside of the bldg. but I was only here for one night. Lovely breakfast buffet incld. in price which is an added bonus. Beds not comfortable, but sleepable. Incld. small fridge, tiny bathroom with toilet and shower and vanity/sink on the outside of bathroom. Carpets need replacing as they are worn. All in all okay for someone not requiring anything luxurious or long term.

  • Liked — $$$$
  • Disliked — Needs updating and carpet replacement
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awright517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We needed a place in Napa/Sonoma where we could spend a Saturday night. Most of the B&B's we looked at had two-night minimums, so even though we were prepared to spend more than the Hawthorn costs, we weren't able to.

We called Inn at Sonoma and were referred to a phone number, I think called StaySonoma, where supposedly they had access to which hotels had short-notice rooms available. We took the Hawthorn because it was in a decent location (we had a car available) and was $189 (about $205 total = high taxes).

The Hawthorn was acceptable. Room was clean. Bathroom was acceptable, but not great. Service guy was friendly and referred us to a fantastic vegetarian restaurant (Ubuntu) which we much appreciated.

The hotel room entrances are on the outside of the building. Ours faced the parking lot. I would have preferred a hotel with doors inside the building, but didn't realize this in time before we booked. Not exactly my idea of how one should enjoy themselves in wine country, but we managed to spend the money we saved on our room -- and spent it on wine and great food. Copia and Oxbow are both great places to stop.

  • Liked — Proximity to downtown Napa (couple mins by car)
  • Disliked — Door faced outside.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeport, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

this is the second time I stayed here for medical reasons. It is best to stay on the second floor and as far back from the street as possible to avoid traffic noise. We liked our jaccuzzi suite especially since the spa and pool area was crowded in the evening and the next day their spa was cold and couldn't be used so I used the jaccuzzi in the room. I dont know if they turn the spa off during the day or if it was broken. I like this location since it close to shopping and restaurants. Since I live in a rural area (the sticks) shopping and finding a decent restaurant is a treat. The beds seemed fine to me I didnt think they were too hard. I stay here because it is cheap relative to many other hotels in the area, less than $100 for a regular room. Having a refrigerator & microwave is convenient. Orbiz seems to be the only booking service that lists this hotel. You also can earn Hyatt points altho they don't take Hyatt gift cards.

  • Liked — in room spa
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

My husband and I recently stayed 5 nights at this property and were pleased with everything except the beds. They were some of the hardest beds we have every encountered in a hotel. I don't just mean firm, I mean HARD. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and my husband travels for business, so we have a lot to compare in our minds. We are not fans of a soft bed either, but we felt these beds were way off the mark. We did not sleep well the whole trip, woke up with sore backs and hips. Not having good sleep certainly does affect a vacation. I asked the office if they had a foam topper we could use to make it more bareable but that was not available. If you like a really, really firm (hard) bed, you will not have a problem. If you like a comfortable nights rest in a reasonable bed you may want to consider another property. I was so disappointed that I am going to write to Hyatt and tell them I expected more from a well established hospitality company.

Other than the beds, the hotel was great. The extensive complementary breakfast each morning was my favorite part. Not just cereal and toast, but also egg, potatoes, and breakfast meat. Real OJ or apple juice, muffins, toast, bagels, etc, etc...
It was so nice! The room size was comfortable too, and we appreciated having a fridge and microwave. The free wireless interenet reception was not consistent and my husband had to acquire an ethernet cable from the front desk. Nonetheless, the internet was free. The bathroom was good too with the toilet and shower in a separate room from the sink and counter. I always like that. A real closet with plenty of space too and a couch (with reading lamp), coffee table and desk. Located right on the Silverado Trail just minutes from COPIA (a must see at beginning of your wine trip!) and very close to downtown Napa, just across the river.

The price was reasonable for high season and if it weren't for the uncomfortable beds I would return again to this hotel.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank applejanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

The Good: Clean, newer, well-lit rooms with most of the typical amenities for motels in this price range, plus a microwave and mini-fridge. Decent hot and cold breakfast buffet in a clean, inviting public dining area. Helpful staff offered to print directions, was efficient, and was responsive to minor issues such as key cards and a blow dryer that each stopped working. Location was relatively convenient to major routes to the wineries; closest to the Carneros region and the southern Napa wineries. Target and grocery shopping was a quick hop away. Those with Hyatt points can stay here very inexpensively, especially relative to other accommodations during the high season. Adequate close parking.

The Bad: As others have noted, the location is loaded with eyesores, from the adjacent abandoned liquor store to the brightly lit car lots across the street and adjacent. I also agree that the beds could be more comfortable. Our room near the front of the building bore the full brunt of noises all night from the busy road; I couldn't have slept without earplugs, but perhaps rooms further from the street are quieter. The front desk gave very poor customer service regarding a significant reservation mistake they made; other encounters were polite, but not friendly. Those who have stayed in a Hawthorn suite will miss the large kitchen area in the Inn.

Overall, a decent value if you're a sound sleeper not looking for a particularly romantic Napa getaway.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finickytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

We just returned from a 2-night stay in Napa at the Hawthorn. There were five couples and we knew we would be out visiting wineries most of the day and out at dinner in the evenings. We didn't want to spend a lot on accomodations, yet wanted something appealing. The Hawthorn fit the bill. It is immaculate, quiet and the location quite convenient. The daily breakfast was convenient. We would all stay there again. The only complaint is that the beds were a little hard. We booked a bus and driver through Pure Luxury Tours and were very pleased with their service.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momonthegoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#13 of 30 in Napa
645 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#26 of 30 in Napa
798 reviews
1.7 mi away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
Address: 314 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-4006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Inn & Suites Napa Valley provides exceptional, yet affordable, boutique style hotel accommodations in downtown Napa in the heart of the Napa Valley wine country, with in-room spa tubs, complimentary breakfast, and high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Hawthorn Suites Napa
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Napa Valley CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing