We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1801 First Luxury Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis
2 reviews
“I love this inn!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This review is way over due...but better late than never! My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary in November 2013, and I could not more highly recommend the 1801 First Luxury Inn. This trip was a lot of firsts for us - first anniversary, first trip to San Francisco, first time in Napa, and first time staying at an inn. I never thought I would be a B&B/inn kind of traveler....but this place has changed my mind for certain. I loved every moment of our three night stay. Highlights: 1) The staff is amazing - two of our mornings there we were waited on by the couple who owns the inn. They are so kind and accommodating. The other staff members are just as great. We loved spending our breakfast time or afternoon wine & cheese hour chatting with them about the area and receiving excellent recommendations on places to visit in Napa Valley. 2) Our room was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms - personal fireplace, soaking tub, shower, separate seating area, and a dream of a bed. We had originally booked a downstairs room but received a complimentary upgrade closer to our visit. Talk about service! 3) The food is so good. I’m gluten-intolerant, and they went above and beyond to not just make sure I didn’t get sick, but to make me delicious gluten free muffins and croissants. I’ve never felt so spoiled. The menu is delicious and accommodates a wide range of breakfast preferences. 4) LOCATION!! The inn is in the heart of Napa. There are many great restaurants and wine bars that are within walking distance. My husband and I barely used the car we rented. I fell in love with this inn. I cannot wait to return. You should definitely make this a part of your next trip to Napa. Or use it as a reason to go to NAPA!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Rachel W,
What a wonderful gesture to write a review after all this time! Thank you so much for thinking of us! We are so glad you enjoyed spending your first wedding anniversary in our little Inn. Breafast and wine hours can be very entertaining not only for our guests, but the staff too! We love hearing guests share stories and experiences about their wine travels with us. And we always are here to help with recommending restaurants and tours whenever guests ask. So we are glad you were happy with the places that we selected.

It's very important to us to take our guests' dietary needs so seriously. Thank you for mentioning your gluten free breakfast in such a positive way. Compliments to the chefs!

Rachel, thank you again for posting your great experience with us! We truly appreciate it. Hope to see you both again for your next anniversary and the years to come! :)

All the best,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    54
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
653
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the beautiful 1801 First Luxury Inn for three nights last week. It was our first time to the Napa area and we are so happy we chose there to stay. From our first encounter with Kalli upon check in, we knew it was going to be a wonderful stay. After we got over the beauty of our suite (suite 5, upstairs) we relaxed a bit in the garden. So pretty! Happy hour was served every evening at 5:30. It was nice to mingle with the other guests or simply relax after a day of touring and tasting. The owner, Blair made it a point to come one evening and introduce himself and share some stories about the area. 1801 provided some tasting passes for us although we didn't get the chance to use them because we had scheduled some tours on our own. If they suggest that you take a tour with Platypus, I would strongly recommend you go (but that's a whole other review). Carrie (the owners wife) was always so helpful as well. On the morning we were departing, she called ahead to one of the wineries she suggested we visit. They were waiting for us with open arms and couldn't have been nicer. What a nice thing to do. Every breakfast was amazing. One morning we just kept it simple and had yogurt with fruit and granola and even that was delicious. The Inn is spotless and no detail is unattended to. I would recommend this beautiful Inn to anyone I know who visits the area. The proximity to downtown Napa was very convenient too! Thank you 1801 for making this such a memorable vacation. I wish we could have spent all our days there! Hope we can return some day!

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room that faced the front of the Inn. The street noise was not a problem for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Paula C,
Thank you for the thoughtful and insightful review! Everyone here at 1801 are so glad you enjoyed your vacation here! Thank you for praising our breakfast and wine hours. We love talking and socializing with our guests. And thank you for noticing and mentioning our service, housekeeping, and the chefs' delicious meals! We always strive to give our guests impeccable service and friendly hospitality. And we truly appreciate your kind and generous words. We hope you can join us again in our little Inn and share more special memories!

Take Care Paula and John,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at 1801 First! Our Casa was great and everything was clean and neat. Kalli , Carrie & Blair were great hosts and the staff was nice as well! We asked for a Vegan breakfast and they were provided us with Soy Butter and almond milk for our breakfast. The hash was fantastic and I'm sure the chef could have done a mean tofu scramble - thats the only additional recommendation I would make. The Casa we stayed in was way too cozy (not a bad thing!) and they had a cute DVD library in the main house. We were drenched with the smell of jasmine and orange trees as we we entered the casa. It was like a 90s throwback to work with a limited movie selection - the fireplace in the room was a bit temperamental but worked throughout our stay. The bed was perfect and not too plush or soft. Overall a great accommodation and I would definitely recommend 1801.

Room Tip: Casa de dolce is great ! It does have thin walls as the main kitchen shares a wall but the neighbors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varun a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi varun a,

We are so glad that you took the time to share your experience with everyone! While it is true that we ask for limited last minute changes to our menus we welcome advance notice for any dietary needs and are so glad that you enjoyed your vegan entree options.

The neighbor for your cottage is actually our on-site innkeeper and they take the utmost care to make sure they do not disturb our guests. In fact, the walls must not be too thin because she swears she never hears a peep out of our guests!

We look forward to (and will peruse tofu scramble recipes for) your next stay with us!

Best,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimac, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

1801 First is the perfect place to stay while exploring Napa. We stayed for four nights in the main inn and were very comfortable. The room was warm and comfortable and every detail was attended to. Breakfast each morning was delicious, and the wine hour each afternoon was wonderful as well. The staff are not only solicitous, but they are extremely knowledgeable about wine country as well. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable, including making sure that we had a "bag breakfast" on our last morning because we had to leave early for the airport. We will definitely stay again and have already recommended the inn to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi RDV21,

It was such a pleasure to have you both join us. You certainly did make excellent use of our extensive concierge services so I am am so glad to hear that everything went so well!

We can't wait until you can join us again but look forward to taking care of your referred friends until then.

All the best,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Loved the beautiful Inn. Our beautiful room was wonderful with their cozy warm fireplaces plus the breakfasts were terrific. The staff was so welcoming and helpful and they recommended some great restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All of their rooms were beautiful and each had a fireplace. Very cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi Carol H,

Thank you for your kind review. We were so glad that you were able to extend your trip by 1 more day. (And to hear that it wasn't quite long enough is such a big compliment.)

We're already looking forward to your next, and longer, stay!

Take care,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair (And Chefs!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the cottages for three nights, and we had the most personal and comfortable experience. The room was cozy and sweet, with a small refrigerator and a gas fireplace. We had a small, private outdoor space leading up to the front door. I think of all the cottages, this one offered the most privacy, as it didn't directly look out on the main patio.

The owners, Blair and Carrie, are an adorable couple that are clearly excited and passionate about owning and running a successful B&B. Blair hosted the wine hour each night and is great at facilitating conversation. The wine and snacks (nuts, cheese, charcuterie) were a perfect way to end a day of wine tasting. Breakfast was delicious, and the dining area was sunny and charming. I really felt comfortable and relaxed; a perfect feeling for the Napa Valley setting. We also appreciated their restaurant recommendations, such as Zuzu for tapas and Oenotri for Italian. Both were perfect.

This B&B was also clearly beloved by the community. Whenever we were asked where we were staying, folks would say, "Oh, that's a wonderful place" or "I've heard such good things." It just validated that we made the perfect decision for our Napa getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cohsu47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
To Cohsu47,

Thank you so much for the thoughtful review! Blair and I appreciate you noticing the attention to detail of our family inn. And we couldn't have done it without our impressive staff! We hope you enjoyed our breakfast and wine hours and had nice conversations with our other guests. And it's so nice to hear our name mentioned in such a positive manner throughout downtown Napa. We are so glad you had a relaxing and wonderful experience here. We hope you can join us again and have more special memories in our beautiful Napa Valley!

Take Care,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I were there for our 5th year wedding Anniversary and the staff made it memorable!
Everyone that works at 1801 First really puts in their all to make you feel special. They go above and beyond to make you happy whether it's making sure they can contact wineries you want to visit, recommendations for dinner or day trips or simply making sure they can cater to a fussy breakfast order (someone that doesn't eat eggs).
We stayed in the beautiful Suite 2 which was downstairs and was away from the noise of the road as it does get busy. If you are a light sleeper and want to sleep in most mornings you may want to request and confirm an upstairs suite as it is an old building you get noise transfer from suites above as they are coming and going. We were Ok as we were up for the earlier breakfasts most mornings as we were off for day trips.
Wine hours in the afternoon with cheese was a wonderful way to relax and have a chat with other guests staying at the B&B. The owners and staff were key in making our stay a lovely one.
Kat

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittykatt127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello KittyKat127,

We are incredibly flattered by your review, thank you! It's our pleasure to assist our guests with any plans they need and we're glad that we could help may your trip a memorable one. (And no need to worry as "no eggs" is pretty low on the picky eater totem pole!)

I am also glad to hear that we were able to pair you up with the right room. Although we are not a large property, where your room is located in our inn can make a big difference so we're happy to hear that you got the restful night sleep that you wanted.

Until next time,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#9 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.1 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#2 of 22 in Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1801 First Luxury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1801 First Luxury Inn

Property: 1801 First Luxury Inn
Address: 1801 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1801 First Luxury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family operated Inn that has changed the mindset of the traditional bed and breakfast. 1801 First has been branded as a landmark property according to The Napa Landmarks Association and continues to be the curb appeal Inn for all tourists and locals alike! We have owned this beauty for 3 1/2 years and have loved being apart of its rich history. A true luxury Inn with graceful rounded bay windows, courtyard gardens and romantic fireplaced lodgings adorn this historic and newly revitalized Queen Anne Victorian. Designed in 1903 by prominent Napa architect William Corlett, 1801 First has been meticulously transformed into an inviting chic retreat, blending its stunning classic architecture with sophisticated styling and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1801 First Luxury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1801 1st Luxury Inn
1801 First Luxury Hotel Napa
1801 First Luxury Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing