We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very poor experience.”
Review of Blackbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackbird Inn
Ranked #17 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very poor experience.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Inn is beautiful and great care has been given to restore the old 1905 home to its current beauty. However, our compliments end with our respect for the fabulous architecture and restoration. On our first evening, as we sat on the balcony relaxing before heading out to dinner, my husband noticed that a lot of debris and old food under the bed. That discovery certainly made us wonder about the cleanliness of our room and the Inn from the start! On Sunday morning, we went downstairs for breakfast. Expecting a typical Inn or Bed & Breakfast meal, we were dreadfully shocked to find what was offered. Service on Sunday morning included a half inch thick quiche that was overcooked with absolutely no taste. An attempt at French toast, or perhaps it was a version of bread pudding, was cold and soggy with uncooked egg mixture. The other choices of fruit, muffins, toast, English muffins, cold cereal, coffee and juice were the items we opted for as the hot items were inedible. The breakfast offered on Monday morning was not any better. The Blackbird Inn failed miserably on many unforgivable levels. There was NO hospitality period. All of the Blackbird Inn employees we encountered lacked the basic hospitality skills necessary to run a successful establishment. The young lady that was on duty on Sunday and Monday did not bother to look up from the computer screen she was so engrossed in to (1) acknowledge guests, (2) find out if a guest needed anything, (3) say good bye as guests were leaving or (4) look at the breakfast service to make sure it was running smoothly. My husband actually stood in front of this young lady with an empty coffee cup and was completely ignored! Additionally, that same person NEVER said a word to us even during check-out. Considering the youth of the Blackbird Inn employees we encountered, I suspect they either just didn’t care or may have failed to receive proper hospitality training. We also observed a severe lack of supervision at the Blackbird Inn. We will never return to a Four Sisters Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSistersInnsInc, Manager at Blackbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Despite our best efforts to provide excellent service in all areas, sometimes things just don’t go as we planned. Such was the case at Blackbird Inn on the weekend when this guest stayed with us. We did have a staff change that weekend, and we are so sorry that our housekeeping and cooking fell short in her case.

This guest wrote to us directly about her concerns, and we have given her a complimentary stay at one of our other properties, the Blue Lantern Inn in Dana Point. We appreciate her comments, and we have made several changes at Blackbird Inn that should remedy the problems she encountered.

Despite the miscues in communication, we’re glad this guest and her husband enjoyed the historic restoration to the inn, and hope they had fun while in Napa. We hope she will enjoy her upcoming free stay at Blue Lantern Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    68
    34
    15
    5
See reviews for
9
199
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lithia, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A great stay at the Blackbird inn for our wedding anniversary! The breakfast and happy hour were excellent. An ideal location to walk into town for dinner. The rooom was very nice and the porch ideal to enjoy the morning and evening ideal weather. All in all, a superb experience! Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. Our room was a little small for the price and because we were on the first floor it was a bit noisy in the morning but probably wouldn't be noticeable to a heavier sleeper then myself. The breakfast was always different with fresh fruit and better then most breakfasts you pay for. The wine and appetizer hour was our favorite with wonderful snack, always fresh and different and always a full bottle of wine to enjoy from. The walk to downtown was very short putting this inn at a wonderful location for those without a car. We would stay here again and are trying to look into staying at another inn owned by Four Sisters during some remaining nights of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eprimian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We chose this B&B because it was the only place in all of Napa that would take a reservation and had a room for one night. I wasn't sure what to expect when arriving at this B&B since it didn't have the highest rating. We had great communication with the Inn before arriving. And we found the Inn very clean, warm and inviting. We stayed in Room 8 and found it the perfect size. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony with our coffee in the morning. There was some street noise, but many city hotels have street noise. Breakfast and the afternoon reception were very nice. All in all we're very pleased we stayed here and we'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlcrzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Beautiful craftsman home with cozy lodge type furnishings. Yummy breakfast. Walk to downtown. Lots of info on local wineries spas and events. Disappointed Four Sisters has stopped turndown service. Miss the chocolates on my pillow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanjayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent one night here on a trip up the California coast, but as with several of our stops, we would have loved to stay longer. The staff was quite friendly, afternoon snacks were nice, breakfast (delivered to our room!) was abundant. The hotel has a craftsman decor which we really enjoyed - very up-to-date but with a comfortable feel. My husband is always saying "I really liked that place but next time I'd try another." Well, not with the Blackbird Inn - we would come back and stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuliplands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent one night in Napa during a spring visit to California. We were seeing Napa for the first time, in the company of our daughter's new in-laws. They selected the Blackbird Inn, and we were glad that they did. Having never stayed at a B&B, we were not sure what to expect. This inn is charming and we were very pleased with our first experience. Our room was very clean and very comfortable. The inn is located on an intersection, and our room faced the street, but we did not notice any traffic noise. Downtown Napa is just a short walk from the Blackbird, and we enjoyed looking in the shops and restaurants nearby. The afternoon snacks and wine were delicious, and in fact, due to a late lunch and the sumptuous snacks, we skipped dinner. Breakfast was especially delightful, with a good selection of dishes to suit everyone's taste. I would definitely recommend the Blackbird Inn of Napa!

Room Tip: Although our room in the front, facing the street, was not noisy to us, a very light sleeper might h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrj9845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#3 of 22 in Napa
1,511 reviews
0.0 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn

Property: Blackbird Inn
Address: 1755 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blackbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing