We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly over rated & over priced! Expectations not met!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milliken Creek Inn and Spa
Ranked #10 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
glenview, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly over rated & over priced! Expectations not met!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Frankly, I was expecting a more upscale boutique inn for the money that I was paying.

Upon arrival I didn't feel especially welcomed by anyone. There was no bellman or anyone showing any sort of hospitality. Once I found Joyce, she didn’t seem very happy to be doing her job. She had no personality and has no business working the front desk or showing guests to their rooms. The young woman working the desk Saturday morning, May 31, was greatly under-trained. She had no knowledge of what time most stores opened up in town or any recommendations of shops. Her reply was, "I don't really shop in town." What a poor response! Train your staff! No staff member stood out or impressed us in any way during our stay.

Room #8 was nicely decorated, but was dated. The bed and bedding were the best part of the room. The carpet on the stairs leading up to the room appeared to be new. However, as soon as we stepped into the room we noticed that the carpeting was in horrible shape. It was worn and ripped. Why stop the new carpet just outside the guestroom door? What a shame... The bathroom door squeaks terribly and the toilet tank 'runs' and needs adjustment. The warped Pergo flooring in the toilet room makes the place look cheap. Very disappointed that this room was so run down and housekeeping, the maintenance crew and management aren't more on top of these things (and does something about it.)

Our stay was enjoyable because of the memories that we made, unfortunately not by the quality of the inn. For the premium cost per night, this inn fell far below expectations. I felt completely ripped off!

We had nice massages at the spa, but (again), way overpriced for the quality of the facility and services given. The grounds were nice, but could have been more manicured and weren’t as large as advertised.

There was only one person who stood out and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. That person was Missy Parras, whom I didn't even have the pleasure to meet personally and thank her. She made numerous reservations for us ahead of our trip and I'm very grateful for her assistance.

The awards, accolades, & fancy website are all false advertising.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsmcwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSInns, Manager at Milliken Creek Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I was so sorry to read the review of your stay at Milliken Creek Inn & Spa as we always strive to ensure that our guests feel they have experienced the ultimate in luxury, comfort, hospitality and value while visiting with us. Every one of our staff takes pride in the level of service they provide, so I apologize that we missed the mark on this occasion.

Our front desk staff are highly trained in guest service as well as being local to the area, the perfect combination to assist our guests in experiencing the very best of wine country. I understand that we made every effort to help during check-in as well as in researching store information, so again, I apologize for the situation.

I would very much like to discuss this matter further, directly with you, in the hopes of welcoming you back to Milliken Creek Inn & Spa.

Warmly,

David Jessup
General Manager
Milliken Creek Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    38
    14
    10
    10
See reviews for
10
310
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I loved this place! The grounds were beautiful and the room was amazing! The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! The breakfast each morning was delicious and we loved having the option of eating in our room or some other pretty place on the grounds. The staff was kind and attentive, always ready to help with a reservation or suggestion if needed. The location was very central but didn't feel like we were in the middle of a busy area. We would highly recommend this lovely place for a relaxing and romantic getaway!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EsentMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights early May, our room was number 2 and had wonderful views and nice bathroom facilities. We had just flown in from the UK and so were pretty jet lagged, managed to stay up until 8-30pm and went to bed, we were in a dead sleep until at around 10pm the room above decided to have a jacuzzi bath and wonder up and down the room about fifty times, the point to note is this is an old property with little sound deadening insulation. We made a comment on leaving but as we live in a 1920s house understand the problems. Apart from this we really enjoyed our two night stay, it would be nice if they had a cocktail bar, wine tasting available but just sometimes a G&T is a nice alternative. Will recommend this Inn but it's not a five star hotel with the facilities expected as such, it's exactly what it trades under as an Inn or a Five Star B&B as we would call it in the UK. By the way staff were very helpful and friendly and a no tipping policy!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gables28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We traveled to Napa from London for a short trip and the area, food and wine exceeded expectations - this is very different to other parts of the US.

Our welcome was excellent, we had Room 9 - which was fantastic, very large room with balcony, a big bath tub ( unusual for the US ), good shower, proper hair dryer, white fluffy towels, very soft bath robe, lovely breakfast, beautiful grounds, very quiet and free soft drinks and water and good wifi. We had great service and enjoyed the Magic Hour - they serve free wine from local vineyards and you can chat to other guests or ignore them and wander around the garden with your wine if you prefer. The service was excellent and breakfast very good. It is a no tipping hotel which is great for us Brits as we have no idea how much to tip!

We had tried to book a wine tour with a company that did not return our calls so we called the hotel the day before we arrived in a panic to see if they could sort something out and they did! They had a fantastic driver and tour all ready for 10am of our first morning.

The only odd part was there is no restaurant at the hotel, which we did not read before we booked so you have to go out to eat and drive. The hotel booked a fantastic restaurant for us very nearby but after you have driven there it is a pain to have to go out again. We are not spa people so did not use the Spa.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My fiance and I had an absolutely wonderful time at Milliken Creek Inn. The staff was amazing, and the room / grounds impeccable. The Inn is the ultimate experience in terms of individualized pampering. We had a great experience in Room 5, and even found our way down to the spa for a great treatment. We cannot wait to come back....and bring friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

You are never sure what you will get when you book online, so I rely on customer reviews. I didn't see a bad review so I booked. Milliken Creek Inn surpassed my expectations. Beautiful setting, exquisite rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location, close to downtown and the wineries. It was the best night's sleep I had in a week. I wanted to stay longer, but I will be absolutely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We planned a wedding via the internet at Milliken Creek. Probably a scary concept for many future brides but from the moment I spoke with Missy on the phone Milliken Creek Inn was the only place I wanted my small wedding and wedding party to be. From the moment we called to obtain more information on wedding packages until our actual departure from the Inn we had nothing less than exceptional and friendly service. Our wedding was lovely and beyond what I imagined. Missy and David were so friendly and helpful. We didn't have to do a thing. Breakfast was great! Our families, ourselves included, loved the magical wine hour. We only wish we could have partaken of it every night. Just an overall perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was fantastic it is separated from the rest of the rooms providing privacy and a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
1.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
1.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milliken Creek Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milliken Creek Inn and Spa

Property: Milliken Creek Inn and Spa
Address: 1815 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94558-3735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milliken Creek Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Milliken Creek Inn and Spa, an elegant Napa hotel in California's esteemed wine country. Hidden away on three verdant acres overlooking the idyllic Napa River, discover a place unlike any other Napa hotel.Here you will encounter five-star luxury that emphasizes thoroughly sophisticated service and style in a tranquil, intimate ambiance.In this superb Napa Valley setting, simply sumptuous accommodations are bathed in serene colors and accented with an exotic flair. Thoughtful touches invite pampering and romance, such as flickering fireplaces, canopy beds with the finest linens, rain showers and oversized hydrotherapy tubs outfitted with green tea bath salts and votive candles. Combining the best signature service of larger Napa hotels with a very exclusive and intimate ambiance. This luxury Napa hotel offers 12 exclusive and very private suites, each with a unique style of its own unlike other Napa Valley hotels.Ease into your day with a gourmet breakfast served wherever you wish, from the privacy of your room to al fresco on the Waterfall Terrace. At day's end, unwind at the Magic Hour, our complimentary wine and cheese reception, where you can meet local vintners, chat with our staff members and share stories with other guests.Envelop your senses in pure bliss at our stunning Milliken Creek Spa, where healing, natural elements unite with holistic, therapeutic treatments. Treat yourself to a restorative aromatherapy massage and a revitalizing facial in this private spa that caters exclusively to our guests.Do as little or as much as you would like. Wander the lush grounds, relax in Adirondack chairs, or take it all in from your private deck. Venture forth and explore everything from the scenic Silverado Trail to the area's incomparable wineries, world-renowned restaurants, intriguing shops, plus endless events and activities. Milliken Creek Inn & Spa is a Boutique Napa Valley hotel paired with world-class service. We look forward to pampering you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milliken Creek Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milliken Creek Hotel Napa
Milliken Creek Inn And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing