We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1801 First Luxury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1801 First Luxury Inn
Ranked #3 of 23 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

A 5-10 minute walk from downtown Napa, 1801 First is a beautiful property in a great location. We stayed in the Carriage House which was private, cozy and luxurious. The staff (Kali) was fantastic and the overall service was top-notch. Happy hour wine and snacks, after-dinner Port, and a delicious breakfast rounded out the perfect birthday weekend. Couldn't think of anything to make this place better - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Stay in the Carriage house or garden suites are great for a little more privacy. The garden suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hello Josh M,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your birthday tucked away in the Carriage House retreat. Downtown Napa is experiencing quite a growth spurt and we hope that you will join us here again to take advantage of our walkable location... But we won't tell if you don't leave your suite! :)

Thank you for your time and the sweet review of our little inn. We look forward to your next stay!

Best,
Kali & The Staff at 1801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    54
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
637
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at the 1801 First Luxury Inn in Napa Ca. We spent a wonder 4 nights and could not have been treated any better. The food was very good, love the cookies and Port wine, Got a Cheese Platter delivered to our room every night and enjoyed sitting by the fire place and enjoying our time together. Would rate the entire stay as fantastic and would recomend it to any body who wanted to spend some quality time in Down Town Napa. Alan Goodwin

Room Tip: Go for the out door locations ie: carridge house and so on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank konal221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hello Alan,

Thank you for your review! We are always striving to provide the best service and amenities possible for an intimate getaway so we really appreciate hearing experiences like yours from our guests. We certainly hope that we will get to recreate these special memories for you again in the years to come.

Best,
Kali & The Staff at 1801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked 1801 First based upon the very good tripadvisor reviews - how right they were! We felt "at home" from the minute we walked in and had a great time. Beautiful room, fireplace, enormous bath tub, all great. Service very personal, friendly, helpful - we were there obviously to taste Napa wines and we were given great tips, without ever feeling pushed into a specific direction. The chef does not do a lot of cooking outside breakfast, but that's certainly worth waking up for. One of the best short holidays we ever had.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which has an enormous bed and equally gigantic bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hello Joost G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us! Our guests are always so kind with their comments so we are glad to hear we did not disappoint. Each staff member is committed to their education of the valley and its wines and we recommend only places that we truly believe in; I am so pleased that it shows.

We're glad you had a short holiday this time and hope to see you again for a longer one!

Best,
Kali & The Staff at 1801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This inn was just perfect! From the staff, service, the room and not to mention the food. Everything was first class all the way! Kali was friendly in checking us in and showing us our incredible room. I am a clean freak and everything about the inn was spotless! There is a lovely back patio where you can sit back and read your favorite novel or curl up with your significant other. The breakfasts were amazing! We had hash with spicy sausage and eggs. Carrie, the innkeeper, was nice and hospitable with restaurant ideas and wine passes to local wineries. After breakfast, we took a stroll to the pubic market and bought some flowers. We definitely recommend 1801 to our friends and family and are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: The rooms were able to see where very lovely. There is no Swimming Pool (made a mistake), but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed at 1801 and we were greeted by a wonderful hostess named Kali. She was very personable and knowledgeable about restaurants and wineries. The room was spacious, immaculately clean, and beautifully furnished. And the truffles were amazing!
Wow! Such a wonderful way to check in after a long drive. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! We even asked for more poppy seed muffins and they graciously gave them to us. Carrie, the owner, was pleasant, friendly, and professional. You could tell she treats her guests like family. She and her husband, Blair, have worked hard in making this a fantastic B&B! It truly is a "Luxury" Inn and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garlicgardengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marino, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I can't say enough good things about my stay at the 1801 First Luxury Inn. To begin with, I had a change of plans which necessitated canceling my original plans at the last minute. The staff at 1801 were SO understanding and worked with me so that we could use the reservation later. We visited Napa over the Thanksgiving weekend and had a great time. Everything about the 1801 was perfect and as advertised. The location was convenient, the room was comfortable, clean and spacious and the service was stellar. Felice attended to our every need and her advice about wineries and activities were accurate and helpful. Every breakfast was well prepared and was a perfect start to the morning. We were traveling with our four year old daughter and she loved the 1801 as well and had a great time in Napa because of the advice from Felice. I can't thank them enough for making our trip so much fun. I will definitely return to the 1801 when we travel to Napa in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwceye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hi kwceye,

We are so glad that you were all able to join us! It's not too often that we host families with small children so I'm glad to hear that our concierge expertise was able to help you have such a memorable trip. Already looking forward to next time!

All the best,
Kali, Felice & 1801 Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
719 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Carriage House is well worth the stay. At first sight, an amazing room. The fireplace in the center separating bedroom from tub is an interesting architectural feature. Unfortunately, some of the furniture are dated and need urgent repair (door knobs and handles, for example). Some people might feel funny with the slight lack of WC privacy. For us this was not an issue. The water feature in the back patio made falling asleep rather pleasant. Water pressure in the shower could have been a little stronger, although this might be a California regulation to save water.

Breakfast was good, although the yogurt dish was a little on the small side. Not an issue for me, I do not eat much anyways. The innkeeper is very friendly, although service skills need to be improved. Dropping a croissant on a guest can happen. But then placing it on the plate claiming it is edible -- while true -- is not acceptable.

Thank you for the tasting passes and vineyard recommendations. Etude was a treat!

Summarizing, I think this place has a lot of potential if some small details are worked out. Yes, I am a perfectionist. But if I wanted average service, I would stay at Motel 6 and not a B&B.

Room Tip: Take the Carriage House. Away from the noise in the main house. Best sleep in a long time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icanhazsweetsokthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hello Helmut K,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to leave your thoughts. The Carriage House is probably our most requested room so I am glad you enjoyed it and your night's sleep there. While the water pressure is a regulation we can certainly do something about loose hardware during our "spring cleaning" at the end of the year and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I am disappointed to hear that the service at breakfast almost overshadowed your enjoyment of our chef's highly regarded dishes. We pride ourselves on providing friendly, yet polished, service and the incident you mentioned is not appropriate. Luckily, it is also not typical of our hospitality and we are glad that one rogue croissant did not dampen your overall experience.

We have been able to rise to the challenges from all of our perfectionist guests and hope you will allow us to do the same for you sometime soon.

Until then,
Kali & The Staff at 1801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.1 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#2 of 23 in Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1801 First Luxury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1801 First Luxury Inn

Property: 1801 First Luxury Inn
Address: 1801 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1801 First Luxury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family operated Inn that has changed the mindset of the traditional bed and breakfast. 1801 First has been branded as a landmark property according to The Napa Landmarks Association and continues to be the curb appeal Inn for all tourists and locals alike! We have owned this beauty for 3 1/2 years and have loved being apart of its rich history. A true luxury Inn with graceful rounded bay windows, courtyard gardens and romantic fireplaced lodgings adorn this historic and newly revitalized Queen Anne Victorian. Designed in 1903 by prominent Napa architect William Corlett, 1801 First has been meticulously transformed into an inviting chic retreat, blending its stunning classic architecture with sophisticated styling and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your 1801 First Luxury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1801 First Luxury Hotel Napa
1801 1st Luxury Inn
1801 First Luxury Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing