We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Blackbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackbird Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Really enjoyed staying here! Beautiful rooms, great food, wonderful staff. Close to downtown Napa which is nice- definitely within walking distance. A little pricy but when you don't have to pay for breakfast or cab fair that definitely helps.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the BB Inn and had a great time. It is steps from downtown Napa, in a pleasant residential neighborhood. The house is beautiful, and our room had a private patio. The innkeeper on duty, Maika, was very helpful and awesome. I would not call the place a bargain (our room came to $290 with tax), and Napa itself is a bit less quaint than some of the other towns nearby, but overall we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanW329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We love Four Sisters Inns. When we were looking for a place to stay in Napa, and confronted with the stupid silly high prices, this seemed like a reasonable option and it was a perfect choice. The location is downtown so you can walk to restaurants easily. As a Four Sisters Inn all those wonderful perks were ours to enjoy....cookies, the wine and cheese late afternoon offering, and a nice breakfast. The rooms are simple and not huge, but are charming. I would say it is overpriced, but honestly, for Napa, it is great value. It is small and intimate and romantic. We had Room 8, a king with fireplace, and enjoyed it thoroughly!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First, be aware that this is a bed and breakfast not a small hotel. You won't find a hot tub or large rooms, however, the Blackbird Inn aptly fits the description "charming" with its meticulous attention to craftsman detail in the architecture, art, and furniture. They go out of their way to offer special touches: cookies, lemon water, coffee, tea, and soft drinks are available in the "lobby" (really the living/dining room) all day. There is a binder of menus for restaurants nearby. The wine hour offers wine and some quite nice appetizers (mozzarella and roma tomatoes with balsamic, quiche) and is serve yourself in the living/dining room. Breakfast is included and again, very nice selection of juices and hot food as well as muffins and fruit.

The location is excellent. We had no problem parking directly in front of the inn, though there is also a lot in the back. Main Street is a pleasant walk and there are many restaurants there. It's also nice to take a walk along the river before or after dinner. All possible without having to get in your car.

The rooms are not large and not really conducive to lingering in. I suppose you could read in the living/dining area but as that is also the lobby where the innkeeper has his desk, you'll be hearing the phone ring and won't exactly be hanging out in your robe with a glass of wine. Though we had a small back porch, it was a fenced off bit of the parking lot and though they made it as cute as I think anyone could, still not really a place to hang out. Also, while I enjoyed the Greene and Greene style of décor. It really is very dark--another reason not to stay inside.

Prices in Napa are high so I felt this was a good and pleasant place to stay for the price but small issues such as not feeling like lingering in the room even though it was comfortable, clean, and unique and terrible water pressure in the shower, make me hesitate to give it too high a rating.

Room Tip: We had room one (there are only 8) and I would avoid it. The door to the room is literally directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this. Most major hotels were booked or required a 2 night stay. We were able to just get a Saturday night here. When we checked in the welcome and list of amenities seemed to just go on and on with us looking at each other like "wow, what nice little services". The wine at the afternoon cocktail hour wasn't the best given you're in Napa, but hey it's free and we sat outside on rocking chairs just taking a moment before heading off for our evening. The room was much bigger than we assumed and even had a little private deck in the back with a water feature we listened to through the night. Would have loved to had time to sit back there and just read. The A/C in the room cooled it off nicely when we first arrived. And breakfast was yummy, with my favorite being artichoke quiche. Our only reservation is not getting a bottom floor room next time. Our door was RIGHT next to the entry from the parking lot so the sound of the door being loudly closed early in the morning was a little much.

Room Tip: Asked for an upper level room so you're not right next to the entry doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursedave8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Our group (three couples) stayed at the Inn for Fathers Day weekend. The location was good in that it was walking distance to restaurants, bars, tasting rooms. However it is situated in an oddly loud intersection so if you are looking for a peaceful retreat, this is not your spot. We are all from larger cities so the noise didn't bother us. The staff is friendly, helpful, and even set us up with a company to ship our wine home so we could avoid a stop on our way to the airport.
Breakfast was delicious and convenient each morning and the snacks and free wine for happy hour each evening was a nice touch (although the wine was pretty gross). All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and daughters stayed here to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. The place exceeded our expectations. The rooms were large and homey.

We enjoyed the breakfast spread both mornings.

On the morning of my daughter's birthday we had some sparkling wine for mimosa. The Inn Keeper roasted up champagne glasses for us to celebrate.

The Inn us close enough to walk into town. Despite being sold out the place is quiet and comfortable.

We look forward to going back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank BDKChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Cedar Gables Inn
Cedar Gables Inn
#18 of 22 in Napa
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Napa Inn
The Napa Inn
#13 of 22 in Napa
415 reviews
0 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.2 mi away
La Belle Epoque
La Belle Epoque
#14 of 22 in Napa
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn

Address: 1755 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: £142 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blackbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing