We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth staying here, good value.”
Review of Napa Winery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa Winery Inn
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at the Napa Winery Inn for two nights whilst touring California. Well positioned just off the main highway and a few miles away from downtown Napa. The hotel was clean and well cared for. Overall a good place to stay, comfortable, good service and good value, with plenty of free parking. Good location to explore the Napa valley area. We would stay here again if we returned to the area.
RECEPTION
Booking in and out was efficient, staff were very friendly and polite. One member of staff stood out, that being Jeffrey, he was excellent. Jeffrey was extremely helpful, very friendly and informative, he went out of his way to make our stay so enjoyable.
ROOMS
We were on the second floor in rooms 310 and 318. The rooms were at the side of the hotel, they were quiet, very clean, spacious, tv, tea/coffee makings, desk and a table, good comfortable beds. Bathrooms were very clean, shower/bath, toiletries provided. Free wi-fi available in the room. The only negative was there is not a safe in the room, although you can deposit valuables at reception, which is better then nothing but not always convenient. The hotel need to fit safes in the rooms.
BREAKFAST
The breakfast was provided as part of the price, although it was nothing special it was adequate and did the job. Bacon, Scrambled egg, yogurt, bread/toast, porridge (oatmeal), cereals, pastries, fruit, tea and coffee are available.
WINE TASTING
Every night between 5.30-6.30pm the hotel offers some complimentary wine tasting in the reception area. They offer a choice of red and white wine (beer on some nights), accompanied by cheese, biscuits and fruit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Tony Paz,

What a wonderful review, can’t thank you enough. – Perfect.

I just want to tell you how happy I am that you enjoyed your stay. I was delighted to share your review with all of our staff, especially Jeffrey. We all just love Jeffrey, he is the best. I am lucky to have him on my team.

Thank you again for such a thorough review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed with my husband and mother-in-law in early March. The hotel is situated right off of the highway which makes it easy to find and easy to get going to the wineries. We had breakfast every morning and it changed a bit everyday so as not to get bored with the same offerings. It was tasty and well attended to by the staff.
We thought it was a great value for the price and would stay again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Denise M,

Thank you for posting a review, it is greatly appreciated.

I love hearing from our guests. Your review just made me smile. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that you can come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and staff. Breakfast was good and they had a great wine event each night. Krista at the front desk gave great local tour and restaurant recommendations. Restaurant Fume is in walking distance and it was good food and drinks. We did platypus tours and loves them also.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danshannan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Danshannon1,

Great of you to post a review, thank you.

I was excited to share this with Krista. She is the best, but alas, I am biased since we have worked together for the past 12 years. I am glad you found Krista’s recommendation helpful.

Platypus Tours is our absolute favorite. All of our guest just love them, and I am happy to hear you did as well.

I hope that you can come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was swayed by its high ranking on trip advisor website and was somewhat disappointed. I paid over $200 and thought the amenities and location was lacking. This hotel is 3 miles from down town Napa and in a residential area (?). No other sites/attractions to walk to. Like mentioned before, it's located right next to the highway & the traffic is loud at night. That also impedes full enjoyment of the jacuzzi and pool outside.. Too noisy with cars blaring by. To make matters worse, our hallway was noisy during the morning hour rush for breakfast. The eating area is very small and the crowds gather quickly. Another gripe I have is the issue with the shower. It was a roll in shower for wheelchairs but that meant the water splayed everywhere. The hand held shower nozzle and the regular shower head ran simultaneously& nothing held the water in. Water pooled every where and seeped to the carpet. Im sure a simple fix is available but a shower should not be complicated. I do have to commend their customer service. They are quick to please and very friendly. Maybe a cheaper price would make this hotel a perfect fit for me.

Room Tip: Stay away from highway side and the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waitingtoexhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear waitingtoexhale,

Thank you for posting a review.

I am sorry that you found us to be overpriced. We are actually a very good value for Napa Valley
.
I would like to thank you for letting us know that you found the shower head in your room to be a challenge. I have already had maintenance look into this.

I would like to offer you to come back and give us another try, perhaps in the lower season when rates are not quite so high, and the winery traffic is a bit slower. To me November is an ideal time. The colors in the valley are magnificent and the weather is mild. The wineries are a bit slower and they really take more time with you.

I hope you will consider staying and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I booked through an outside source and found the prices affordable for that location. The rooms were nice and very well maintained. The beds were very comfortable which was one of the the main things we were looking for. Very close to the main highway but still close enough to go to the river walk and see all of the restaurants and shops in the area. We had a great time and would recommend it to friends traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hello Bob L.,
What a nice review, thank you.
I am glad you liked the beds. They are new.
I also love that we are so centrally located. It is only a 5 to 7 minute drive to downtown. You can park anywhere downtown and just walk around. The Oxbow Market is a great place to shop and find many great things to eat.
Thanks again, I hope that you can return in the near future and visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I will start out by staying that I travel for work often and stay at Hilton properties. I got this hotel on Priceline for a pretty sweet deal. The hotel was a little dated. The property as maintained well for the age. I looked at what the going rate was, and I felt that it was a little over priced for what you get.

Breakfast was average for most hotels with a few hot items, yogurt, bagels and toast. I liked that they had the mugs and silverware on the tables.

The hotel had wine from 5.30 - 6.30 thought I was never around to grab a glass in time. Then again I was all over napa at the wineries, so I don't know if I wanted anymore. The staff was very friendly and there was ample parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbekas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Pbekas23,
Thank you for your review of the Napa Winery Inn.
I would be remiss if I did not remark on the “not up to Hilton Standards” comment. We are of course not a Hilton property. The Napa Winery Inn is a very affordable, Napa Valley Boutique Hotel, that offers guests, amazing service, exceptionally clean, comfortable rooms. A complimentary hot breakfast that boasts 3 hot items, including eggs, sausage and bacon served on quality Fiesta Ware, with real silverware, cups, and glasses. We do not charge for parking, we do not have a resort fee, and our WiFi is complimentary as well.
As for location, I couldn’t agree with you more. We are very centrally located to downtown Napa just (5-7 minutes) to the south and the Wine Valley is just a short jaunt (begins 5 minutes) to the north.
I am sorry you did not get to enjoy the Manager’s Wine Reception. It is my favorite time of the day for our guests. Everyone tells of their day and I have seen so many new friendships emerge during this time.
I do hope that you will come back and stay again. We have many more enhancements on the horizon, and we would love for you to see them.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very convenient right off of Hwy 29. Accommodating staff, clean and comfortable rooms; allowed for early check-in with no hesitation. Would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. Close enough to the wineries for a short drive but enough distance to be quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Brenda D.,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.
It is always nice to hear when our guests enjoy their time with us. I was glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your early arrival. I love when that happens. We always try to have some rooms ready early so that our guests can arrive when the mood strikes. We are more than happy to hold luggage for our guests as well, if the room happens to not be ready when they arrive.
Thanks again, come see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Napa Valley
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.5 mi away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Winery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Winery Inn

Address: 1998 Trower Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Napa
#13 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £105 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Winery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the wine country, the Napa Winery Inn offers convenience to Napa Valley’s favorite wineries, restaurants, and attractions. The casual, boutique atmosphere of the Napa Winery Inn provides the perfect base for a relaxed and enjoyable visit to Napa Valley. Napa Winery Inn is less than ten minutes from both downtown Napa and from the town of Yountville. A daily hot breakfast buffet, wi-fi, and an evening manager's wine tasting are all complimentary. Oventi Restaurant is adjacent and Fume Bistro is within walking distance. Pets are also welcome in this pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Winery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Inn Of Napa Hotel Napa
John Muir Hotel
John Muir Napa
Napa Winery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing