We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great staff, attractive decor, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1801 First Luxury Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We needed an early check-in after a very early morning emotional goodby at the airport and 1801 came through in style. They had our room ready before Noon so we could grab a nap. In early evening we met friendly fellow visitors for a glass of wine and cheese/snacks--very nice, good quality. There were only 6 other people around, and generally we saw just another couple or two in the main room and breakfast room. The small detached apartment was clean and quiet. You can walk to old Napa about a km away. The staff were very helpful about restaurants, and when we came back from dinner at Tarla Grill (very good) we went into the main inn 'family' room where there was a glass of sherry available to take back to the cottage for a nightcap. The perfect way to take a much-needed weekend respite.

Room Tip: Don;t remember the name, but it was out the back door of the main house and to the left through a ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notpassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hello notpassive,

Thank you for your review! I remember when you called to explain your situation and I am so delighted to hear that we helped make it a relaxing weekend after all.

We hope that you will join us again; perhaps for her "welcome home" celebration!

Take care,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

I really wanted to love this Inn. Upon arrival, my husband and I were immediately charmed by the old world character of the lobby/breakfast area. The staff was very friendly and we couldn't wait to check out our room. We were given a glass of wine and escorted to our cottage (we had the Garden Cottage) and I found the room to be quite nice and romantic. I was excited to turn on the gas fireplace for added ambiance, but the pilot light just flickered and the fire never really got going.

Before going to dinner we went to the complimentary wine tasting in the lobby area. I asked about the fireplace and was told that it was on, but would not turn on all the way, but that it would still provide heat. Great, but I would prefer the beauty and romantic feeling that you get from a roaring fire. A minor annoyance at this point and I was willing to get over it and move on, at least the rest of the room was beautiful. The wine tasting experience was great and we really enjoyed chatting with the other guests. This was our first B&B stay ever and we loved the intimate vibe.

After dinner we grabbed a DVD from the complimentary DVD library and were excited to go back to our cottage and relax with a movie. Too bad that never happened - we had two different DVDs and both kept getting ejected by the player on the side of the TV. No matter which way we put the DVD in, the player would not stop ejecting the DVDs. At this point, I am starting to get annoyed with the lack of functioning appliances in the cottage. I decide to relax and take a bath in the jacuzzi tub...no surprises at this point, the jets in the tub didn't turn on. The cottage clearly needs maintenance and I am very disappointed that the 'luxury' amenities are just an illusion. Overall, it is a really nice resort and we had a good experience, but the frustration that comes with expecting something, and getting nothing is not something I can get over.

We booked the room through Jetsetter and got what we thought was a great rate for a cottage room with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. However, given that neither of these amenities worked, I do feel that the $200 per night price was way too much for what ended up just being a standard hotel room without any of the promised perks. The included wine hour and breakfast did help to soften the blow. Had we paid the regular rate of $300, I would have been pretty annoyed and probably would have asked for a partial refund.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndieStil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello AndieStil,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We pay very close attention to our reviews here use them to make sure our meticulous standards are being upheld. Sadly, in your case, it seems that they were not.

We know that we are working an uphill battle keeping a Victorian home in prime condition as a luxury property and benefit from knowing about these things as they happen. Our staff and/or innkeeper are available to you 24 hours a day to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible so we hope that, in the future, you will not hesitate to let us know how we can make that happen.

Please also know that most of the disappointments were corrected in a matter of minutes. (The fireplace is waiting on a part arriving later this week.)

We know that you have many options in our beautiful area and hope that the warm and intimate nature of our in will bring you back again; We would love to show you what a typical, fabulous 1801 experience is truly like.

All the best,
Kali & The Staff of 1801 Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have just spent two nights at this delightful B and B. All the staff could not have been kinder or more thoughtful and we particularly enjoyed Richard's (the chef) delicious welcoming chocolate truffles. The half carafe of wine and cheese every night was a great surprise as was the quality of the breakfasts. All in all a great way to spend our last few days in California before departing for the UK.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Hello David B,

Thank you for your kind review! Richard works quite hard on our seasonal welcome treats so I'm so glad that you liked him and will pass along the compliments.

We're so honored that you selected us as the finale to your trip to California and hope that you will be able to make it back soon.

Take care,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A 5-10 minute walk from downtown Napa, 1801 First is a beautiful property in a great location. We stayed in the Carriage House which was private, cozy and luxurious. The staff (Kali) was fantastic and the overall service was top-notch. Happy hour wine and snacks, after-dinner Port, and a delicious breakfast rounded out the perfect birthday weekend. Couldn't think of anything to make this place better - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Stay in the Carriage house or garden suites are great for a little more privacy. The garden suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello Josh M,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your birthday tucked away in the Carriage House retreat. Downtown Napa is experiencing quite a growth spurt and we hope that you will join us here again to take advantage of our walkable location... But we won't tell if you don't leave your suite! :)

Thank you for your time and the sweet review of our little inn. We look forward to your next stay!

Best,
Kali & The Staff at 1801

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at the 1801 First Luxury Inn in Napa Ca. We spent a wonder 4 nights and could not have been treated any better. The food was very good, love the cookies and Port wine, Got a Cheese Platter delivered to our room every night and enjoyed sitting by the fire place and enjoying our time together. Would rate the entire stay as fantastic and would recomend it to any body who wanted to spend some quality time in Down Town Napa. Alan Goodwin

Room Tip: Go for the out door locations ie: carridge house and so on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank konal221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello Alan,

Thank you for your review! We are always striving to provide the best service and amenities possible for an intimate getaway so we really appreciate hearing experiences like yours from our guests. We certainly hope that we will get to recreate these special memories for you again in the years to come.

Best,
Kali & The Staff at 1801

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked 1801 First based upon the very good tripadvisor reviews - how right they were! We felt "at home" from the minute we walked in and had a great time. Beautiful room, fireplace, enormous bath tub, all great. Service very personal, friendly, helpful - we were there obviously to taste Napa wines and we were given great tips, without ever feeling pushed into a specific direction. The chef does not do a lot of cooking outside breakfast, but that's certainly worth waking up for. One of the best short holidays we ever had.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which has an enormous bed and equally gigantic bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joost G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello Joost G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us! Our guests are always so kind with their comments so we are glad to hear we did not disappoint. Each staff member is committed to their education of the valley and its wines and we recommend only places that we truly believe in; I am so pleased that it shows.

We're glad you had a short holiday this time and hope to see you again for a longer one!

Best,
Kali & The Staff at 1801

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This inn was just perfect! From the staff, service, the room and not to mention the food. Everything was first class all the way! Kali was friendly in checking us in and showing us our incredible room. I am a clean freak and everything about the inn was spotless! There is a lovely back patio where you can sit back and read your favorite novel or curl up with your significant other. The breakfasts were amazing! We had hash with spicy sausage and eggs. Carrie, the innkeeper, was nice and hospitable with restaurant ideas and wine passes to local wineries. After breakfast, we took a stroll to the pubic market and bought some flowers. We definitely recommend 1801 to our friends and family and are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: The rooms were able to see where very lovely. There is no Swimming Pool (made a mistake), but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
5.6 mi away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
186 reviews
3.5 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#4 of 22 in Napa
1,568 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Cottages of Napa Valley
0.5 mi away
Inn on Randolph
Inn on Randolph
#5 of 22 in Napa
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1801 First Luxury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1801 First Luxury Inn

Address: 1801 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: £222 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1801 First Luxury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family operated Inn that has changed the mindset of the traditional bed and breakfast. 1801 First has been branded as a landmark property according to The Napa Landmarks Association and continues to be the curb appeal Inn for all tourists and locals alike! We have owned this beauty for 3 1/2 years and have loved being apart of its rich history. A true luxury Inn with graceful rounded bay windows, courtyard gardens and romantic fireplaced lodgings adorn this historic and newly revitalized Queen Anne Victorian. Designed in 1903 by prominent Napa architect William Corlett, 1801 First has been meticulously transformed into an inviting chic retreat, blending its stunning classic architecture with sophisticated styling and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 1801 First Luxury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1801 1st Luxury Inn
1801 First Luxury Hotel Napa
1801 First Luxury Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing