We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy B&B”
Review of Blackbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackbird Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a beautiful Craftsman House, big fireplace, lots of wood decor. The good things: it felt like a big house, wine and appetizers in the early evening, good breakfast - always a hot dish (quiche or potato/egg casserole), cookies in the cookie jar, staff was friendly but changed often. The not so good things: our room (#4) was on the street side so a little noisy, the room seemed small with the big furniture, the bathroom was small (the door barely cleared the vanity), a few small points: both the shower curtain and the drapery had come off a few of the rings (we fixed it ourselves). We have stayed at other Four Sisters Inns and this one just didn't measure up.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santacruz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

I'm not a big fan of bed & breakfasts but this place is different. They have all the conveinences of a modern hotel in a restored historical building. The rooms are large and the furnishings are perfect. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are nicely appointed. The hotel is located within walking distance of downtown stores and restaurants. The included breakfast is simple and probably will not satisfy someone who wants a large meal but is homemade and very good. There are only 7 or 8 rooms and the sell out quickly but if you are able to book one you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronpegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The home itself is a lovely arts & crafts property that has been restored and has beautiful woodwork throughout the property. The door is an oak and stained glass, the huge rock fireplace with large wooden mantel, the built in full wall wooden server is just gorgeous! However, the location is on the corner of a busy intersection with lights! which is an issue for me as I am a very light sleeper. Around 3 am there was a truck peeling out, then at 5 am several loud motorcycles cruised by, and at 6:50 am someone came in the front door. Now those of you who are used to noise may not find this an issue, but others may want a quieter locale. The bed was comfy, but the room is overstuffed with large furniture which makes it difficult to get around it. Also the furniture is oak, so beware if you happen to kick the bed in the middle of the night. There is no window in the bathroom making it a bit claustro, and it is fairly small. The breakfast is a light continental. Also to access their parking you can only come in from the south, and it fills up as well. So as I said I give it 3 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4snickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

this was our first visit to Napa, and we had a blast. room 8 is incredible. the inn itself is extremely clean and cozy. above all is the incredible way the staff took care of us newbies. thanks Nick! -Min and James

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank survalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I really don't believe that I've stayed anywhere where I felt more at home; the house was warm in tone and even warmer in the reception and attention given. The interior, with it's art nouveau/craftsman design, dark wood and stained glass front door was so inviting. Joanie checked us in and even took our pictures (with our camera) as we were leaving; we wanted to have more than just our memories. We left an item behind and the next day discovered our loss. We called immediately and Nick was kind enough to send it to our house that day. It arrived in a couple of days; that's service. What a nice Inn and what a great staff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is my 5th stay at a Four Sisters Inn B & B. One thing I can say is they are consistent in their cleanliness, service, and overall cozy atmosphere. The beds are comfy, breakfast was delicious, and hospitality was fantastic. My favorite thing about this hotel is that it was walking distance to our restaurants each night. After a day of wine tasting its nice to be able to walk to your dinner and not worry about driving. I highly suggest this small B & B chain and this particular inn. The location is on a busy street however the neighborhood is cute and quaint and we really didn't notice the traffic noise at all.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night in Napa and found this Inn, such a wonderful little place! We were in room #2 and it was so beautiful......we loved the little patio outside our door. Everyone made us feel so welcome. The only negative was the location, on a busy, loud street. Other then that, perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Cedar Gables Inn
Cedar Gables Inn
#18 of 22 in Napa
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Belle Epoque
La Belle Epoque
#14 of 22 in Napa
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Napa Inn
The Napa Inn
#13 of 22 in Napa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
3.9 mi away
Silverado Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn

Address: 1755 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: £146 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blackbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing