We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”
Review of Napa Winery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa Winery Inn
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Loudon, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Location several miles from downtown and difficult to enter and leave. Quite pricey for what you get. The evening wine tasting was just that...a tasting. Rooms should definitely have a small refridgerator for wine and snacks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Jack C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

June through Mid-November high season anywhere in the Napa Valley, however, if you can come and visit late November through April, the wineries and roads are less crowded. We call this Cabernet Season. The fall colors in the valley are just gorgeous, a great time for photos.

Give me a call personally and I will make sure that you have everything you need to ensure a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    266
    83
    17
    8
See reviews for
132
315
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having read previous comments, we made sure that our rooms were away from the highway. This hotel offers clean, comfortable, no-frills rooms and excellent, friendly and helpful service. Wi-fi was free. Breakfast was a perfectly adequate light buffet. The culinary highlight was the fabulous Snicker Doodle cookies on our arrival ..... make sure you try one before they're gone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Jonathan J,
What a nice review, thank you.
I also love the snicker doodles as well. It is so hard to work here and smell them cooking every day, but it does make the hotel smell delicious.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can return soon, we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel itself is very generic looking, room are dated but comfortable. The only thing that was disappointing is the breakfast of very stale baked goods and lukewarm, tasteless coffee. I'd rather pay for breakfast than eat like that. We skipped it after our first day and went to Bouchon bakery in Yountville. The inn is still good value in Napa and we'll probably be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brnxgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Brnxgirl13,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
I just wanted to let you know that we are making some changes to the rooms this fall and hope that you can come and stay with us again.
Please give me a call and I would be happy to take care of your reservation personally.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our 4th trip to Napa in the last couple of years. Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we stayed at Napa Winery Inn and were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and comfortable, however, bathrooms dated. The location is unbeatable for easy access to Napa and St. Helena vineyards. The included breakfast was very satisfying. Other reviewers mentioned asking for a room on the quieter side of the building which we did as well. We would be happy to stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms away from highway are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Chris Y,
What a nice review, thank you for posting it.
We were happy to have you stay with us and hope that you can return soon and see all of the changes that we are making to the rooms this fall.
Thanks again, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Napa Winery Inn has customer service down pat. When we had questions or needed suggestions on local tours, they steered us in the right direction. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The staff often greeted us as we entered the inn and asked about our day. The Inn is easy to access as it is right off Rte 29 on the northern side of Napa. Wine tastings and snacks are available for an hour in the early evening and the night we participated, the selections were varied and the wine rep seemed to be well versed in the selections. There is a swimming pool which looked inviting, especially on the couple of extra warm days we had, but we didn't partake as were too busy touring around(:

Altho we were told there was a recent update of the inn, we were surprised that low flow shower heads for efficiency of water use were not part of the reno given the water situation in the western states, CA in particular. However, signs in the bathroom did suggest ways of saving water thru decreased laundering of towels.

One suggestion for management: vendor phone conversations, especially those of an unpleasant nature, would be best carried out in the office with a closed door... out of ear of inn customers. Not always possible, I'm sure, in a busy environment, but preferable then at the main check-in desk.

Green Features: As mentioned above, the inn suggests fewer launderings of towels to save water, but we would have liked to have seen low flo shower heads and low water use toilets.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank renaissance2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear renaissance2,
Thank you so much for posting a review, such a nice one at that. Your feedback is very important to us, and I will make sure that it is passed on to each department.
Next time you are in the area please give me a call so I can handle your reservation personally.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The staff were wonderful, very helpful at time of booking, when I called with questions and during our stay. The location is good, it's at the South-ish end; north of downtown Napa, Oxbow Market and the Wine Train but just south of where the real trail of wineries begins. Items of note; we stayed Fri - Sun and they had local wineries pour tastings in the hotel lobby evenings, decent continental breakfast with some hot items and indoor / outdoor tables and stop at the front desk for tasting coupons / a map / recommendations. Also, there is a restaurant steps from the front door which we did not eat at but was a convenient feature if we'd wanted to. We were disappointed with the pool; mostly for cleanliness. Hot tub was nice but there were no clean towels in the poolside bin when it opened and the dirty bin was still full from the day before. A/C in the room was loud and labored and housekeeping was only so-so. Only one vending area; 3rd floor. Our room was in the back away from the main drag and stuffy but very quiet. Price was higher than what I am used to but very average for the location and time of year.

Room Tip: We had read before we went to ask for a room away from the main road and did.
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard hang your towels and we won't replace, no bedding changes except on arrival / departure.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LuvsHugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear LuvsHugs,
Thank you so much for posting a review of the hotel. It was really nice.
I absolutely love our staff. I am very lucky to feel like I am going home when I come to work. We have all worked together for many years. I think this is why we all work together so well.
I am sorry that you found the pool to be a bit dirty. It might have gotten a lot of use because of the hot weather that weekend, and we need to be more diligent in checking on those areas outside, and making sure there are fresh clean pool towels for everyone.
I have had maintenance replace the air conditioning unit in the room you were in, so it is now humming quietly.
We are making some changes to our rooms this fall and I hope that you can return and see for yourself. Just give me a call and I would be happy to handle your reservation personally.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our family made the Napa Valley and Sonoma area part of our summer vacation. We elected to stay at the Napa Winery Inn and we are so very glad that we did. This was one of the best decisions that we made. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and provided our family with recommended local establishments to visit and provided several coupons for us to use. The hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay and visit the numerous wineries in the Napa region.

Room Tip: Please arrive at the hotel early and ask when they may be having complimentary wine tastings. We pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AUTiger1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A, Front Office Manager at Napa Winery Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear AUTigger1998,
What a nice review, thank you.
I am glad that the staff took care of you and your family. Above all, to us, our guests come first. All of our staff have been with us for many years. We are all pretty knowledgeable about the Napa Valley, and we all try to drive around and go places on our days off to become more informed about where and what to recommend to our guests, and we share with each other our findings. It is quite fun to live and work here.
We are making some changes to our rooms this fall. I hope that you can come back and stay with us again soon. Thank you again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
0.4 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#26 of 30 in Napa
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.5 mi away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Winery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Winery Inn

Property: Napa Winery Inn
Address: 1998 Trower Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Napa
#13 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Winery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the wine country, the Napa Winery Inn offers convenience to Napa Valley’s favorite wineries, restaurants, and attractions. The casual, boutique atmosphere of the Napa Winery Inn provides the perfect base for a relaxed and enjoyable visit to Napa Valley. Napa Winery Inn is less than ten minutes from both downtown Napa and from the town of Yountville. A daily hot breakfast buffet, wi-fi, and an evening manager's wine tasting are all complimentary. Oventi Restaurant is adjacent and Fume Bistro is within walking distance. Pets are also welcome in this pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Napa Winery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Inn Of Napa Hotel Napa
John Muir Hotel
John Muir Napa
Napa Winery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing