We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly desk staff, nearby food options”
Review of Motel 6 Napa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Napa
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Napa
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly desk staff, nearby food options”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Went to Wine Country Ukulele Festival with friends in September and stayed at this Motel 6 on Solano Avenue. The desk clerk who checked us in was friendly and professional and went out of her way to give our group three rooms next to each other. Nothing fancy, but our room was clean, had two queen beds, a small dorm-sized fridge. free bottled water, big dining table, a large-screen TV, free wi-fi in the room. Bathroom was clean, plenty of towels. There's a pool, which I didn't use, and plenty of parking. Nice big supermarket and and a couple of small eateries in a strip mall just across the road, lots of other food options within a 1/2 mile. Only complaints were no ledge in the shower stall for shampoo and bath items, and the electrical plug under the TV console came out of the wall when I unplugged my phone charger. A bit pricey for a Motel 6 but considering the location, I wasn't surprised - overall, a pretty nice place to stay.

Room Tip: This isn't a huge place, so all the rooms are well-situated. There is plenty of parking and we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmadscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    47
    44
    22
    34
See reviews for
19
64
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Ill start by saying we had had a queen size bed and the bed nearly took up the entire floor space of the room. This room is tiny compared to other hotels similarly priced. No complaints about the bed, it was comfortable. There is small table that sits right next to the bed that you have to negotiate to even get in and out of the bed from one side. Not a huge deal unless you have mobility issues.
The shower in this particular room was less than clean and the water pressure fluctuated from an even pressure to a drizzle. They may have been having some pressure issues as the toilet took a couple flushes to clear out the bowl.

Now, on to our nightmare experience with customer service. I travel quite a bit and i'm pretty reasonable when it comes to low budget hotels. However, this experience was the worst I've ever experienced.
It started at 7:30 am on a Sunday morning. We were woken up by an angle grinder grinding on a metal railing right outside of our hotel door. There were also some welding being done which we could smell through the doors. But the grinding was the absolute worst. My girlfriend and I couldn't even hear ourselves talk and we were right next to each other in bed. After realizing the grinding wasn't going away, I made a call to the front desk and the girl at the time had no idea this was going on. She also had no authority to have it stopped. I asked for a manger and conveniently, no manager was available on a Sunday. I also asked to be moved to a different unit and there was no room available. Needless to say, the metal grinding went on until we checked out.
I understand that routine maintenance has to be done, but I would expect more on a Sunday in Napa. Additionally, if they were going to be doing work, then those 2 or 3 rooms should have been blocked from reserving.
I left a message for the Manager Monday morning and my call was not returned. I again called on Tuesday and talked with Maggie. I told her when we stayed before telling her the issue and her attitude changed to poor at best. After explaining the situation she became very defensive and suggested to me that the work didn't begin until after 9am. I told her that was incorrect and I have a time stamped photo of men working at 8am. She went on to say how the work had been scheduled for some time and that the contractor could not deviate from the schedule. I understood that, but why rent those rooms if you can forese an issue?
Nevertheless, she was not apologizing, would not even consider a partial credit, and quite frankly, was terribly rude and condescending.
I guess expecting a good nights sleep is unreasonable at this particular hotel.
Unfortunately, this Motel 6 is privately owned so the only thing customer service can do is log a complaint.
All in all, I would not stay here nor recommend staying here. If you have an issue, your not gonna get any resolution.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebellion69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Napa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napa hotels

San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked this hotel when we decided to go to Napa last minute and nearly all the other hotels were booked over the Labor Day weekend. Although the price was high for most Motel 6, it was much lower than other chain hotels in the area and there were rooms available. After reading other Tripadvisor reviews, I was a little concerned. It had been years since staying at a Motel 6 and I know it is a budget hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean with IKEA type furniture. The sheets were comfortable and the towels were comparable to other hotels like Hilton. There was a little mold in the shower, but not uncommon for budget chain hotels. Free parking, free cable, free WiFi and good location make it a good deal. There is a pool and large patio area with tables and chairs. There is a mall across the street with a food store and restaurants. There is easy access to highway 29. No shampoo, conditioner or lotion in the room and no free breakfast, just coffee. It was quite at night and the hotel was full. This is not a resort hotel, but comfortable, clean, convenient and reasonable priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

OMG! The room with 2 beds was all of 8'x8', no dresser, plastic type floors that our dogs were afraid to be on, and the bathroom was unfinished and disgusting! Checked in and checked out within the hour. At least they refunded our money but were not nice about it. Told us they just renovated. Yeah, umm, they cut every room in half. I know this because we stayed there 4 years ago when it was the Redwood Inn and it was not bad then. Extremely disappointing! Pay a few dollars more to be treated like a human being! If I could give this a negative rating I would! Hey Tom Bodett, turn off the light!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Rooms Are filthy! I Have Stayed Here For 3 weeks Every Room I have stayed in has mold around the shower. you guys just do not clean your rooms you are filthy. you don't even change your sheets. I have left stickers on her sheets to make sure that you changed in with notes specify to change them and you never do all you do is fold them right back into our beds with other people's hair in Them.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyg416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Was shopping for a nice affordable hotel to basically just sleep at after a long day at a music festival. Room was small, but clean. Hardwood floors were a nice surprise. Bed linens were worn and outdated and the bathroom had absolutely ZERO toiletries. (We had to ask for a bar of soap from the from desk.) The pool and surrounding patio area were nice and quite roomy, and the parking lot was well lit. Overall, it was exactly what we expected - nothing more, nothing less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the maids closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlaVH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

When I came back from my function at 9:00 pm; there were 8 men standing on the balcony drinking beer, smoking cigarettes and cigars 1 room down from my non-smoking room, plus playing salsa music loud enough for the whole side of the complex to hear.Their after-work party lasted until 11:30pm.
I think the Noise problem has been on-going because there are signs in the lobby about "loud Partying will not be tolerated"; however such actions were totally ignored by the staff.
The room was clean, very small, and very noisy. The clean was good, except what it smelled totally of bleach. The room was small, didn't have a microwave or coffee; laminate instead of carpet. The bed was hard as a rock, pillow like a brick.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.6 mi away
Napa Discovery Inn
Napa Discovery Inn
#24 of 30 in Napa
237 reviews
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort
0.9 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#13 of 30 in Napa
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
3.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Napa

Property: Motel 6 Napa
Address: 3380 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-3266 (Formerly Napa Valley Redwood Inn)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Napa 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Redwood Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Redwood Motel
Motel 6 Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing