We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1801 Luxury INN Napa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1801 First Luxury Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gulfport
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1801 Luxury INN Napa”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I returned to the 1801 Luxury Innfor our 20th Wedding Anniversary we had stayed there 15 years ago. We were pleasantly surprised the new owners Carrie & Blair took away the B & B vibe and have truly made it a Luxury Inn. The staff was attentive from arrival to check out the chef even made us a to go breakfast because we had to head to the airport to catch our flight on our last morning. We stayed in Suite 2 we enjoyed the made to order breakfast each morning as well as the wine and cheese hour each afternoon. Felice and Kali were great offering suggestions as where to go and dine and making reservations for dinner as well as wineries. The Inn is within walking distance to downtown Napa.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi Jellybean B,

We had such a great time meeting the two of you! A lot had changed since the first time that you visited and we are so happy that you enjoyed the polished new look of the inn. We only hope that we don't have to wait another 15 years to see you both again.

All the best,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    54
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
679
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at 1801 this summer in the Carriage House. It was like a secluded sanctuary in the heart of downtown Napa. The staff was wonderful - they made us reservations, suggested wineries, and set us up on a wine tour with Platypus Tours. The daily wine hour was peaceful and beautiful on the patio, and the breakfasts each morning were wonderful. Stay at the 1801 was well worth the cost of staying in a B&B instead of a hotel. I'd love to go back soon!

Room Tip: The carriage house is it's own cottage. It's great if you'd like to be a bit more seclud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danavaughters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Manager at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi danavaughters,

Thank you for your review! The Carriage House is a really special room that allows guests to feel as if they have their own downtown studio while still providing all of the amenities of the inn. We're glad that you enjoyed the personalized style of hospitality you can only receive from B&Bs and hope you can make it up from the bay again soon!

Until then,
Kali, Felice, Blair & Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in the Carriage House this past week and it was lovely, as was the entire Inn. Immaculate, beautifully restored Victorian, superb breakfasts, friendly and helpful Innkeeps and staff. We highly recommend it and would stay there again.

J and D

Room Tip: Carriage house great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
J and D,
Thank you for your thoughts about 1801! It sounds like the Carriage House (our exclusive cottage) was the perfect romantic setting for your Napa destination. I enjoyed conversing with you not only at breakfast but wine hour too. Auberge du Soleil and our downtown restaurant Celedon were each fabulous eateries for an intimate dinner. And I hope the wineries we suggested were wonderful choices for the Cabernet connoisseurs as well. :)
We are so glad you both enjoyed our gourmet breakfasts and fabulous service. They each go hand on hand to make an excellent start for the morning!
Thank you both for the recommendation! We hope you come back soon and share more special memories with us :)

Until next time,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from Napa and a great stay at 1801 First. This is our second time at this INN and it did not disappoint. Both the owner and staff go out of their way to please. The rooms are very nice and the walk to downtown Napa is just a few minutes away. We will definitely stay here our next time up. Thanks again for a fantastic time.

Melissa and Jerry P.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Melissa S,
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review about our Inn! I'm so glad your second time here was just as great as the first. I am especially happy you loved the tours I suggested and recommended. We always want our guest to get that wonderful wine experience. It was our pleasure to serve you and to assist in whatever you needed. We are already looking forward to the four of you coming back! Melissa and Jerry, thanks again and the best to you and your family!

Cheers,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair

PS. Please feel free to utilize our concierge services so you have the perfect itinerary waiting for you at check in :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

After 35 years of travelling the world I could finally don the moniker, "World Traveler" . So saying that, I feel I am well within my rights to call 1801 First the best B&B in the world. OK, maybe not in the world, but the best in Napa, Hands Down!. From the moment you enter you are greeted by staff whose mantra is. " unparelelled service above all else". The suites were spectacular. Great linens, pillows and bed. (What else is there?) Spacious, yet cozy with a working fireplace-although it never got that cold. Oops, it's 5:30PM--gotta run to the daily wine tasting accompanied by the best cheeses and charcuterie. Then off to dinner at one of their fabulous reccomendations. But no dessert as 1801's chef prepares (every day!) the best cookies you have ever tasted. I could go on and on, but it's not necessary. I will leave you with this. If you try 1801, you WILL go back.

Room Tip: Pick the cottage if you want complete privacy--however ALL rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Gary H,
Wow! Thank you so much for this wonderful review! You do sound like you have travelled the world and we are so happy you chose us as your best B&B! We are so pleased that you loved your spacious suite. You were also attuned with the architecture structure of our remodeled Victorian. And during your stay, I loved how you mentioned the intricate details of the original crown molding and pillars of our main entrance

Our exceptional service is what sets us apart from the rest. We make sure that all of guests' needs are valued and met to the best of our ability. Thank you for noticing!

The food at 1801 is certainly a stand out! The compliments galore tickle our chefs :) Everything they make is amazing and we are so glad you were here to experience it.

Gary, thanks again for your thoughts about our Inn. We enjoyed having you both stay with us :)

Hope to see you soon,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair

Ps. Thank you for this post on hotels.com too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We found 1801 Inn online and were immediately impressed with the location and amenities. They provide a personalized experience and have great hospitality. We were celebrating our one year anniversary and our room had a personalized note on arrival with homemade truffles. The staff knew all of the guests names and interests and were more than happy to help with reservations and recommendations. The highlights were a private wine tasting at the Inn on Friday night from a local wine owner. We were able to purchase wine and have it hand delivered to the property and the nightly wine and cheese hour. Perhaps most impressive was their Wine excursion package which allowed us to purchase a Platypus wine tour through our booking. We had an amazing time on this tour and were able to experience several unique wineries we would have never encountered on our own.
Overall the 1801 Inn was the perfect space for our romantic getaway. They have great food, a fantastic location which Is walking distance to downtown Napa and fantastic hospitality. We can't wait to plan for future special occasions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
To Carrie E,

Thank you so much for posting your thoughts about 1801! We are so glad you enjoyed our luxurious Inn and all the amenities that are included with your stay. And thank you for mentioning our friendly service and hospitality. We truly value our guests and appreciate them noticing our little details and personal touches.
We are so happy you loved 1801's Wine Tour Package! Platypus Tours are very friendly and engaging with our guests. And the wineries they have selected have been a home run for all of them!
Wine hour is a wonderful way to get to know us and the rest of our guests. I'm so glad you liked talking and socializing with the other couples. Great conversations were shared :)
Carrie, we appreciate your kind words about our Inn. And we are so happy that you had the perfect 1st Anniversary weekend! We hope to see you again at your 2nd :)

Until next time,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel in a very convenient part of Napa. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spacious and prettily decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it without reservation

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1801First, Owner at 1801 First Luxury Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Roger L,

Thank you for posting your thoughts about our Inn! I enjoyed speaking with you at breakfast about our local wineries and especially yours! Your brochure was beautiful and you should be so proud. We are so glad that both of you were pleased with your spacious room and loved the modern contemporary feel. Thanks again Roger for the recommendation and we hope you can back and visit us soon in our beautiful Napa Valley!

Take Care,
Kali, Felice, Carrie & Blair

And we are always here for our guests, day or "night." (I love that story) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#2 of 22 in Napa
1,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on Randolph
Inn on Randolph
#5 of 22 in Napa
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1801 First Luxury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1801 First Luxury Inn

Property: 1801 First Luxury Inn
Address: 1801 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1801 First Luxury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family operated Inn that has changed the mindset of the traditional bed and breakfast. 1801 First has been branded as a landmark property according to The Napa Landmarks Association and continues to be the curb appeal Inn for all tourists and locals alike! We have owned this beauty for 3 1/2 years and have loved being apart of its rich history. A true luxury Inn with graceful rounded bay windows, courtyard gardens and romantic fireplaced lodgings adorn this historic and newly revitalized Queen Anne Victorian. Designed in 1903 by prominent Napa architect William Corlett, 1801 First has been meticulously transformed into an inviting chic retreat, blending its stunning classic architecture with sophisticated styling and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 1801 First Luxury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1801 1st Luxury Inn
1801 First Luxury Hotel Napa
1801 First Luxury Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing