We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Blackbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackbird Inn
Ranked #17 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We spent the last four days of our honeymoon in Napa to explore the wine scene. The Blackbird Inn was a great choice! We had a room on the first floor with a separate entrance to the onsite parking and that was a nice touch. We were right next to the check in desk, but that wasn't an issue for us. The breakfast was somewhat limited, but the food that was there was excellent. Coffee and water were always available. We enjoyed wondering to downtown Napa for dinner and the wineries were a short drive away. We'll definitely stay here again when we return!

Room Tip: The B&B's website has good tips for the rooms - pay attention to those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    68
    34
    15
    5
See reviews for
9
199
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just got back from a weekend trip to Napa and happy to report that our first stay at the Blackbird Inn was very enjoyable. It's a beautiful Craftsman-style home in a convenient location. We walked to downtown Napa in just 10 minutes and there are plenty of great eateries there to choose from. Our king bed room was very clean and comfortable. We found the breakfast buffet and evening happy hour to be a nice touch and the staff was pleasant and helpful, we especially enjoyed interacting with Tristan. The one "con" is that the house is on the corner of a busy intersection so it can get noisy since it's very centrally located, but not bad enough to keep us from returning there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmd94583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Warm and friendly in. We had a front room in the first floor with its own deck and water feature. Beautiful old house converted to a B&B. Handy location, breakfast is included but it is limited. Sitting room on the first floor where breakfast is set out is very comfortable. The Inn has its own parking which is very handy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackidzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Had a short trip to Napa and stayed at the Blackbird Inn. The staff at the property were great and so were the accommodations! Great proximity to downtown Napa. The bed was super comfy, sheets smelled great and the h'ordeuvres and breakfast were delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stayandplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

I spent my valentines week here while visiting a few wineries in Napa. It is in a very convenient location within Napa. Walking distance from some restaurants including Oenotri which was excellent.

We were received by a very young girl with a tattoo. When we got there, there was wine and hors d'oevres served in the common area. The downstairs was very quaint. It had a working fireplace, sofas, and some small breakfast tables. They played classical music in the background. The rooms were small but clean, and well decorated. The bed was comfortable. The movie selection was a total of 6 movies, but I didn't really have time to sit around and watch movies.

The value was great, specially during down season. It is appropriate for professional mature (over 25) couples. I would stay here again whenever I come back to Napa.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliehsaicrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

The place looks charming and beautiful, but that is not reason enough to stay here. It's not that it was dirty, but the room smelled extremely moldy, to the point where our clothes smelled like it on the second day. The thermostat in our room did not work in January, and it was way too hot to sleep. The walls are paper thin-- I have never been in a place with thinner walls. Every move that someone makes is heard by everyone in the house. If being hot and sweating all night does not keep you up, everyone within the house will keep you awake. The outside noise is as loud, if not louder than the inside noise. We had to choose between sleeping in a heat box or opening the window in January with below freezing temperatures in order to cool off the room and trying to sleep among the very loud noises from the street. This is being picky for some, but the breakfast every morning was the same soggy quiche-like dish, or a tasteless blueberry dish. Very disappointing. We were all very uncomfortable on a lot of levels during our stay.

It is walkable to downtown napa, it is near a very cute park if you wanted to get some fresh air or a workout in the morning. We had an amazing trip, because it is Napa and this didn't ruin it, but it was not worth staying here even if it were free or discounted.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elcee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina M, General Manager at Blackbird Inn, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Elcee24,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback regarding your stay. We are sincerely sorry that the Blackbird Inn fell short of your expectations. We have made several recent updates to mitigate the surrounding sounds caused by downtown activity, and have already looked into the remote for the heating, ventilation and air-conditioning unit. Please know that anytime you stay at a Four Sisters Inn, our staff is eager to help and problem solve, please don't hesitate to report an issue to our front desk or after hours answering service. Please don't hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We having been staying at the Blackbird Inn in Napa for the last 6 years during Thanksgiving week. in Room 8. It has a small terrace and a fireplace. It was very clean and inviting.
The food is good and there is always plenty of hot coffee and open bottle of wine in the afternoon.
We like it because it is just a 10 minute walk to downtown Napa and the growing number of restaurants along the river.
This is a very, very nice place to spend a few days that if off the beaten path but welcoming. After 6 years, the Inn shows no signs of wear and the service remains cheery and pleasant. I expect we will be back next Novermber for year 7.

Room Tip: Room 8 is upstairs and in the back corner of the building - with a nice gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thsnitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina M, General Manager at Blackbird Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
It was wonderful to have you stay with us again, we appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for your positive feedback. We'll be looking forward to your return visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#3 of 22 in Napa
1,510 reviews
0.0 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn

Property: Blackbird Inn
Address: 1755 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blackbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing