We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Pleasant B & B”
Review of Blackbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackbird Inn
Ranked #17 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant B & B”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First, be aware that this is a bed and breakfast not a small hotel. You won't find a hot tub or large rooms, however, the Blackbird Inn aptly fits the description "charming" with its meticulous attention to craftsman detail in the architecture, art, and furniture. They go out of their way to offer special touches: cookies, lemon water, coffee, tea, and soft drinks are available in the "lobby" (really the living/dining room) all day. There is a binder of menus for restaurants nearby. The wine hour offers wine and some quite nice appetizers (mozzarella and roma tomatoes with balsamic, quiche) and is serve yourself in the living/dining room. Breakfast is included and again, very nice selection of juices and hot food as well as muffins and fruit.

The location is excellent. We had no problem parking directly in front of the inn, though there is also a lot in the back. Main Street is a pleasant walk and there are many restaurants there. It's also nice to take a walk along the river before or after dinner. All possible without having to get in your car.

The rooms are not large and not really conducive to lingering in. I suppose you could read in the living/dining area but as that is also the lobby where the innkeeper has his desk, you'll be hearing the phone ring and won't exactly be hanging out in your robe with a glass of wine. Though we had a small back porch, it was a fenced off bit of the parking lot and though they made it as cute as I think anyone could, still not really a place to hang out. Also, while I enjoyed the Greene and Greene style of décor. It really is very dark--another reason not to stay inside.

Prices in Napa are high so I felt this was a good and pleasant place to stay for the price but small issues such as not feeling like lingering in the room even though it was comfortable, clean, and unique and terrible water pressure in the shower, make me hesitate to give it too high a rating.

Room Tip: We had room one (there are only 8) and I would avoid it. The door to the room is literally directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    68
    34
    15
    5
See reviews for
9
198
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this. Most major hotels were booked or required a 2 night stay. We were able to just get a Saturday night here. When we checked in the welcome and list of amenities seemed to just go on and on with us looking at each other like "wow, what nice little services". The wine at the afternoon cocktail hour wasn't the best given you're in Napa, but hey it's free and we sat outside on rocking chairs just taking a moment before heading off for our evening. The room was much bigger than we assumed and even had a little private deck in the back with a water feature we listened to through the night. Would have loved to had time to sit back there and just read. The A/C in the room cooled it off nicely when we first arrived. And breakfast was yummy, with my favorite being artichoke quiche. Our only reservation is not getting a bottom floor room next time. Our door was RIGHT next to the entry from the parking lot so the sound of the door being loudly closed early in the morning was a little much.

Room Tip: Asked for an upper level room so you're not right next to the entry doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursedave8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Our group (three couples) stayed at the Inn for Fathers Day weekend. The location was good in that it was walking distance to restaurants, bars, tasting rooms. However it is situated in an oddly loud intersection so if you are looking for a peaceful retreat, this is not your spot. We are all from larger cities so the noise didn't bother us. The staff is friendly, helpful, and even set us up with a company to ship our wine home so we could avoid a stop on our way to the airport.
Breakfast was delicious and convenient each morning and the snacks and free wine for happy hour each evening was a nice touch (although the wine was pretty gross). All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and daughters stayed here to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. The place exceeded our expectations. The rooms were large and homey.

We enjoyed the breakfast spread both mornings.

On the morning of my daughter's birthday we had some sparkling wine for mimosa. The Inn Keeper roasted up champagne glasses for us to celebrate.

The Inn us close enough to walk into town. Despite being sold out the place is quiet and comfortable.

We look forward to going back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BDKChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went a couple of weeks ago for our honeymoon. The place is great, very well conserved and the rooms are well equiped. the staff and amenities in the hotel are very nice. Breakfast, and wines at 5:00 PM are a very nice detail.

The location is excellent, distance from Downtown; walkable. great location.

Room Tip: Number 5, good enough for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieQRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. The rooms are very cozy with each featuring a fireplace and either a balcony or outside patio. Happy Hour which means wine and appetizers occurs every night at 5pm and breakfast is served every morning.. Cooked by an in house Chef.

The staff was great, always available to help with our questions and provide us guidance on what to do in the area. Nick, the assistant, manager was especially great in providing customer service and it almost felt like he was part of our group staying at the hotel.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Ruizcalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a beautiful Craftsman House, big fireplace, lots of wood decor. The good things: it felt like a big house, wine and appetizers in the early evening, good breakfast - always a hot dish (quiche or potato/egg casserole), cookies in the cookie jar, staff was friendly but changed often. The not so good things: our room (#4) was on the street side so a little noisy, the room seemed small with the big furniture, the bathroom was small (the door barely cleared the vanity), a few small points: both the shower curtain and the drapery had come off a few of the rings (we fixed it ourselves). We have stayed at other Four Sisters Inns and this one just didn't measure up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santacruz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.1 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#2 of 22 in Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn

Property: Blackbird Inn
Address: 1755 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blackbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing