We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest B&B I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1801 First Luxury Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nicest B&B I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The service was impeccable and they made us feel right at home. From the chocolates left in our room, to the wonderful breakfast in the morning. We couldn't have asked for more. We were sad to leave and will definitely be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipettas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    54
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
653
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this bed and breakfast for two nights, and did not want to leave! It was the perfect most romantic setting-He actually proposed while we were in Napa! The staff was so helpful with tips and wineries to see and very accommodating, as well- helped him to have flowers waiting in the room, and special congratulations card-Never made us feel like we were asking for too much, and they even shipped wine bottles home for us. The room was gorgeous and very neatly kept, and always smelt nice-we used the robes everyday-super comfy! The breakfast was delicious! Everyday at 5 they had wine and cheese served in a lovely court yard where you could chat with other guests about their experiences, wineries, and restaurants they had gone. We cannot wait to come back to Napa, and will definitely stay at 1801 again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

One of the nicest B and


One of the nicest B and B's we have ever enjoyed. We had a clean, spacious room with a romantic fireplace. The location in Napa is within walking distance to downtown with many shops and restaurants. The owners were gracious hosts and very helpful in selecting what wineries to visit. We look forward to our next visit here..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJK081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great location, great room, great accommodations in general, and kind owners. Couldn't have asked for a better home base on our Napa adventure. Very comfortable bed, very clean place, charming back area for nightly wine and snacks. The breakfasts were also dynamite. We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was perfect. Loved the giant soaking tub and skylight. Easy and safe walk to downtown and very easy to navigate to/from to wine tastings. We will be sure to stay here again when visiting the Napa area...and telling everyone we know that they should stay here as well. Could not be happier with our choice to stay at 1801.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise_K2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltmore, md
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Four years ago my husband and I celebrated our son's 21st birthday in Napa at 1801 First and were so delighted that we returned this year to celebrate our daughter's 21st there!

Although the inn is under new ownership, nothing has really changed which is a good thing! The inn is located at 1801 First Street in Napa and is a 5 minute walk from the town with its restaurants and shopping, and an easy drive to many of the large and small vineyards you'll want to see. The place itself is lovely and light-filled, with a large living area for relaxing and a beautiful dining area for breakfast. A good breakfast is served at your table, with your selections ordered the night before (out of three choices). There's a sideboard with juice, tea and coffee standing ready all morning for early risers. Throughout the day and evening there's usually a bowl of fruit, fresh cookies, coffee and a bottle of port for guests to enjoy.

There is a lovely and quiet courtyard at the back of the inn (complete with 'water feature') where wine, cheese and other snacks are served each evening from 5:30 to 6:30. It's a nice time to unwind, visit with your host or one of his wonderful staff, and chat with fellow guests--who always seem to be good company!

We have stayed in the two cottages out back both times we've visited; quiet little gems with fireplaces, soft chairs and very comfortable queen beds. One has french doors that open directly out to the small patio described earlier and the other has an entrance into a tiny private courtyard with a small table and chairs. When we return (and we will) we've agreed (at manager Kali's gentle urging) to try something new and stay in one of the rooms in the main house though!

As lovely as the inn itself is though, its the staff that make it so special. Manager Kali spent months corresponding with our daughter to create the perfect itinerary for our visit--wonderful restaurants suited to our tastes and tours of some really special private wineries that gave us a feel for what family wine making in Napa Valley is really like. When we wanted to add a specific winery at the last minute, Kali made it happen for us! When I mentioned that a magnifying mirror would be a welcome addition to the cottage we were in, Kali went out to get one! Concierge Felice e-mailed with me to schedule a very special dinner one evening and was there at one of the wine and cheese tastings one night to chat about life in Napa and where to go for a quick bite! Owner Blair and his wife Carrie were also on hand at different times, taking shifts during wine and cheese hour and breakfast! It is clear that these four work well as a team and enjoy what they do--you can't work that hard at a small B&B and not like people!

A lovely place, a great location, warm and knowledgable staff are what make this place so special and so memorable. I cannot imagine staying anyplace else in Napa.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! Call and Kali will describe the attributes of each room so that you can mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsnyder813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hi lsnyder813,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! It was such a pleasure coming up with the itinerary for your daughter's special birthday. Even at 21 she is definitely keeping me on my toes with wine knowledge! Perhaps next time my husband will be in town and she'll have a real master sommelier to answer her great questions.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you and all of your family and friends for many years to come.

All the best,
Kali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed at a wide range of accommodations in the Napa/Sonoma area over the years, and 1801 First is one of the nicer B&Bs we’ve visited. The main building is a charming old house that preserves its early 20th century style, so expect slanted floors, scratched/worn hardwood, and older features (doors, hardware, etc.). The biggest negatives for us were that the basin in our bathroom sink was cracked and badly stained, and that the footsteps of the early risers above us woke us every morning at 5:00; even our very loud air conditioner couldn’t block the sound. We had requested a room on the upper level in anticipation of this, but wound up with a lower level room. The owners (who bought the property a few months ago) and staff are friendly and eager to provide advice about what to see and do in the area. There were nice touches like tasty homemade cookies available ‘round the clock in the dining area as well as a decanter of port wine in the adjacent living room. Guests submit their breakfast orders the night before and choose from a “chef’s special” that during our three-day stay was always a spicy, flavorful egg dish, an herbed scrambled egg and bacon option, and a yogurt combo. The portions are quite substantial. The hors d’oeuvres hour, from 5:30 to 6:30 on the pretty outdoor patio, was quite nice – guest chatted and compared notes about their winery visits and enjoyed complimentary cheeses, wines and other snacks. Parking is available on the property for smaller cars; SUVs have to park on the street. WiFi was strong in the morning in our room, but painfully slow in the evening. The B&B is within easy walking distance of lots of restaurants and shops in the town of Napa, and a Safeway grocery store is about a block away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyBee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello VickyBee333,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. The staff, and our full time maintenance team, take great pride in the upkeep of our Victorian home and its original details. Even if that means everything can't be as perfect as new we hope our guests appreciate them.

Our chef also works very hard to provide great options for breakfast and sweets so we are so glad you enjoyed them during your stay.

We have done everything we can to ensure that our first floor guests can enjoy the same peace and quiet as their neighbors upstairs so I am disappointed to hear of your experience. I have made a note of your preference and next time, if you book directly with us, we will guarantee that you get the upstairs suite that will best suit your needs.

Take care,
Kali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent the weekend and had a great time. The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we ever had at a B&B. No problem recommending a stay here. Location in and near the city center made it easy walking distance to restaurants and entertainment.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlpick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#9 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.1 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#2 of 22 in Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1801 First Luxury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1801 First Luxury Inn

Property: 1801 First Luxury Inn
Address: 1801 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1801 First Luxury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family operated Inn that has changed the mindset of the traditional bed and breakfast. 1801 First has been branded as a landmark property according to The Napa Landmarks Association and continues to be the curb appeal Inn for all tourists and locals alike! We have owned this beauty for 3 1/2 years and have loved being apart of its rich history. A true luxury Inn with graceful rounded bay windows, courtyard gardens and romantic fireplaced lodgings adorn this historic and newly revitalized Queen Anne Victorian. Designed in 1903 by prominent Napa architect William Corlett, 1801 First has been meticulously transformed into an inviting chic retreat, blending its stunning classic architecture with sophisticated styling and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 1801 First Luxury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1801 1st Luxury Inn
1801 First Luxury Hotel Napa
1801 First Luxury Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing