We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

White Rock Vineyards
Ranked #67 of 190 things to do in Napa
Attraction details
Kauai, HI
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was a beautiful winery, made even better by our intimate, personal tour led by Henri who shared with us his history of wine making and the history of the vineyards and the caves. Henri poured the wines himself inside the beautiful caves and we found several to drink now, and one to put away for later. I agree with previous reviewers that this was worlds away from the commercial vineyards that we visited while in Napa, and 110% worth the time it takes to make the reservation. The tour and tasting were free of charge and zero pressure, I encourage anyone who wants a memorable experience to try White Rock, and buy at least one bottle, the tasting fees everywhere else would cost more!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJeanneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“White Rock Vineyards”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Most authentic Vineyard visit. Nothing in any way touristy or pretentious about it. Easily the highlight of out Napa visit. And the wine is outstanding.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter02557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Professional Tour”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was amazed that the founder of the vineyard gave us the tour. He tough us many interesting things about wine making process and the industry. I recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in a private and one to one experience with the wine culture.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“White Rock Vineyards Tour”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I toured White Rock winery on July 24. Henri provided an in depth tour for us including the history of the vineyard and a walk through the wine cave. White Rock wines were all excellent including the Chardonnay and Cabernet blend. Reasonable prices for the quality of wine and no charge for the tour. I would highly recommend booking a tour with Henri if you enjoy a smaller winery experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“White Rock Winery Tour”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

White Rock and Henri's tour were awesome, intimate, informative, and extremely interesting. Not to mention Henri is just a straight-up awesome dude. The whole White Rock experience is a breath of fresh air from the commercial nature you get at many of the other vineyards. You really get the sense that Henri and his family truly love what they do and that is where their true passion and motivation lies. They offer reserve reds and whites, we started drinking Chardonnay after tasting their 2010 Vintage that is barrel fermented, estate bottled, grown and produced by them,the family's passion is apparent with each glass.( similar to my kids passion for xbox and steam). The natural beauty of the cave rock dry lava, volcanic ash keep the consistent temperature that make it a perfect atmosphere to ferment and age high quality wines. Compliments to Christopher and Michael Vandendriessche.

You have to make reservations in advance - check out the website (but don't judge White Rock by the simple, un-fancy nature of it) and shoot Henri an email. You won't regret it!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Rock Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to White Rock Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing