We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the little bit extra...especially first timers to Napa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1801 First Luxury Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the little bit extra...especially first timers to Napa!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first trip to Napa, and on my wife's "bucket" list, so wanted to make it a "special" weekend. Chose 1801 First because of the reviews on tripadvisor. Gotta say, we made the right choice! Stayed two nights in the Carriage House, more for the privacy aspect than anything. Room was well-appointed, very clean. Staff was very attentive, and the breakfast part of the "B&B" was one of the highlights of the trip. Delicious fare, all inclusive. Fresh juices, fruit, coffee, breads and pastries, and great breakfast food (eggs, thick sliced bacon, sausages, creamy polenta, potatoes, french toast with blueberry topping, etc. - YUM!). Comfortable bed, evening wine receptions from 530pm-630pm each evening. (First night featured a guest winemaker from Elkhorn Peak Winery - tasty wines, very personable and down to earth - we ended up buying 6 bottles from Ken!) Kayli and Felice and the whole staff do their best to make you feel at home - great location, too! We were able to walk right down First Street and be in downtown Napa in just a few minutes (where all the shops, restaurants, bars, nightclubs, etc. are located). Far enough away to be quiet, but close enough to walk there. Plus, when you're drinking wine in Napa, who wants to drive, anyway? :) Choose 1801 First - we're glad we did!

Room Tip: Carriage House and the Garden Suite are separate from the main house, and quieter. You might pay a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dan K,

Thank you for posting your review! We are so happy you loved the privacy and spaciousness of our Carriage House. The two way fireplace and marble bathroom has become a focal point of our exclusive cottage.

We are so glad you took advantage of our close proximity to downtown. Being walking distance to the restaurants, tasting rooms, and boutique shops is such a bonus for our guests. And you couldn't have said it any better! We are close enough to walk there but still have the calmness of being away from the hustle and bustle.

Our staff always try to make our guests feel at home and welcomed. I am thrilled that we lived up to our promise!

Thank you Dan for loving our 1801! And thank you both for spending your "special" weekend with us! Please join us again whenever Napa comes calling :)

Take Care,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    54
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
669
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights at this beautiful inn and felt completely at home. Great location, lovely property, and great staff. From booking to arriving to staying and to leaving - all superb. My room in the main house on the ground floor was spacious and very comfortable. I really enjoyed the cheese & wine hour in the garden every afternoon - great way to relax and meet other guest. Kali hosted the evenings I was there and was very good company. Breakfast was lovely and filling and it was nice to have a choice without being overwhelmed. On my departure day, I had a full day in Younteville, so they packed up a great breakfast-to-go bag for me and kept my luggage. When I returned later on to collect it, I was invited to join the cheese & wine evening, which I really wanted to do but timing didn't allow. And then, the very kind Carrie drove me downtown to where I needed to be to save me time and carrying my small suitcase! Highly recommended for personal service and would most definitely stay again when I next visit Napa. Thank you :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellsandMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
KellsandMills,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you mentioning our superb concierge and booking accommodations. We try to give every guest that first class service and I'm so glad we were able to do just that!

Breakfasts can be substantial so thank you for mentioning our other lighter options to cater to everyone's tastes!

We wanted to make sure your belongings were secure and you got to your destination safely. It was our pleasure to serve you! Even though this was a business venture for you, we are so glad that you were able to still relax and have a stress free arrival and departure with us!

Take Care,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham,CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Regrettably we only had one night in Napa, to be near my cousin for a pleasant dinner and visit. We will definitely return for a longer stay. We stayed in the main house one first floor room, and one second floor room,both very clean, comfortable with lovely linens/ bathroom extras.The breakfast was well prepared, very hearty large portion, the owner even bagged home-made cookies to-go for us upon departure the next morning.. They could not have been more accommodating. I observed the staff helping others with directions/tours, even directing us to the correct road for our dinner out. They also offered a wine/cheese at 5:30pm, which my cousins were invited to attend with us. I read another preview calling 1801 the perfect place to stay in Napa, it was.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
To Lucca 13,

Thank you for your thoughts about 1801! It is such a compliment to us to hear our guests' would like to stay longer at our Inn. It makes us feel that we are doing our job and giving our utmost in attentiveness and service. Thank you for mentioning your experience!

I'm happy you enjoyed our linens and bathroom amenities. Our lady guests' especially love our make up towels!

We are so thrilled you loved our cookies that you wanted to share some more on your flight. The cookies have been a tantalizing staple for our guests' tastes. Blair and I have to stay away from them, well try to anyway :)

It was such a pleasure to spend time with your family. I hope you visit us again for your next family vacation or maybe... a romantic getaway for the two of you!

Take Care,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in this delightful inn for 3 days and were thrilled with the service, breakfast, and convenient location. We stayed in the cozy Garden Room which opens out on the shared patio. We part of a larger group occupying the whole facility so the inn truly had the feel of a large, private home.

Room Tip: Ask the innkeeper which rooms are away from the street if you are bothered by car noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
To Jennie L,

Thank you for posting your review about our Inn! We are so glad you enjoyed all the amenities that our cottages and suites provide. The Garden Room is such a charming and lovely cottage. And the French doors is just the finishing touch. Thank you for noticing!

Our staff was happy and willing to make sure every guests' needs were taken care of and satisfied. Service is our priority! Jennie, thank you for sharing your anniversary celebration with us! We hope you and your friends can join us again :)

Cheers,
Kali,Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I would definitely recommend 1801 First Luxury Inn and if I'm ever back in Napa this is the place I will stay. The staff was extremely professional and personable. They offered many tips and advice where to go while touring Napa.
Our suite was clean and the bed and linens were soft and comfortable which made for a great sleep. Our room was replenished with bottled water everyday and cleaned very well.
Breakfast was always delicious and served hot and made to order. I particularly loved the fresh baked scones and muffins offered before breakfast, as well as the availability of fresh baked cookies 24/7. I really liked how we were given options for breakfast, rather than having the choice be made for us. We simply picked what we wanted out of the options given and made sure the staff knew our choice the night prior. Our last morning there we had to leave very early, so Carrie arranged to have a breakfast to go bag packed for us, which was great to eat while waiting for our flight at the airport.
The layout of the common area was very comfortable and the garden and common area outside was beautiful. It was private,comfortable and surrounded by a beautiful garden.
The hors d'oeuvres during the wine hour were delicious.
Overall, staying at 1801 First Luxury Inn was a pleasant experience. If you want somewhere very quiet and relaxing where the staff treats you well this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
To Michelle G,

Thank you for your well thought out review! We just love to hear how guests enjoyed our wonderful service and friendly hospitality. And it sounds like you loved the landscaping of our property and the lush, beautiful gardens that surround it . We want guests to feel and sense of calmness and serenity when they enter our doors. I'm so glad we did not disappoint!
Thank you for mentioning our spacious and lovely suites. It sounds like you had a restful slumber while staying with us.

Our breakfast and wine hours seem to be the highlight of our guests' accommodations. I'm so happy you enjoyed every "delicious" part of it!

I wanted to make sure you had some munchies before you arrived at your destination. And it was my pleasure to serve you!

We hope you can join us again the next time you visit Napa :)

Best,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were in Napa for the first time celebrating my birthday week!!!! This B&B was a wonderful addition to our list of favorites!!!! It truly is a 'Luxury Inn' .....it was beautiful, well maintained, intimate, great location, attentive staff, quiet & peaceful with fantastic breakfasts. Our room was very large with a comfortable King Bed! The evening wine & social hour outside on the patio was really nice and relaxing with really great wine & cheese snacks. It was a great time to mingle with other guests and share your day of experiences. The staff offered many suggestions about dining, wineries and things to do while in Napa. We both throughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it for anyone considering a trip to NAPA!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlwmdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
To jlwmdg,

Thank you for writing your review about our 1801! And we all enjoyed conversing with you at breakfast and at wine hour! I especially loved talking about our "secret obsession." The morning hour was so fun and delightful talking with you about our special TV channel. I seriously might take you up on that tour one day! Thank you for mentioning our impressive staff. They go out of their way to make sure every guests' needs are satisfied.

Jody, we are so happy that you spent your birthday week with us and the accommodations and amenities were wonderful! I hope it was everything you wanted! Geminis unite! Hope we will see you again when you visit Napa! For all of us at 1801, the best to M, and the twins!

Cheers,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Classic, clean, good location. Within walking distance to downtown Napa. Great patio in the back of hotel for happy hours. Breakfast made fresh to order daily. The BnB hosts are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRazyinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
To KRazyinAZ,

Thank you for posting your review! We loved to hear that our staff was attentive, and our wine and breakfast hours were enjoyed by our guests as well. And thank you for mentioning our courtyard patio. It is becoming our little kept secret! Thanks again for the recommendation! We hope you can visit us again!

Best,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,949 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#9 of 30 in Napa
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.1 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#2 of 22 in Napa
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1801 First Luxury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1801 First Luxury Inn

Property: 1801 First Luxury Inn
Address: 1801 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1801 First Luxury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family operated Inn that has changed the mindset of the traditional bed and breakfast. 1801 First has been branded as a landmark property according to The Napa Landmarks Association and continues to be the curb appeal Inn for all tourists and locals alike! We have owned this beauty for 3 1/2 years and have loved being apart of its rich history. A true luxury Inn with graceful rounded bay windows, courtyard gardens and romantic fireplaced lodgings adorn this historic and newly revitalized Queen Anne Victorian. Designed in 1903 by prominent Napa architect William Corlett, 1801 First has been meticulously transformed into an inviting chic retreat, blending its stunning classic architecture with sophisticated styling and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 1801 First Luxury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1801 1st Luxury Inn
1801 First Luxury Hotel Napa
1801 First Luxury Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing