We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again...”
Review of Napa Winery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa Winery Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would stay again...”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I would say the majority of reviews are accurate for this hotel. Stayed last weekend - Clean rooms, friendly reception, comfortable beds. My only critiques would be too small of an area for breakfast, and noise from vehicle traffic/sirens due to the proximity to Hwy 29 and fire station. This wasn't a deal breaker- bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper. I booked the room through Expedia for a great deal in comparison to other hotels in the region. My friends and I visit Napa every year and have stayed at the Best Western Plus (Inn at the Vines), River Terrace Inn and Embassy Suites and would not hesitate to book this hotel again. Save your money for wine!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Just_Moe,
Very nice review, thank you.
Just wanted to let you know that we are adding chairs & tables to the breakfast area. We are also going to have an area under the porte cochere during the warmer months for our guests to have breakfast outside, and in the evening we will have a fire pit. We are hoping to move the manager’s reception out there in the warmer months too.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    266
    84
    17
    8
See reviews for
133
315
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Nice convenient location right off highway 29.

Easy drive to Napa wineries and restaurants.

Free wi-fi, breakfast and wine tastings.

Clean and comfortable rooms. Not really fancy, but very functional. Rooms were reasonably priced.

Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Response:
Dear Brad L,
Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay at the Napa Winery Inn.
We were happy to have you stay with us, and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to having you return, we hope it is soon.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We happened upon this hotel on a recent 3-day visit to Napa Valley. We walked in just as they were holding their nightly complimentary wine tasting for guests. Great timing! In addition to the wine, they had crackers and cheese and cookies. The staff was friendly and helpful - very professional and obviously well managed. They met the weeknight internet rate we had found. It's not a high-end fancy hotel but was a great value and we were very satisfied. We ended up staying extra nights rather than move on to other hotels. The Napa Valley is small enough that you can stay at one place and make day trips to explore the area. Across the parking lot was a really good Italian restaurant that we enjoyed. The complimentary breakfast was more and better than we expected. We found this hotel to be a great value and we would definitely stay again. I'm giving it an overall 5 rating based on the value and that it met all of our expectations for a mid-range priced hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyExplorer7752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi HappyExplorer755,
Such a nice review. Thank you, we appreciate it.
We are absolutely lucky to have such an amazing staff. I am fortunate to have had them with me for many years.
I was excited that you decided to stay extra days and make us your base camp. It is actually nice that we are so close to everything. I think on map everything looks more spread out, but Calistoga is really only 26 miles from us, so about 30 or 35 minutes. Sonoma is only a 20 minute drive. Really close. We are right in the middle.
We hope to see you the next time you are in the area, we would love to see you again. Thank you again for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

2nd time staying here. Staff is top notch, breakfast has cloth napkins, silverware, and "real" plates, cups, saucers!! The food included was top notch. Entire place was spotless. Beds were very comfortable and the pillows provided were the best I've had in a long time! We stayed here when it was the John Muir Inn and the new owners take pride in the entire property.

Room Tip: Rooms were very quiet. Property outside was spotless also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScorpioMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear ScorpioMoon,
Lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to post it, and thank you for returning to our hotel for a second stay. Great!
I am glad you enjoy our breakfast. Not many place have real silverware, napkins, plates and cups. I think it gives a homier feel.
I couldn’t be happier with all the changes the new ownership has made. It is a completely different hotel now. The only thing that has not changed is the staff and our commitment to our guests.
Thank you again, wonderful, just wonderful.
Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We went to Napa for a 3 day stay at Napa Winery Inn in March 2014 and were so pleased. The first person we meet behind the desk was Katie. Katie was amazing. She knew everyone and ensured she greeted us when we came and returned. She would talk with people and made them feel special. She was professional, knowledgable, and friendly. The room was nice and very clean. The women cleaning the rooms were great. We really enjoyed our stay there and it had a lot to do with Katie!!!! We will return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Response:
Dear Janice C,
Wow, what a great review. Thank you so, so much.
Kadie was excited to see her name in the review. We all love her, she is the best. You can really tell she loves her job. We are lucky to have her here.
I also shared your review with Housekeeping. All of the ladies have been with us for many years. They do a terrific job, and are such an essential part of our team.
Thank you again for all of your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We took a 3 day 2 night stay at the Napa Winery Inn this last weekend (March 2014). The internet rates were better than the rates I found by calling. The staff was professional, very knowledge and made the stay at feltthe hotel so nice. The rooms are not fancy but very clean and comfortable. We requested a room that was "quiet" and felt the staff put us in the perfect room. It was very quiet despite the noise from the highway. I am a very light sleeper and didn't even hear it unless we were outside. We did not eat the breakfast as we spent that time with family but we did look at it and it looked really good. The wine tasting was a great Napa winery and looked beautiful with cheese, crackers and fruit. Great Job!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Maui G,
It was great of you to post a review, thank you.
I love sharing reviews with the staff. Reviews are just a nice little something extra that lets them know they are doing great. When your manager tells you good job, it’s kind of like Mom or Dad saying it – a little biased, still great, but when a guest comes up to you and says great job, or mentions you on Trip Advisor it just makes your day. I am very lucky to have such a great staff, all of them.
I hope that you will come back next time you are in the area. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsburg, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Hotel is clean & conveniently located. It's not fancy but for the price was a great value. The front desk staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They answered questions & gave recommendations - some of the best front desk staff I have encountered! The breakfast was good but it was exactly the same every morning. There was, however, enough variety that we always found something good to eat. The complimentary evening wine tasting was very nice (we weren't able to make it every evening but it's a great 'extra').

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Tivigma,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review it was greatly appreciated.
Sounds like you enjoyed our staff as much as I do. They are just the best.
Our breakfast is ever changing – we try to keep it fresh and interesting. It is nice to
hear that you liked it.
I hope that you can come visit us soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.4 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#26 of 30 in Napa
798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#13 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Winery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Winery Inn

Property: Napa Winery Inn
Address: 1998 Trower Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Napa
#13 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Winery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the wine country, the Napa Winery Inn offers convenience to Napa Valley’s favorite wineries, restaurants, and attractions. The casual, boutique atmosphere of the Napa Winery Inn provides the perfect base for a relaxed and enjoyable visit to Napa Valley. Napa Winery Inn is less than ten minutes from both downtown Napa and from the town of Yountville. A daily hot breakfast buffet, wi-fi, and an evening manager's wine tasting are all complimentary. Oventi Restaurant is adjacent and Fume Bistro is within walking distance. Pets are also welcome in this pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Napa Winery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Inn Of Napa Hotel Napa
John Muir Hotel
John Muir Napa
Napa Winery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing